We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful bargain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Irma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Irma
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Friendly staff, friendly guests who return year after year. Walking distance to town. Many fine restaurants near hotel to walk to. Excellent view of town, bay, and beach. No elevator or fitness center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telnouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    164
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
69
153
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bark River, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you're looking for quiet time this is the place to be. Very friendly staff, decent food, good value. Not a place for kids, nothing to do. No pool activities. No elevators but very good location, many restaurants and shopping within walking distance.

Room Tip: No elevators, ask for lower floor unless you don't mind a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has very friendly staff but its a very quiet hotel, no pool activities, very laid back and relaxed. Spa is decent, beds are hard, restaurant is fair priced and food is good. Walking distance to many restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view, no elevators, ask for a lower floor. Floor 3 is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmchottropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healy, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel Irma is clean, affordable, beautiful, and the staff is fantastic. The only negatives my wife and I encountered were that the hotel doesn't sit right on the beach. You have to walk down several steps to get to the beach. Not a big deal, but being right on the sand is a plus in my book. The other negative was the reservation I made on their website. I was falsely charged 1400$ US 1 week after providing my credit card information for a 4 night stay via the web. Appartently Hotel Irma's reservations online are handled by another company.
So, be aware of the charges to your credit card. Other than that I have nothing but great things to say!!!

Room Tip: Room 101!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenaliTundraTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've been to Zihua a couple of times before, walked by the Hotel Irma on the streetside and thought it looked "nice" but never went in. A friend highly recommended it, we stayed just over a week in Feb 2013 and absolutely loved it. We are already planning our return. Location is excellent, walking distance to town, walking distance to Playa la Ropa. Surrounded by great restaurants. Best of all is the hotel and their staff. Hotel is spotless everywhere, staff smiles as they accommodate every request. We loved our 4th floor room, spectacular view - got to watch dolphins playing in the bay out front one day! Wish we'd discovered the great massages earlier in our trip, would have had one every day - she was lovely and did a great job for an amazing price compared to costs at home! My only, very small complaint - wish we could have had a room the size we had (it had 2 double beds) but with one King size bed. That would have made it perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms above the lobby, with 2 double beds are larger, nicer and have the best views. Wi-Fi only re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedE2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This was out first trip to Zihua and it probably won't be our last. We arrived on a Saturday and the hotel did not have our reservation we had booked online thru a travel site. It took about an hour to get a room and the room they gave us did not have a patio or a view of the ocean like I had booked. I told them I wanted a better room and after about another hour we checked into a room with a view on the second floor balcony. Absolutely amazing! I hear we got very lucky. The atmosphere here by the pool is so relaxing, looking off into the restaurant/bar or the ocean. Irma is very quiet and laid back. People here are very friendly as they have been coming back for years. They are full of information. We hooked up with a traveler to go on a boat cruise to ixtapa island and I caught a fish! The food at the restaurant is cheap. We had a steak and chicken dinner for under 25$. The drinks are expensive..about 3 bucks a beer and 5 bucks a mixer...on the beach beer is about 1.50 and drinks are about 7bucks for a huge margarita. The beds at Irma are extra firm and not for me...luckily there is a massage lady here at Irma.. 20 bucks for 30 minutes. Irma lined up our sunset cruise on the picante and we had a blast!!! A must do...most of the people here are 40-60s...not a family vacation spot. Which is just perfect for us...we are having a great time and only looking forward to my pillow top bed at home..

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jcvoigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for a week in February 2013. Check-in was fast and the view from our room on the 4th flour was amazing. I think the view from most rooms would be equally as good. Just take the stairs down to the beach, take an easy walk along the boardwalk or roads to town, or hike the hill to La Ropa beach. We spent lots of time at the pool and especially around happy hour!! It was never an issue finding available pool-side chairs and the view from the infinity pool is spectacular. Rooms have a safe, some have coolers left behind by others, and the housekeeping was excellent. The hotel is super quiet and it so great to sleep with the patio door open listening to the waves roll in.

The only thing that some people might find awkward is the bathroom door doesn't go all the way to the floor or ceiling. You can see over it! Also, for us, it looks like our room door had been kicked in at some point and repaired, which was a bit disconcerting. However, at no point did we feel unsafe anywhere in Zihua.

Room Tip: 4th floor is a good balance between stairs and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc_and_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
4.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
0.9 mi away
Villa Mexicana Hotel
Villa Mexicana Hotel
#24 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irma

Property: Hotel Irma
Address: Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#13 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irma 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Irma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irma Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Irma Zihuatanejo
Irma Hotel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing