We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All things have to change, sadly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Patzcuaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All things have to change, sadly”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have been coming to this property for many years. Originally it was the Villa Del Sol. With each management change the charm and ambiance of the property has lost a few points. Little touches have slowly disappeared under the guise of cost savings for each new management portfolio. Don't get me wrong, the place is still beautiful, but the hands on management style of the original owner and manager has disappeared. The beach is still the best beach in the area and the restaurant still provides an excellent meal, but the lack of something extra is seen in the reduction of occupancy over the last few years.
Will we still return? Probably , Will we still have fond memories of the old times, definitely!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Ken K,
thank you very much for your comment you posted. I appreciate your feedback and would certainly love to discuss those changes you have mentioned with you.
I am glad that you still enjoy as loyal customer the wonderful cuisine from Chef Paco and the service attention you are receiving, hopefully we will be able to connect in the future one more time here in Paradise, on Playa La Ropa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    127
    36
    23
    18
See reviews for
111
419
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this beautiful hotel twice, once for a week in March 2012 and again in March 2014--we had consistent great service both times. It was great to return and recognized a lot of the same staff members, Christino, Eddieberto Jorge and Carlos- didn't miss a beat, the whole staff is attentive without being intrusive. We tried the Tequila Tasting with Eugene and Marco, both made it interesting without making it a drinking contest, it gave us more of an appreciation about different Tequilas. If you do taste one too many tequilas then the next day you won't have a problem finding a great spot (chair) at the beach or by the pool to easy into the day. The hotel has the best location on the beach and gives you a picture perfect view of the bay and allows you to watch the beautiful evening sunsets. By far our favorite hotel resort. We will be back! Thanks!

Room Tip: beach suite with a plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Clifford B,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

It was a true honor to have you with us again. Im glad to learn that you enjoy our hotel and facilities as usual. The tequila tasting is one of the most popular activities in site de resort very nice to know that you tried.

Best regards and we hope to welcome you back son.

Martin Kipping
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Best place I ever stayed in Zihuatanejo! Room was beautiful, service excellent and the food amazing. Our room included a coffee and pastries(made at the hotel) service every morning!

The beach is so nice, the send and water are perfect. The lounge chairs and hanging beds are very comfortable, you can lay there for hours!

The weather was great too, it rained for a couple of hours because of a storm somewhere close by but that was it.

There are a few good restaurants minutes away on the beach.

I'll be coming back to this place for sure.

Thanks!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rruiz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Mr. rruiz4,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

Was a pleasure to have you with us and I like to thanks you for your nice comment. Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit.

Regards,

Martin Kipping
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We just returned from another trip to the Viceroy in Zihuatanejo. We stayed 9 days this time. The staff is still outstanding - and a lot of fun. The grounds are still immaculate. The food is still wonderful. We went for some serious R&R this time - so we decided to splurge on a Lagoon Suite and we loved it so much. We spent a lot of time in the room, on our private patio (with a chaise lounge for two and a table and chairs for two) and in our private plunge pool. (The bathroom in our Suite was great too, with a nice big shower with French doors that opened onto a totally private outdoor area.) This was a last minute trip, so we ended up forgetting several essential items. The staff got us everything we needed. They really are the best thing about the hotel - and that is saying a lot given how great the property is. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Even though we were in a Lagoon Suite, we had a great view of the ocean from our patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear ExpatLisa,

Thank you so much for your nice comments. Your feedback commits us to continue with the same quality and service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next visit so I can guaranty that you will have a wonderfull stay again.

Best regards,

Martin Kipping
GM
+52 755 5555500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great hotel with exceptional service in Zihuatanejo. The rooms are gorgeous, the staff is exceptionally nice and accommodating, and the location is superb. We went during a quiet period so the hotel was pretty quiet, so can't assess what it's like fully occupied, but it was pretty sweet to have it almost all to ourselves. In all fairness, it's not my most favorite beach of all time, but it's still really pretty and a great place and jump off to for a quick getaway. The staff really make this place, and if you're into wine check out their legit wine cellar.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,

I like to thank you for taking the time to share with tripadvisor your comments about your recent stay in our paradise.

Im glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and staff we really hope to welcome you back soon.

Gracias,
Martin Kipping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband and I just returned from an 8 day stay in Zihuatanejo. The Viceroy is our favorite hotel on La Ropa beach. The hotel staff went above and beyond for us as usual. We dined at the hotel more often than we have in prior visits. As always the food was fresh and delicious. At the time of check out, we made our reservation for our next trip at the end of November. Cannot wait to return to what we call paradise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoStolarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guests,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

We like to thanks you for your loyalty. Im so happy to learn that you enjoy your recent stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is any special assistance you need for your next trip.

See you on november, GRACIAS AMIGOS !!

Martin Kipping
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel is located in a quite beach, far from the hotel area. The beach is nice and quiet, however gets crowded during weekends. We stay there during easter and the hotel had some guests only, thereforee, the kids could really use the pool for themselves. The room was really big (bathrooms as well) and clean with a wonderful view to the beach. Not all rooms have it, so ask during the reservación. Our room had a small pool with cold water so kids did not use it. Hamocs were available in the beach togheter with palapas. Floating beds are available with a daily fee. Depending of the time of the year some activities are organized by a lady. Beside that, there is not much to do for the kids. The kids spent only a couple of hours with her. The hotel was very clean and everything was in order. They left coffee and sweet bread out of your room and they have most common TV channels including Disney.

Food was good, although not exceptional. Prices were the expected ones in a hotel of this kind, i.e. not cheap. Only one restaurant was open (there are 2) and the menu was limited with almost no sea food. Breakfast was really good but we missed specialities that you would expect in the beach.

Food serviré was very flexible when ordering however during sometimes of the day service was terrible in bar and restaurant, with almost no attention or very slow service.

Pools (2 for families and 1 for adults only) are small so I guess they get crowded when the hotel is fully booked. Considering this plus the service, I can say we were lucky to be there when empty.

One failure was an AC unit in the room that did not work at our arrival and the concierge that guide us to the room never turn it on al we found it some hours later. They fix it the next day.

Considering other hotels we have visited our opinión is that it is a good option ( with some good luck) considering all the aspects I have mentioned and some willingness to accept them.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms infront of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear FD09,

We like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on tripadvisor. It is only through your feedback that we can work on improvements and continue with the services and things you like.

Again - Gracias...! We look forward to welcome you again.

Martin Kipping
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
529 reviews
6.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#7 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#9 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Property: Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Address: Calle Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40895, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#10 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Zihuatanejo 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool garden waterfalls, enchanted lagoons and elegant adobe-inspired villas nestle along one of Mexico's premier beaches to make up the romantic Viceroy Zihuatanejo. 46 Guestrooms and suites afford stunning garden and ocean views across a tranquil beach. Relaxed contentment is made complete with award winning Mexican as well as Pacific Seafood cuisine, 3 swimming pools including a spectacular seaside infinity pool, an intimate spa and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Resort Zihuatanejo
Villa Del Sol Zihuatanejo
Tides Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing