We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, Love, Love the Irma”
Review of Hotel Irma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Irma
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2010

just returned from 9 great nights at the Irma. what a nice hotel and great staff. yes, there are alot of stairs but you get used to it. we were on the fifth floor and thought about moving but ended up staying and enjoying the great breeze in the afternoon. enjoyed seeing our old friend Isaac, a waiter in the rest. have known Isaac a few years now, we met him while he was working at another hotel. its was great to see him and get to know him again. the pool area was small and alot of chairs were "saved" by 7:30 am. but we always managed to find somewhere to sit. our room had a cooler in it and the hotel staff helped us after returning from the store with our beer, soda and water. even with keeping supplies in our room, we still stopped at the bar each night to visit with other guests. the hotel location is great and a 10 min walk to town. we have already talked about next years trip and will stretch it for two weeks. please don't question if you should stay at the irma. we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kml49829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 454 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2010

Zihuatanejo is a great lated back area, met lots of new people and made many new friends. met Samantha Brown from the travel channel.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank rclark1624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We just returned from our trip and stayed at the Hotel Irma, we celebrate our anniversary every year around this time and go to either Puerto Vallarta or somewhere. We chose to step out this year and go to Ixtapa area, we stayed at the Hotel Irma in Zihuatanejo... What a treasure. It is the cutest boutique hotel I have every come across. We arrived and request alittle bigger room and right away no questions were give a bigger room. They are not anything fancy but clean and spacious. They also had ocean front rooms which were filled when we arrived. The owner introduced herself and made it clear that if there was ANYTHING they could do let us know. We wanted them to make reservations for us for our anniversary dinner at a restaurant up the road, they did so and not only that, the night we went out the whole staff made a note to congratulate us and make us feel as thoughwe were family. The whole staff from Victor to Alma and Peter made us feel like we had known them forever. The food at the hotel was always good. They have room service as well. The pool area is wonderful and there are lounge chairs to watch the ocean and relax. The beach below the hotel is lovely however, there arent chairs or umbrellas etc so we ended up going up a few blocks to a great beach. I cannot express how lovely this hotel was, each night there were candles lite, and fresh flowers all over the hotel. It is a gem... After being out all day at the beach or shopping we actually felt like we were coming "home" Saying goodbye was awful and we made a promise to come back next year.... There is really no downside to this hotel. My only complaint would be that there is no direct beach area to sit at. Otherwise the hotel, food and staff were amazing. Thanx to all at the Irma for a wonderful 10 days Debbie & Bob

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazer1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Traveled with 3 other couples and we all stayed at this hotel. Here's why I'd go somewhere else:
1. I booked before all my other friends and got THE WORST room. My "ocean view" was really more of a back alley view.
2. The back alley view room was located right above the laundry room. Nothing like waking up to a pump continuously running when they start laundry at 7AM.
3. After complaining to the management, they said they'd move us after 2 nights, when they had room. That morning of the move, the desk clerk said he'd take care of us and move our things into the new room since we were leaving that day for the beach. When we came back at 7PM are stuff was still in the same room. The desk clerk working when we got back had no idea that we were moving. After 10-minutes of phone calls in Spanish, he agreed to move us.
4. The "new" room was located right smack behind a construction project. The hotel was remodeling a hot tub on the third floor. Nothing like waking up to the sound of construction on vacation every morning.
5. All of the rooms had mosquitos- yes, IN them. Our friend's down the hall had it the worst and got eaten alive at night. They finally said something to the management and guess what? This apparently was not the first time as they got right on it and SPRAYED the inside of all of our rooms! Nothing like getting bug spray on all of your travel items and clothes. This didn't fix the problem either, our friend's ended up moving to another mosquito free room on the lower level

I will never stay at this hotel again despite what everyone else says and no matter how much I liked their pool.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harleybarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

I wouldn't exactly call Irma the "Tajmahal" but it definitely qualifies as the "Tajma Small". Great little hotel! Has everything the big hotels have...clean, great service, spa, good food....and for the price, you just can't beat it!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngmeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We spent the week at Irma after reading many reviews. Irma is just what we expected. It was away from fast pace you find in Ixtapa and only a few blocks walk from downtown. The staff was always friendly and eager to help with any questions or problems. The view of the bay from the deck was also nice. YES the beach is there, and only a walk down a flight of stairs. Irma has a lot of stairs and no elevator which we expected and it did not bother us at all. But if you have young children or have a hard time walking stairs Irma may not be for you. As far as being clean, our room and all the public areas we saw were clean. The TV reception lacked some clarity, ( But really are you going to Mexico to watch TV ? ) and it took about 5 minutes for us to get hot water in the shower ( Our simple solution was turning the hot water in the shower on before we brushed our teeth and waiting a few minutes, not a big deal.) All in all we loved Irma and will be bringing our kids back with us this summer.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelfamilychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

wonderfull service, clean and spacious rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Had a problem with my credit card - the hotel security guard found me an english speaking cab driver who took me to a bank, stayed with me while the glitch was solved and brought me back. The food is great, views are fabulous. How the staff remembered our names (12 of us) I'll never know but we sure felt pampered. For a hotel built in the 40's, you'd never know. Beautiful and very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wisconsinkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Hotel Villas Paraiso
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#44 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#43 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irma

Address: Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $62 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irma 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Irma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irma Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Irma Zihuatanejo
Irma Hotel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing