We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa del Sol Resort
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver
18
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Villa Del Sol is a beautiful resort. Unfortunately there aren't any meal plans and the food can get a bit pricy but it's all good. You've come here to enjoy yourself.

The entire staff is awesome except a front desk manager-type named Arturo. He's all business and isn't interested in customer service. The strange thing is that the rest of the staff is great.

The beach is great and so are the rooms.

Enjoy.

We were scheduled to stay at Casa Que Canta for 4 nights of our honeymoon but they were under severe construction. The staff was great there and it wasn't until we checked in and couldn't deal with the construction that they let us out without penalty. We tried to get out before - considering they called us a week prior to inform us of the construction but they wouldn't let us get out. But they did at the end and we called Villa Del Sol back and we got back into the original room we stayed at with no problem.

The rooms there are standard but the view is the best. If you're like me, the room is key. I know that many say, "we won't be in the room much" but trust me it's important.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 787 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2005

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Villa Del Sol and found it to be amazing! If you want a resort with activity, this is not the place for you! Had we stayed longer, I might have gotten restless, but we found it to be a perfect getaway for the time we spent. Our room was a lagoon suite (LS8) which was beautiful and had our own private infinity pool. The beds were a little hard but we never had it exterminated and we didn't see any bugs at all. We ate every meal but one at the hotel and we never had a bad experience with the meat etc. Everything was delicious and well prepared. We opted for the meal plan and found it to be well worth the money in the low season. We took a taxi to Ixtapa one day-we didn't care for it but it did make us appreciate Hotel Villa del Sol even more. We loved eating lunch on the beach with our white linen table setting. This is not the place to bring children really, we have 2 girls and I think they would have been bored after a day or so. We only saw about 4 children the entire visit. The palapas on the beach are wonderful, we enjoyed reading, eating and people watching all on the beach without having to leave our resort.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank marlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wheeling, WV
13
Reviewed July 6, 2005

We stayed at Villa Del Sol for our honeymoon and loved it. The pools were wonderful. The meals were tasty. The service was fantastic and friendly. Overall a great experience!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2005

My husband and I went to three different areas of Mexico for our honeymoon (early June), and this is the place we'd go back to. We loved all three places, but Villa del Sol was just so practical for us.

Here is a summary of why:

The beach. It's just the perfect beach to relax in......the water is warm and safe to swim in, it's nice to go for walks up and down the beach and there is plenty of opportunity for "people watching" without feeling it's crowded (we went in the slow season and it was perfect for us). Lunch on the beach was quite a treat and we thoroughly enjoyed reading all morning in our comfy chairs and raising the flag when we got hungry.

The pools. It was great to have so many options. We went to the lap pool in the morning to get some excercise (or at least try, b/c this place makes you very lazy!). In the afternoon, we'd spend time in the salt water pool and have a couple of cocktails. That pool has such a relaxed feeling to it, with the views of the ocean, and is so warm and perfect.

The little bar......oh the memories here. Every night after a very hard day on the beach, we'd go to the little bar which is so quaintly decorated with backgammon games, card tables, etc. The breeze here was fantastic, the service friendly, the music fun, and most nights we ended up getting appetizers there and skipping dinner!!! We found the restaurants a bit overpriced for dinner, and frankly the food at the bar was satisfying enough. Our favorite- the shrimp "al ajillo" (with garlic) with some chips, guacamole, salsa, etc. It was delicious!

Zihuatanejo- one of the quaintest towns in Mexico. We had a great time walking around all morning. The people are so friendly and sweet. We also had dinner at El Faro, in Ixtapa, and the view was just amazing!! What we loved about Villa del Sol is we could take a taxi and felt absolutely safe, and the taxi drivers were so helpful. We spoke Spanish, but a lot of them knew a little English.

The weather on this side of Mexico is not as humid and hot. There's a nice breeze most of the day and night.

Cons

The bed was not as comfortable as we had hoped. A bit firm for the price of the room......but it's ok. We dealt with it.

As mentioned above, the food at the restaurants was a bit overpriced.

I could see how during peak season the beach could get crowded. But we loved the way it was for us=)

Summary
This is a great getaway. It's a bit expensive, but if you want to splurge and relax and have some amazing margaritas, GO! We'd love to bring friends next time, b/c I could see a lot of our friends enjoying this fabulous hotel!

12  Thank gtgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2005

*****My husband and I just got back from the resort last week. We were there on our honeymoon. We stayd for 8 days. It was the most beautiful resort that I have ever been to. Our room was one of the Lagoon Suites and it was on the first floor. We had our own infiniti plunge pool which was amazing. My husband was a little disapointed that our pool was slightly visible by people walking by but as he soon learned.....at night no one can see you!!! The room itself was gorgeous. It had a huge lounge couch/day bed with pillows all over facing the outside terrace and was the perfect spot to just hang out and read a book if it was a bit too hot outside. The bed was huge and had the mosquito netting stuff hanging on top of it (all the girls love that stuff) and it also faced the outside where we were able to open 2 huge windows and feel as if you were on a terrace. The bathroom was amazing.....it had his and hers sinks and the actual toilet was completely separate. The shower was a circular stall but sompletely open and the ceiling had a skylight which made you feel as if you were taking a shower outdoors. Everyday, twice a day we had maid service and everyday we had fresh flowers all over our bed, in the bathroom....the staff is unbelieveably friendly. Whatever you need, they can get! My husband surprised me one night and had the staff decorate the room with rose petals and candles.....for fifty bucks, I have never in my life seen such beautiul decorations! One morning we woke up and it was slightly drizzeling and when we were about to leave the room, we noticed that outside our door was a huge umbrella for us!!! We are already plannng a trip back. The spa is great!!!! Just have to make sure you specify how much pressure you would like. The food at both restaurants is soooo delicious. Even the busboys at the beach are the nicest that I have ever seen. We loved the resort and all of the people and highly recommend it. By the way, the pictures on the resorts website do not lie. The place is amazing!!!!!

12  Thank lenachka143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
lawrenceville, new jersey
122
Reviewed June 20, 2005

EXTREMELY DISSAPPOINTED.....we hope this review will help you guys in deciding in choosing this hotel or not. we stayed in the ocean suite which has the only ocean views (not that great) and infiniti pools which other suites do too. The meals were okay, but stay away from the cheese, we got sick and they leave it out in the sun, The meat is off, we can't really explain it but we became vegetarians for the time we spent there, if you know what we mean. There was not alot to do there but relax, we are used to the Atlantis in the Bahamas and Bellagio (vegas). The people are really nice but be careful of hidden costs and they love to add "charges that don't really exist, or prices are differtent according to who you speak with or what day you ask. We chartered a 33foot yacht for fishing, it wasn't worth the $600 or the snorkeling trip to the island. MOST OF ALL BE READY TO HAVE YOUR SUITE BE EXTERMINATED EVERY DAY AND WAKE UP WITH GNAT LIKE BUGS IN YOUR BED. We wish we went to Casa Que Canta but they were closed for renovations. It was relaxing but not as luxurious as we thought.
never again!!!!

22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2005

There is a reason that Villa Del Sol has won all of the awards that it has, and it's obvious as soon as you arrive. The staff is absolutely amazing. Genuinely nice and very hospitable. Many times they anticipated our needs and immediately remembered our names, favorite drinks and tendencies. You don't need to learn Spanish, but if you try the staff will help you along like patient grammar teachers.

Our room was incredible - a beach suite on the 2nd floor.
Wow! We travel quite a bit and have never seen a room like this. The private plunge pool overlooking the ocean, just outside the bedroom, was most definitely a plus! You can slide the glass doors open, so that the entire suite, as well as the shower, is open air ( you can't see in from the outside because of the foliage ). It was such a great feeling to feel the wind coming in off of the bay during a shower. Two sets of extra large pocket doors can be shut to keep out either the loud crashing surf (yes, we were that close), or the unwanted early morning sun for sleeping in.

Fresh flowers every day, live music 3-4 nights a week, great attention to detail, several bottles of water daily. The gardens are beautiful, even during the dry season! We mostly ate at the Cantina, and we were very surprised at how good the food was. Of course the the restaurants in town give you a taste that is more authentic to Zihuatanejo. Look for a dish called aporiodrillo. The concierge was very informative - although they could have provided a few more details about a fishing trip that we took.

One warning - the beds are extremely firm. We ended up sleeping on the duvan / sofa in the room. Not all rooms have this extra 'bed'.

All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about a trip to Zihua.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 8vex8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
563 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#8 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
555 reviews
2.8 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Sol Resort

Address: Carretera Ecenica s/n | Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $349 - $905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa del Sol Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool garden waterfalls, enchanted lagoons and elegant adobe-inspired villas nestle along one of Mexico's premier beaches to make up the romantic Villa del Sol Resort, Zihuatanejo, A Destination Luxury Hotel ocean views across a tranquil beach. Relaxed contentment is made complete with award winning Mexican as well as Pacific Seafood cuisine, 3 swimming pools including a spectacular seaside infinity pool, an intimate spa and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Resort Zihuatanejo
Villa Del Sol Zihuatanejo
Tides Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing