We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Irma in Zihuatanejo is an excellent value and pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Irma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Irma
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
“Hotel Irma in Zihuatanejo is an excellent value and pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

This was our first visit to Guerrero, Mexico, but it won't be our last. The Hotel Irma was an achitecural delight. We enjoyed the service and the food and coffee was very good. The room was an exceptional value, for less than $66.00 per day, our stay included breakfast and a most delightful view of the bay from the restaurant. We will return. I encourage anyone to fly in and stay for a while. Get to know the locals, stop by The Fishing Hole and say hi to Dawn. Stop by Don Memos for a meal to remember. Also Jesus and his son are very personable, owners of Fajitas Queen. Remeber to speak in the native language as much as you can, it can be loads of fun. The massage that I had there was exceptional, ask for Senora Emilia Santiago Roman, and ask for the Chiropractic Massage, you won't be sorry. What a delightful view of the ocean in the open air Wellness Center.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique60820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    188
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
84
197
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Vermont
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

I don't know where to start. The view was awesome. The staff friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Food was excellent in quality and presentation. We have stayed in hotels throughout Mexico and this one is right on the top of our list.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelbertLovett52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

This was our first trip to Zihuatanejo but won't be our last. We met many other guests that have chosen Hotel Irma for their last 6 or 7 visits. The view of the Bay from our 6th floor room was fabulous. 70 stairs down to the pool/restaurant/bar was good exercize...then another 70 stairs down to the beach. The Spa offered the best massage I have ever experienced. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were cleaned daily with towel animals & fresh flowers & bottled water. Our room had air conditioning...just no coffee maker...but the restaurant always had fresh brew. Isaac and the staff were very friendly and we felt very safe. The pools were very refreshing. I am so glad I decided to celebrate my 50th birthday in Ziahuatanejo and stay at the Irma.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niftyfiftyOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

just returned from 9 great nights at the Irma. what a nice hotel and great staff. yes, there are alot of stairs but you get used to it. we were on the fifth floor and thought about moving but ended up staying and enjoying the great breeze in the afternoon. enjoyed seeing our old friend Isaac, a waiter in the rest. have known Isaac a few years now, we met him while he was working at another hotel. its was great to see him and get to know him again. the pool area was small and alot of chairs were "saved" by 7:30 am. but we always managed to find somewhere to sit. our room had a cooler in it and the hotel staff helped us after returning from the store with our beer, soda and water. even with keeping supplies in our room, we still stopped at the bar each night to visit with other guests. the hotel location is great and a 10 min walk to town. we have already talked about next years trip and will stretch it for two weeks. please don't question if you should stay at the irma. we will be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kml49829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

Zihuatanejo is a great lated back area, met lots of new people and made many new friends. met Samantha Brown from the travel channel.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rclark1624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

We just returned from our trip and stayed at the Hotel Irma, we celebrate our anniversary every year around this time and go to either Puerto Vallarta or somewhere. We chose to step out this year and go to Ixtapa area, we stayed at the Hotel Irma in Zihuatanejo... What a treasure. It is the cutest boutique hotel I have every come across. We arrived and request alittle bigger room and right away no questions were give a bigger room. They are not anything fancy but clean and spacious. They also had ocean front rooms which were filled when we arrived. The owner introduced herself and made it clear that if there was ANYTHING they could do let us know. We wanted them to make reservations for us for our anniversary dinner at a restaurant up the road, they did so and not only that, the night we went out the whole staff made a note to congratulate us and make us feel as thoughwe were family. The whole staff from Victor to Alma and Peter made us feel like we had known them forever. The food at the hotel was always good. They have room service as well. The pool area is wonderful and there are lounge chairs to watch the ocean and relax. The beach below the hotel is lovely however, there arent chairs or umbrellas etc so we ended up going up a few blocks to a great beach. I cannot express how lovely this hotel was, each night there were candles lite, and fresh flowers all over the hotel. It is a gem... After being out all day at the beach or shopping we actually felt like we were coming "home" Saying goodbye was awful and we made a promise to come back next year.... There is really no downside to this hotel. My only complaint would be that there is no direct beach area to sit at. Otherwise the hotel, food and staff were amazing. Thanx to all at the Irma for a wonderful 10 days Debbie & Bob

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazer1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

Traveled with 3 other couples and we all stayed at this hotel. Here's why I'd go somewhere else:
1. I booked before all my other friends and got THE WORST room. My "ocean view" was really more of a back alley view.
2. The back alley view room was located right above the laundry room. Nothing like waking up to a pump continuously running when they start laundry at 7AM.
3. After complaining to the management, they said they'd move us after 2 nights, when they had room. That morning of the move, the desk clerk said he'd take care of us and move our things into the new room since we were leaving that day for the beach. When we came back at 7PM are stuff was still in the same room. The desk clerk working when we got back had no idea that we were moving. After 10-minutes of phone calls in Spanish, he agreed to move us.
4. The "new" room was located right smack behind a construction project. The hotel was remodeling a hot tub on the third floor. Nothing like waking up to the sound of construction on vacation every morning.
5. All of the rooms had mosquitos- yes, IN them. Our friend's down the hall had it the worst and got eaten alive at night. They finally said something to the management and guess what? This apparently was not the first time as they got right on it and SPRAYED the inside of all of our rooms! Nothing like getting bug spray on all of your travel items and clothes. This didn't fix the problem either, our friend's ended up moving to another mosquito free room on the lower level

I will never stay at this hotel again despite what everyone else says and no matter how much I liked their pool.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harleybarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
4.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#19 of 22 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Mexicana Hotel
Villa Mexicana Hotel
#23 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irma

Property: Hotel Irma
Address: Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#13 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irma 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Irma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irma Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Irma Zihuatanejo
Irma Hotel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing