We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Irma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Irma
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for a week in February 2013. Check-in was fast and the view from our room on the 4th flour was amazing. I think the view from most rooms would be equally as good. Just take the stairs down to the beach, take an easy walk along the boardwalk or roads to town, or hike the hill to La Ropa beach. We spent lots of time at the pool and especially around happy hour!! It was never an issue finding available pool-side chairs and the view from the infinity pool is spectacular. Rooms have a safe, some have coolers left behind by others, and the housekeeping was excellent. The hotel is super quiet and it so great to sleep with the patio door open listening to the waves roll in.

The only thing that some people might find awkward is the bathroom door doesn't go all the way to the floor or ceiling. You can see over it! Also, for us, it looks like our room door had been kicked in at some point and repaired, which was a bit disconcerting. However, at no point did we feel unsafe anywhere in Zihua.

Room Tip: 4th floor is a good balance between stairs and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc_and_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    185
    47
    8
    3
See reviews for
77
189
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland OR
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Hotel Irma at the edge of Playa Madera was a perfect choice for our stay in Zihua. Easy access to downtown shops and restaurant, as well as the beach. There are stairs, but it was easy to navigate. The food at the restaurant was outstanding, and all the staff were super friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the 2 for 1 prices for happy hour and spent every night at sunset by the pool. A taxi driver from the hotel Rafael, took us to the archaeological site and new museum, a trip well-worth taking. The rooms were spotless, and the infinity pool beautiful and refreshing. We met several other travelers from the states and Canada and we all agreed we'd come back to Irma. The ocean view room and balcony were great.

Room Tip: I booked directly with the hotel, and highly recommend an ocean view room. Fun to hear the waves at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RainyOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything here is great...food, staff, pool etc. The caveat is no elevator (there are several floors as it is on a hill) and although there is internet access with wifi it is only available in the lobby or the bar......and it comes and goes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just spoiled ourselves with two great weeks in Zihuatanejo! Chose Hotel Irma based on its proximity to town, price and the consistant reviews. We weren't disappointed at all. The view from our room on the 4th floor was the best I've had in all my trips to Mexico. Amazing to lie in bed and watch the action on the bay each morning. We saw dolphins many mornings as well as manta rays a couple of times from our great little balcony. One morning we even had the excitement of watching a crocodile cruise along off La Madera Beach for an hr or so. A rare site I was told - even the hotel staff stopped to watch in amazement. We did swim in the ocean later that afternoon... and survived to tell the tale!!
The hotel staff were all very pleasant and very helpful. English was limited, but I appreciate that and used it to chalk up my rusty Spanish skills.
The drinks were a bit pricey from the bar and the mixed drinks weren't so great but 2 for 1 at happy hr made this bearable. The food was good and fairly reasonable. Had a delicious breakfast there one morning but it was the most expensive meal of our trip.
The room was adequate - beds not nearly as hard as I'd expected. I'd requested a king and got 2 dbls, but it was fine. Bathroom was very spacious - only a half door so you'll hear everything going on in there! We bought a cooler from OXXO and bought ice from the bar in order to keep our brought in drinks cold. A fridge and coffee maker would make this the perfect hotel!
I was told the hotel was at capacity for our trip but there was always room on the pool decks, not always shade available, but plenty of chairs. Like us, most people tend to head off site early to explore and return in the afternoon, so 3 pm onwards saw the deck fill up a little bit more.
Lots of stairs and a steep climb to get to the hotel, but cabs available if you need them.
All in all a great little hotel with excellent value in my opinion. We walked everywhere and at all times of the day and night. The Madera neighbourhood is pretty and safe. We also walked without incident many times on the beach walkway and beach back to the hotel at night – I was told this was dangerous but all we saw were cuddling kids and even patrolling municipal police a number of times. I have never felt anything but safe in both my trips to the area. I plan to return to Zihuatanejo for certain and very likely to the Hotel Irma. ENJOY!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snowgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights for a little more than half what we paid last time at Aura del Mar, formerly Brisas del Mar. Overall a great bargain. I reserved Irma through hotels.com and paid extra for a room with private balcony and ocean view. Upon arrival we were instead given a room that shared a large patio with 5 or 6 other rooms. From one corner of the patio you could see a little bit of the ocean. The next morning I swam in the ocean and looking up at Irma, realized that 2/3 of its rooms actually had the promised private balcony with ocean view. The manager then put me on a waiting list for the room we'd reserved and paid for in advance and after three nights we finally got the view balcony. It was glorious.
Irma has most of what Aura del Mar has, except for the breezy on-beach area, the water slide into the pool, and the fancy restaurant. Aura del Mar also has a more diverse clientele, which created a more welcoming atmosphere for us, an interracial gay couple. Irma seems to cater almost exclusively to 60-something white hetero couples from the frozen north. Still, unless money is no object, my advice is to sleep at Irma and then make friends with some Aura del Mar guests so you can hang out in Aura's beach area. It cut our hotel cost almost in half.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattletraveler000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Irma early January this year. The location was great, the staff was fantastic, the food was good (a little overpriced) and the drinks were weak, and also overpriced. The views from the oceanfront rooms were stunning, and the bed was surprisingly not super-duper hard. There are alot of stairs (in the hotel and to the beach) and it is located on a very steep hill. Things to consider if you are not all that mobile.

We would definitely recommend this hotel due to the stellar service received, location and views.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I first stayed at the Irma 40 years ago and have visited many times since that time. The place is timeless - great location and super staff. The big surprise this year was how much the food has improved! A great menu with dishes prepared with obvious care and attention. Now if only they would do something about the hard beds, lumpy pillows and put a coffee maker in the rooms! The owner, according to the staff, has been petitioned regularly on these counts but won't budge.....Ah well....One day maybe.......

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and get ocean front - the view is spectacular! Take advantage of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
4.0 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irma

Property: Hotel Irma
Address: Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#13 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irma 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Irma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irma Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Irma Zihuatanejo
Irma Hotel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing