We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but not ideal location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WorldMark Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but not ideal location...”
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Lovely small boutique hotel. Not 5 star, but very comfortable. Best quality is their attentive staff - waiters and concierge knew our names by the first night. We celebrated my birthday there and they were so great to me. Also the hotel's food was excellent - we ate guacamole poolside several times a day!

However, its location is not ideal in my opinion. I wish I would have known that it was not right on the beach. It's a good 20+ minute walk (wear your tennis shoes, not flip flops) to the beach, restaurants, shops, ATM, etc. Just depends what your preferences are.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — Location - not on the beach
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chitraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    63
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Just returned from 2 weeks in Zihuatanejo. Stayed at the Villa Vera Puerto Mio on an RCI Exchange for the 1st week - loved it! It is a little out of the way, private and quiet. Not on the beach, but a beautiful view of the bay. Rooms were spacious although closet was a bit small to hold enough clothes for a 2 week stay. Balcony was pretty but chairs were uncomfortable for sitting. The pool, restaurant and staff were great! Always friendly, remembered our names and even what we liked to drink! Overall good experience.

Helpful?
9 Thank scsunlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, IN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

When we started getting close to the Hotel, my wife of 31 years said, boy Tim, I don't know about this, but the minute we saw it, our fears were put to rest. The hotel is beautiful. Our room was 303 and we were delighted with it. A great king bed with the most elaborate flower petal decoration of welcome on it. (I bet they spent at least 20 minutes just placing the petals and pieces of greenery, and there was a new one everyday.) A large jacuzzi tub with a large picture window just above it overlooking the beautiful bay. Almost 1/2 of our room space was outdoors on the largest balcony we have ever had. It included 2 heavy padded wooden chairs, 2 built-in extra long couches, a massive wooden block coffee table and a sink. The view was stunning!

The restaraunt was beautiful, the food was great (not a huge selection, but nice variation and the best pasta I have ever eaten outside of Rome), reasonable prices and absolutely wonderful service from a waiter who quickly learned our preferences and became a good friend. The outdoor only setting, was covered and beautifully decorated and very romantic.

The pool was moderate but more than adequate for only 27 rooms. It never seemed crowded and had a great view. It could have used a little more attention to the clarity of the water and the deteriorating tile, but that is being a bit picky.

One of the few irritations was the process of getting ice for your room. There was no ice machine as the hotel did not purify their own water, so you had to go to the bar or call room service for ice, and the ice bucket was tiny and not insulated so the ice never lasted very long. A very minor complaint, but we usually drink lots of ice-water, especially in a tropical climate. (A simple solution for a place with only 27 rooms would be to have someone fill the ice bucket twice daily, like many cruies lines do).

The entire staff was a pleasure to deal with and seemed to truely care about our comfort and satisfaction.

If you are traveling with children there's not much to do besides the pool, but if you are looking for a quite and relaxing romantic get-away, I think you would be very pleased. All the furnishings and amenities were high quality and comfortable and everything was kept very clean including daily maid service.

A short walk (15 or 20 minutes) offered many more good quality food choices and many reasonably priced. The walk feels safe and exposes you to a little of the local culture, but the walk back
is almost all up hill and can be a little taxing (not to mention a little sweaty). An option is to take a taxi back to the hotel which costs about 40 pesoes. (A little less than $4.00)

Although it was actually the rainy season, the rain almost always came in the late afternoon or over night. It very rarely interrupted
our plans and often didn't rain at all.

A rental car is nice as it is only a 3 or 4 mile drive to Ixtapa. The beach there is more like Cancun in that it is primarily a resort area that was developed for that purpose. Families with kids might prefer staying at Ixtapa and visiting Zihua, but if peace and quit are high on your list, or you want a little more personality than the big resorts offer, the Villa Vera might be just right for
you!

  • Liked — The location and beautiful views every where you looked. Also the quality and size of the furnishings and amenities.
  • Disliked — Walking back from town was a difficult climb and some people wouldn't like it.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BIGGDOGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Had just a wonderful week at Villa Vera. Staff was friendly, helpful, and respectful. Room was spectacular...lovely view of the harbor and beach on the other side of the harbor. Maid service was terrific...a new decoration on the bed each day made from flower petals and plant stems, plus lit candles one night when we came home from dinner!!!!

Shopped a bit in Zihuatenejo...great people, good deals. Went on a tour of Olmec ruins plus a rudimentary museum. Found great deals on silver jewelry.

Would highly recommend this destination and this hotel.

  • Liked — Romantic and picturesque
  • Disliked — distance from beach (needed to take a water taxi)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank steve9491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We exchanged thru RCI to get into this hotel.
The hotel: It’s a nice looking hotel. Huge, beautiful wooden doors at the entrance. Friendly staff. Antonio the concierge was helpful. It is located on the hill next to pier (called Almacen).

Our first room (yes, the first) was 502. It was on the top floor with the most interesting spiral stone staircase (about 10? Steps) up to the room. This room would not be good for people with trouble with health, etc. as it’s a tight stair climb – you don’t want to be drunk on these steps either!! A likely tumble is in your future. The room was really nice with tall ceilings and exposed beams with a really cool (huge) window seat above the bed and view of the ocean. Huge king size beds. The beds were the best thing about this hotel. Very comfy. Nice size bath/jucuzzi tub and small balcony. Now this was our first room b/c the smell was unbelievable. When we walked in I looked at the guy w/ our bags (who spoke English btw) and said “do you smell that”…now again, I’ve been to mexico before and I know that sometimes you get that smell but this was overwhelming. The porter sniffs the air and shakes his head no and says he doesn’t smell anything. My husband thinks he smells cleaning solution so I decide to just go with it and not make a fuss. We’re happy to finally be in our room (which took forever due to the very late check in) and sit down for a second. The view is fantastic from the room which helps. I unpack our things still smelling the smell but we decide to go explore the town. I’ll think about it later. Coincidentally, we ran into one of my husband’s coworkers at the restaurant. So we drank with them after dinner and headed back to our hotel hoping to sit at the bar and stare at the nice ocean view at the restaurant level. The restaurant/bar was closed (closed even at 10pm which was disappointing) so we took them up to show them our room and grab some beers from the mini fridge. I had warned them about the smell and the said their bathroom smelled a little at times (Villas de Morro) but when they walked in they made it clear it wasn’t the normal smell. There was a serious problem and it was happening in the shower area. They definitely said it was bad. It did smell worse than when we arrived. We walked down w/ our beers to sit in the empty restaurant and I decided to say something to the night reception person. He blankly stared at us with no offer to help so we decided we’d deal in the morning. We told the guest relations person in the morning and she was very apologetic and said she would get us a new room. The room she was moving us to had to be cleaned and readied which took about 5 hours. No one offered to help move our things. Luckily, the room was even more beautiful (302) with a HUGE balcony. I’m talking enormous. Two couches, coffee table, even a sink. So we felt like we scored by sleeping through the smell. The room was basically very similar – same huge, comfy bed, separate shower and bath and huge Jacuzzi tub. The AC was only in the bedroom and took a long time to cool the room since there were gaps in the windows and no ceiling fans (unlike 502 which had a ceiling fan over the bed and in the bathroom). Once the room finally cooled…no complaints until the first and every time the staff came in to clean. They would turn the AC off when they left so when we got back in the evening or afternoon from wherever we’d been we’d come into a really hot room. I understand saving electricity and all but making that decision for your hotel guest is not right. It was ridiculously hot and humid during our June stay so relief in our hotel room was really the only place in town we could cool off other than going in the ocean. I would rather conserve elsewhere like less changing out of towels.

During our stay, the cleaning staff never cleaned the bath tub and there was a little spill of something that sat on a counter the entire seven days without being cleaned. Just minor details that should have been taken care of especially with the extra $25 cleaning service charge added onto by the hotel. They did leave beautiful floral designs on the bed everyday. We did have another issue one day with the AC – it wouldn’t cool, fan would work so that had to be fixed. The morning we got up to leave we woke up to a pretty bad leak in the bathroom coming from the ceiling. Unfortunately we had sat our suitcase in that exact spot so it got pretty wet. Perhaps it was b/c we were checking out that day but they didn’t seem in a hurry to repair the leak. So even as we left for our noon departure it still was raining in the bath area.

I understand that things happen and especially in Mexico you have to be realistic about your expectations but there were several times we were inconvienced in one way or another. They never offered to accommodate us for our troubles (other than the room change) which would have been welcomed. You know, a comp’d drink from the bar…anything would have been welcomed. One night when we got in late from out on the town we arrived to locked doors and no one in the reception. We literally had to break in to get into the hotel. Thank god we found an open window (well, a window w/ no glass) but my husband had to crawl across a tile roof to get to it…fun, eh? So, nobody at the security desk just outside the main door and nobody inside. We banged profusely for about 10 minutes before my husband resorted to breaking and entering  He even tried ringing the phone from the darkened security post hoping someone somewhere would hear it in the reception but again silence. We asked the next morning if there was a curfew we should have been told about and they said no and seemed shocked that nobody was there as there should have been someone at both the reception & the security post. Nice.

So, overall…good things about the Villa Vera Puerto Mio:

convenient to town

beautiful views

Hugo, in the restaurant, was great

The tiritas here were the best we had probably in all of Zih..I know weird..

Antonio the concierge

Great, huge king beds, super comfortable

Small property, not a big, artificial resort

The bad:

smelly room and obvious sewer/drainage problems

unresponsive staff on certain occasions

the air conditioning issues during an extremely hot stay in June and the fact they would not leave it on in the room

no free internet service. They charge you to use their internet and there is no way to print from the computer which would be really helpful when checking in online/printing boarding passes and such. Finding out on the last day of a week’s stay that they had wireless connection available the entire time for a weekly charge…what?!?

The fact that they would come into your room even when you had a Do Not Disturb sign on the door (thus turning off the AC).

A charge each time you dial out even using a phone card.

Overall, it wasn’t terrible but I’ve definitely had better, more thoughtful service with better facilities at other Mexican hotels.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Problems with room, service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank kikiluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

I just returned from a week's vacation at Villa Vera at Puerto Mio--a "girlfriends' getaway" with three old school friends. We loved this little jewel of a resort. We had two connecting rooms, one with balcony and one with window seat. The beds were very comfortable, and each day we would return to find a different flower petal design on our bedspreads. Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff could not have been nicer.

We enjoyed the fact that the resort was not right on the beach in "hotel row." We loved the walk into town and back (even the up hill part) along the little cobblestone street. We only took a taxi twice.

The restaurant was excellent--probably the best coffee we found in Zihua--with healthy, unique dishes. We became addicted to guacamole at poolside.

Speaking of the pool--we really enjoyed that. Although we went to the beaches, too, we wound up preferring to walk on the beaches and swim in the pool.

Because Villa Vera is a small resort, we got to chat with some of the other guests, which was fun. While it was mainly couples, we fit in fine as a group of friends. The town itself is picturesque with great shopping (silver, ceramics, embroidered clothing) and lots of excellent restaurants. In addition to the dining room at Villa Vera, we enjoyed Caprichos and Any's in town and La Cala and Villa de la Selva for their dramatic views.

By the way, if you are worried about getting sick in Mexico (some of us were a little nervous), we are happy to report no difficulties at all. The places mentioned (and even the beach front spots we ate in) all used purified ice, etc.

Helpful?
11 Thank GGHHartsdale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

We just returned from Zihua. We arrived by taxi. The entrance to the hotel has very large hand carved doors. Lots of marble and tile, very spanish appeal. We stayed in room 302, which overlooks the bay and the swimming pool. The bed every day has a new floral arrangement and tea lights at your bedside at night. It is not a very long walk to town, although a very steep hill to walk back.

The reataurant has decent food and the waiters are very professional.

I guess my only complaint were the beds, very hard, and we did mention it to the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ciaobaby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.8 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#11 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
506 reviews
5.3 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
663 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#6 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Zihuatanejo

Property: WorldMark Zihuatanejo
Address: Paseo del Morro 5 | Col Playa Del Almacen, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Villa Vera Puerto Mio)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WorldMark Zihuatanejo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak in the stunning scenery of Zihuatanejo Bay in Ixtapa, Mexico at WorldMark Zihuatanejo. You'll find paradise in this pacific coast retreat with spacious one-bedroom suites featuring kind-size beds, scenic bay views, private balconies, and wireless Internet access (fee applicable). Escape to Ixtapa pleasures in this intimate seaside hideaway with breathtaking coastal vistas. The resort is situated on 30 tropical acres and offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant and bar with a meal plan option, concierge, room service, laundry facilities, business center, 24-hour front desk and onsite car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your WorldMark Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Vera Puerto Mio Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Vera Puerto Mio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing