We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!”
Review of Hotel Irma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Irma
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
Reviewed February 10, 2007

When we were looking for an inexpensive trip south for January, we immediately booked the Irma (air/hotel) through Belair Travel/Sunquest since the reviews at Tripadvisor spoke so highly of the quaint, friendly, Mexican style of this hotel and everyone seemed to rave about the ocean front rooms.

We absolutely loved this trip and will be back to Zihua and Irma; however; think it important to share some of the good and the bad.

Firstly, we booked our trip through Belair Travel/Sunquest in Toronto. We had read in many of the reviews that when you book at Irma it seemed relatively easy to switch to a better room. We must say this was absolutely NOT our experience. Sunquest only booked inside rooms (keep in mind that almost all the rooms at Irma are oceanfront are there are actually very few inside rooms). As part of the CDN contingent we arrived around 1:00 pm. Our agent advised that our room was a standard room but requested an oceanfront, balconly and king size bed (my boyfriend is 6'4") and based upon the reviews we thought if we didn't get a great room, we could likely switch. Needless to say the front desk people were NOT helpful, they absolutely refused to let us check in one minute before 3 pm. Our first room was what seemed like the basement across from the laundry on the inside and absolutely no view, double bed, etc. We spent probably 2 hours arguing, negotiating with the front desk who were completely unwaiving...they refused to move us, said they had no other available rooms even if we would pay extra. After a couple of hours and finally tracking down the manager, they finally gave us a room one floor up, two double beds and at least a partial side view of the ocean. We decided that we didn't want to argue the whole week away trying to get a better room but were EXTREMELY disappointed in the room that we ended up with and disappointed that we couldn't take advantage of one of the reasons that attracted us to this hotel but the oceanfront views, etc. In addition, as it got closer to the weekend it seemed that some of the local Mexicans started to book in...they as well were booked in the inside/side rooms so it got very busy with some partying/louder music, children. Because of the location of the room, we could not leave our door open to hear the ocean and also because people were consistently walking by we couldn't even leave our curtains open. With the ocean front rooms you could easily leave your door open to hear the ocean, would not have to worry about keeping your curtains closed and would have had a wonderful view of the Zihua bay.

Now for all the good. The hotel otherwise was just as people had described it..very quaint, Mexican style, outstanding view of the bay, nice pools. Although it's not at beach level, the view is absolutely stunning and one of the key advantages of staying at this hotel. The beach below, Madera yes was not the best in the area but a great place to walk into town via Fisherman's Walk. La Ropa, very nice beach was only a short walk away, short walk into town, etc.

Area attractions: make sure to get around to see the various beaches; Madera great for walking, La Ropa...short walk away, nice for spending the day/walking, Playa Pescador (Ixtapa)...short bus ride away (very easy to get around by bus) and only a $5 taxi ride away, Playa Linda (to catch the water taxi to Ixtapa Island for great snorkelling, check out the birds/alligators. The location of the hotel was great for walking to town, catching the water taxi to Las Gatas (great snorkelling, just relaxing), breakfast, dinner, etc. We would go into town in the evening for dinner, then stop at the town square, get some ice cream and watch the local basketball/volleyball team or local musicians. There are a ton of activities in close proximity to town and the hotel and really don't cost alot. The Mexicana Commerciale (Mexican Walmart) was even only a $2 cab ride away. Go there if you want to stock up on water, snacks, cooler, etc.

Eating Out: this was one of the best parts of the trip. You are very close to many, many restaurants and the local restaurants are excellent. The best place we thought was Casa Vieja (just down the street...no oceanfront view) but without a doubt the best food. Second best we thought was Daniels..closer to town on the beach...very romantic..on the beach...food was excellent. We thought these restaurants had 5 star meals at 2 star prices ($8 - $15). Be sure to go to Casa Cafe (owned by husband/wife from Seattle)...on the way to town...great coffee/lattes/cap/breakfast and very friendly. It is well know so can be busy but well worth it. We also heard great things about El Faro...up on top of the cliff overlooking Ixtapa beach. The view was spectacular and thought the best but the food wasn't close to the other restaurants...regardless, well worth the price just for the view. We also did a few other restaurants..one on the corner close to the hotel, very quaint, very good, plain food...nice quiet atmosphere...others up the hill on the way to La Ropa...lots of restaurants with great views but we didn't think the food was the quality of Daniels or La Vieja.

Overall, we had an absolutely wonderful time and didn't want to leave. The only word of caution is if you are CDN, expect to receive the substandard rooms as part of the Sunquest package and don't anticipate being able to change. I suspect what has happened is with the great reviews this hotel is getting, it's getting much more popular and very difficult to book. It seemed when we were there, all the oceanfront rooms were taken, so don't have high hopes about changing once you're there.

Any Zihua, absolutely loved it and will be back!

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Location of rooms/front desk
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Toronto730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    189
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
199
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Irma last April. The hotel is right on the hill overlooking Ziuah Bay.
The rooms were clean and roomy. Room service was prompt and congenial.
The hotel is a steep but short walk to town, and on a few occassions we took the $2. taxi to the hotel.
I would stay there again. The town itself is wonderful, full of life, and not yet anyway, too full of tourists (until the cruise ship stops by)

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank loladeflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington - the state
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2007

I selected this hotel because I wanted the view I had heard raved about and I wanted a more "Mexican" vacation than Ixtapa resorts offered. I would return to this hotel anytime.
The Room: The maids were great and left us towel sculptures each morning with fresh flowers. Water pressure in the shower isn't so great in the morning when everyone is showering, but a refreshing afternoon shower had plenty of pressure. They suggest you use bottled water, not drink from the tap and they provide a bottle the first day. The beds are, as expected, "Mexican firm". The inroom safe was handy, but it is $100US if you lose the key (we didn't). We actually didn't even notice there was a tv until the third day or so. The A/C was excellent - just a titch too cold for me, but I'm not an A/C person. The best part is being able to sit on the little balcony and look out over the bay and watch the action of the fishing boats and the beautiful sunsets and sunrises.
The Hotel itself: You really have to be able to deal with stairs, since they are everywhere, but hey, it works off all the food and beer right? The food was good and the service was friendly - the pace can best be described as "relaxed". You can get styrofoam buckets of ice at the bar. The front desk staff was wonderful and, except for Mon morning, could exchange US cash for pesos. The pools are small, but clean. Most of the time, you can use the Villa Mexicana's beach club, but while we were there they were too full and didn't have room for Hotel Irma's people too. It is a short and enjoyable walk to town. The gate for the stairs is locked at about 8:30pm, so you have to go around and up a steep hill to get "home". It is about a two dollar ride to Playa La Ropa - or you can walk, but honestly it is worth the two dollars in the heat of the day to cab it.
The town: There are plenty of great to excellent places to get a snack or meal along the beach and in town. Usually, I dread seeing cruise ships in the bay - but they don't stay long and aren't there everyday so you don't get bothered by the cruise crowds very much at all.
All in all a very enjoyable and relaxing vacation.

  • Liked — The view and the staff.
  • Disliked — The stairs - but they are worth it to get the view.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PacificNWAuntiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2007

I enjoyed my stay here very much. Zihua is a wonderful city, smaller and more attractive than Puerto Vallarta. The hotel has a fine location above the beach (be prepared for an uphill climb). The city is walking distance and the beach is protected from the powerful waves common to the area. The nearby Restaurant Viajes is one of the finest in Mexico with low prices and a sophisticated, international menu.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aostevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

The Irma is located at the end of Playa Madera, often described as the most 'Mexican' of the Zihua/Ixtapa beaches, and is situated approximately 100 feet above the beach on a bluff overlooking the bay. This means you have to climb some stairs to get to and from the beach, but it also means that the hotel's pool, restaurant and bar areas have fantastic vista's overlooking the bay and town. Unlike many hotels on the Madera or Municipal beaches, the Irma is a comfortable place where you can lounge all day while still feeling like you're a part of this quaint fishing village. And unlike Ixtapa or Playa La Ropa which are much more tourist-oriented areas (think Cancun or Waikiki), Playa La Madera and Central Zihua has a much more laid back, authentic Mexican flavor.

The rooms are clean, bright and comfortable, though the beds are very firm. A/C works well, but the TVs are quite dated, have very limited station selection and only one English language station (with pathetic programming), so I don't consider this as any value add. The food is decent with a few very good dishes, and the staff ranges from polite to very friendly. Happy hour y the pool is a good deal with 2:1 drinks, but this is a very mellow environment so think lazy summer evenings rather than Spring Break at Fort Lauderdale.

Now the caveat:
Just across the street from the Irma is a new bar called Zihua Blues. Most nights it plays music fairly loud until around midnight. As most ocean view rooms back up against the road across from this bar, the bass can be heard (albeit at a modest level) until the music shuts off. However, apparently there was a wedding at the bar one night during our recent stay , which meant that volume control went out the window and the music was pumping until 3 a.m.!!! A decent pair of earplugs can help remedy this annoyance, but it's an unfortunate element that seems very much out-of-place in this part of Zihua/Ixtapa, and seriously degrades what is otherwise a very pleasant experience at the Irma.

One other more minor (but not insignificant) caveat is to confirm that you have an ocean view room. While most of the Irma's rooms are ocean view, there are a handful of internal rooms and more than a few folks (including us) were the surprised recipients of one of these rooms. In our case we were able to be relocated to a room with the view described above, but depending on how full the hotel is, this may not always be so easy.

I would recommend this hotel (with the aforementioned caveat) to folks looking for a quieter, very relaxing setting. If you're looking for a more traditional 'tourist-oriented' resort scene with high rise hotels and a more lively night life (though still quieter than most 'resort areas), then Ixtapa's probably your best bet.

  • Liked — The views and easy access to other areas
  • Disliked — Loud bar across the street
  • Tips/Secrets — Ear plugs
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
19 Thank jdltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2006

When I booked, I put in the ages of our 2 children and a price was given; but the day after we arrived, they asked for an extra $40 a night for the kids. I told them that was not appropriate in that I would have chosen a different hotel when I was booking if it were $40 more per night.
They stopped asking for the money.

Our view was beautiful. I was glad I brought my air mattress in that the beds are firm which is common in Mexico

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pdxjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Irma for 5 days and 6 nights. The first night we were there we noticed that the water pressure in the shower was terrible. You had to wait for the water to get warm enough and then the pressure was barely there. We had a nice room right above the restaurant overlooking the bay and the pool but during most of our stay there were children in the pool screaming and playing loudly. There were no ice machines but you could buy some ice from the restaurant. The restaurant food was average but the staff was very nice.

Other than that, there are plenty of wonderful restaurants near the beach and there is a restaurant right next to the hotel called Kau-Kan that has AWESOME food!! The hotel is located where you can walk to the beach and its shops or downtown. The view of the beach from the room was beautiful and hearing the waves at night was great. Housekeeping did a great job of keeping the room clean and the hotel itself was very clean. It is definitely not a 4 star hotel with all the bells and whistles but the price for the hotel was good and that is what we got for our money.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank California559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
543 reviews
4.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
410 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#40 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
90 reviews
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Beach Resort
Catalina Beach Resort
#34 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irma

Property: Hotel Irma
Address: Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#13 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irma 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Irma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irma Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Irma Zihuatanejo
Irma Hotel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing