We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Treasure”
Review of Playa Blanca

Ranked #14 of 59 things to do in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach is an excellent spot to view various birds and wildlife.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected Treasure”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We went to Petatlan in the morning, following directions from a Trip Advisor suggestion, which turned out to be interesting - nothing too great. Then, we took a Barra la Petosi and ate there - interesting but a bit overrun! Then, we walked down the beach, for about an hour, thinking that we might be able to find something in Playa Larga, but not really knowing. As it was getting hot, we$% came across Chula Vida - small restaurant right on the beach. We spent about four hours there - probably the nicest time of our 9 days in the area! The food was great, service wonderful, setting priceless. At the end of the day, around 6:30 for us, the owner gave us a free shot of tequila, called a cab for us, and presented us with a reasonable bill of about $35 US! We then took a cab back - a wonderful day overall! We highly recommend a visit there!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank richardamiller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    19
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch on the sand”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our group of 8 spent the day at Playa Blanca and had lunch at
a condo complex. Playa Blanca is a beautiful stretch of beach. The water doesn't seem swimmable though, rip currents.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Playa Blanca”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Las Palmas Beach
Club is a must go, great service, fabulous location , beach is amazing and no one is on it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolRomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixtapa, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Las palmas playa blanco”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have been there many times and with different people. It is a little hidden paradise.

We love going there on Sunday for lunch. The place is amazing. The service is excellent, the food is great and the service is great and friendly. It is worth the trip. It used to be a beautiful hotel but they are building condos now. We even took our little coco Chanel with us and she got along very well ewith the owners dog. You could sit at the bar near the beach or at a table on the beach. You even have beach beds if you want to have a little fiesta.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Left Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like your own deserted island”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were 5 days on Playa Blanca in mid April. It was low season and also the dry season just before the rains come so we had all 15 miles of Playa Blanca pretty much to ourselves. The weather was fabulous - high 80's, strong sun, slight haze from the brush fires in the hills. A great time to visit if you don't like crowds.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KandGpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Blanca also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing