We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably better later in the year” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Blanca

Ranked #15 of 57 things to do in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach is an excellent spot to view various birds and wildlife.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Probably better later in the year”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited early in June and the water level at the lagoon was very low - they were playing soccer where the lagoon normally is! LOL! Nothing wrong with that, but it would probably be more fun for the average tourist when there is water in the lagoon and you can use the kayaks, et al.

We did take a panga out fishing, which was an enjoyable two hours. Though we didn't catch anything, we were treated to dolphins swimming with our boat, a sea turtle and a couple of sting rays jumping out of the water. All in all, it was a great visit. I would go back, but like I said before, more likely in Oct - Jan.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobMan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    19
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, BC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Since we didn't want to swim at the beaches in Zihuatanejo because of extremely high levels of enterococci, we decided to head a bit south. The beach here is lovely and clean.

Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2bbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Barra di Potosi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you are thinking of PLaya Blanca head to Barra. It is a bit more sheltered and swimming is much easier than further north on PLaya Blanca. 2 " bus" rides will get you there. The lagoon is a great place to birdwatch. Cafes are great and I would recommend La Condesa. Loungers, tables and hammocks. Excellent food. Far fewer people trying to seel things on the beach than at La Ropa or Ixtapa. Visit the wildlife refuge on the way to Potosi. Playa Blanca has a few cafes and upper end hotels but for shopping and entertainment head for Zihua

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank shadowManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice long walkable beach from one end to the other. While walking you will see all types of animals, especially birds ( pelicans, sandpipers,egrets and occasional vultures-they clean up the beach). There are a number of restaurants along the way to grab a drink of your choice or something to eat. Don't be surprised if you don't come across another person while you are walking...it's that deserted.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ACMan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a beautiful beach. Kilometers of beach front with average to large waves pounding the shore. Observed dolphines wave surfing. Very clean and great view! Not many people except walkers along the beach. I give this beach a 5 star for sooooo clean and beautiful..Way to go Zihua.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosieakalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Blanca also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing