We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully relaxing spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WorldMark Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A beautifully relaxing spot”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

First of all let me say that we arrived at Villa Vera only one week after Hurricane Manuel devastated a lot of the western coast of Mexico. Although the Zihuatanejo area was not affected as much as other areas there was evidence of damage as well as much evidence of how hard the Mexican people were working to repair the area.
The resort itself is quite nice. We were looking for a place to relax and Villa Vera really fit the bill. The staff was incredibly helpful. Every meal was excellent. The view of the bay and town is fantastic. There were only 6 couples staying at the hotel during the time we were there. It was almost like having the hotel to ourselves on many occasions. Although we got to meet and chat with most everyone there, it was not uncommon to be the only ones in the restaurant, bar or pool. We were most pleasantly surprised to see that the service remained impeccable, which often is not the case in many places when occupancy rate is low.
As has been well documented, the walk into town is short and easy downhill. Not so easy up hill and 44 steps back. We opted for a 40 peso taxi back.
If you are looking for glitz and proximity to the beach you are probably better going to Ixtapa. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax and use as a base to explore this beautiful area, the Villa Vera is an excellent choice ... I would not recommend with children though.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so keep this in mind when requesting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    63
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A short distance from the center of town (15 min walk), this hotel offers superior service, a quiet atmosphere, a good restaurant, and a beautiful pool. The staff is superb! A great view of the bay from most rooms. One of our favorites. The beds are a little hard.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The resort itself was nice & the staff did an excellent job. We really appreciated not being bugged about going to a timeshare presentation every day and we weren't on a beach, so there were no vendors trying to sell you something all the time. Our mistake was going during the rainy season. Half of the restaurants that we wanted to try were closed & the other half had limited menus. The restaurant at the resort was pretty good but expensive & they closed on Thursday. So unless you enjoy staying at the resort with Happy Hour twice a day, there's not much else to do. Walking into town to shop is exhausting & we ended up taking a taxi back.
Highlight of our trip was the Mexican Fiesta at the Barcelo Hotel in Ixtapa on Wednesday evening ( a gift from my daughter). I think I would try to stay in Ixtapa if we decide to go back.

Room Tip: I think all the room have a wonderful looking out over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molina348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First of all the view from this resort is fantastic, probably one of the best we've ever stayed at. Our room was on the hotel lobby level (thank you) so it was very convenient for us to come and go. The staff was outstanding and our maid service was the best. Flowers everyday on our bed. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. The pool was very clean and the pool bar service was excellent. Cesar was not only an outstanding waiter but he also became our friend which to us is very important. We travel to Mexico no less then 3-4 times a year and I will admit that this two week stay here was one of our best yet. I will admit that this far south in May it hits 90 everyday with some day's having high humidity so be prepared for the heat day and night. We will return to this resort again in several years after we probe more locations in Mexico.

Room Tip: There is no bad room locations at this resort and they all face the south looking out over the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielandLila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, NE
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I agree with most of the others that wrote about how this is an extremely quiet get-away place. Our room was a delight, accurate to the photos. We had a king size bed with a large picture window looking out to the bay. The restaurant we found to be expensive, (hamburguesa and fries 120 pesos), however it was a convenience, so we ate there several times and had tasty fare.

Many things had different prices if you are not a member, which we are not. I had the full use of the 2 very nice computers that were available for guests. Coffee is available in the room, however, do not be fooled. It is not complimentary. If you use their coffee/coffeemaker, it's 35 pesos.

Upon our arrival, before showing us our room, they sat us down at the concierge to let us know of activities and tours they could arrange for us. What bugged me, though, was all their prices was in USD. Personally, I think this is a ploy. We're living in Mexico for the time-being, therefore, we don't even carry USD. I guess they figure it will go on your credit card bill. But, anyway, that kind of threw us for a loop for awhile.

All in all, we enjoyed the place. It was only our first time staying in Zihua, so next time, we'll likely try someplace different.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68juls86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we didn't want touristy. we didn't want crowded or cheesy or kids in the pool or swim up bars or buffets. anywhere. Villa Vera Puerto Mio turned out to be exactly what we wanted.

opposite of a cookie-cutter hotel, the twenty-something rooms of Villa Vera are tucked away among short flights of steps going up and down throughout the property. each room feels insulated from another, private. it's also a very quiet hotel. the rooms have a clean, fresh energy with bright white walls and floors accented by dark wood ceiling beams and awesome curved wooden thresholds. it feels like a romantic mexican guest house.

villa vera is within easy walking distance to the city centre, but for us, that was usually a one-way trip. the walk down in the morning was an invigorating cobblestone stroll through a coastal forest, but the return trip was like an uphill cross fit workout... a five buck taxi trip from the city was well worth it.

i really loved everything about the hotel, the rooms are spacious with inspiring views of Las Gatas beach and the marina. the white beds are made up each day decorated with artfully placed red flowers. quaint romance. super relaxing. did i mention quiet?

We choose a hotel for the room, so we were four-star satisfied, but that last star for service, food and ambiance-- Villa Vera falls a bit short. the staff was kind, but not engaging and seemed focus on selling us tours rather than getting to know us. we had a fabulous breakfast one morning in the hotel restaurant, but the one dinner we had there was nothing short of terrible. there's too much wonderful, fresh food in Zihua to eat at your hotel. even more so true if Villa Vera is your hotel.

All in all we absolutely loved our stay at villa vera and will definitely go back.

if you're looking for a family fun mexican fiesta vacation -- keep on driving into Ixtapa. but if you and your sweetie need to leave the kids at home and reconnect with nothing to distract you but another pina colada; Villa Vera is just what the love doctor ordered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txsjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

No, you are not on the beach, but the mountainside views of the bay are worth it. The walk into town takes 8 minutes, the walk back up take forever (it's uphill).
The place was nearly empty (off season) and we loved it! Lots of attention. Be careful not to have two margeritas on the first day you get there...they are really good.
The pool is great, food is good, what else could you want? Oh, the heat in June was bad on one day, but do things early and late and you are ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.8 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#11 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
2.6 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas El Morro
Villas El Morro
#3 of 61 in Zihuatanejo
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Zihuatanejo

Property: WorldMark Zihuatanejo
Address: Paseo del Morro 5 | Col Playa Del Almacen, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Villa Vera Puerto Mio)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WorldMark Zihuatanejo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak in the stunning scenery of Zihuatanejo Bay in Ixtapa, Mexico at WorldMark Zihuatanejo. You'll find paradise in this pacific coast retreat with spacious one-bedroom suites featuring kind-size beds, scenic bay views, private balconies, and wireless Internet access (fee applicable). Escape to Ixtapa pleasures in this intimate seaside hideaway with breathtaking coastal vistas. The resort is situated on 30 tropical acres and offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant and bar with a meal plan option, concierge, room service, laundry facilities, business center, 24-hour front desk and onsite car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your WorldMark Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Vera Puerto Mio Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Vera Puerto Mio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing