We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical New Years Eve Dinner at La Marea Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A Magical New Years Eve Dinner at La Marea Restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was a very special New Years Eve dinner. We started with happy hour , relaxing and looking out at the most beautiful sunset on fire that one could imagine. The Viceroy is a romantic and lovely beach resort. We were then escorted to dine at our table on the beach. It was set with festive new years hats and horns, and our adorable and excellant server Marco served us our champagne and entire meal. Our prix fixe menu was superb, five courses, our sea bass and duck entre's were expertly prepared and the langostino was succulent. We complimented this feast with delicious wines from Ensenada. It was and unforgetable ringing in of 2014's New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you very much for choosing us to celebrate such a special night. We are very pleased to know that you enjoy dinner.

Please make sure you visit us again, will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Happy 2014

Martin Kipping
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    129
    37
    23
    18
See reviews for
114
427
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have never stayed at this property but this is our 2nd time visiting the Viceroy Zihua for their happy hour 2 for 1 margaritas. Last Christmas we met another couple who brought us there and we enjoyed the drinks….tamarind and mango margaritas. So this year, we went again but remember it's only at one of the bars from 5 to 6pm and the seating is very comfortable with a view of la rope bay. we ordered 2 margaritas which meant 4 in total because of the 2 for 1 and the bill came to 180 pesos before gratuity.

The drinks were good but it would have been nice if it had a bit more tequila as we couldn't really taste the alcohol much. For this reason, I gave it a 4 star instead of 5.

The washroom near the bar was extremely clean and comfortable as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Cliu,

Thank you for your recent visit. Your comments are very important to us please do not stop visit Viceroy Zihutanaejo.

Best wishes..!

Martin Kipping
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I traveled to Zihuatanejo in November with my boyfriend. We were both blown away at this fabulous hotel. We wanted a relaxing, romantic, beautiful location with great food, beach, and sunshine. Viceroy Zihuatanejo is the absolute best!

First - it has a terrific location. It is right in the center of Playa La Ropa, which is a wonderful beach. There is a bay that surrounds this area which is so nice - you can SUP, swim, sail, or just enjoy the beach. We considered places in Ixtapa but that area doesn't have the same beaches. In addition - Zihuatanejo / Viceroy is located approximately 10 minutes from the airport. This may seem silly to mention but when you are in paradise you want to enjoy every last second you can!

Second - the hotel staff is beyond helpful. When we first arrived there was an issue with the Internet and they addressed it and fixed immediately. They have a breakfast-included option which we did. I highly recommend as their breakfast was terrific. We wanted one of the daily specials for a previous morning and the response was - anything you want we'll make! That really encompasses the staff and their helpfulness.

Third - in general the location, rooms, restaurants were all amazing. I read some of the other reviews that said the food was a little high but it was amazing - fresh seafood grilled however you like, lobster tacos, and happy hour each night to watch the sunset. Our room had its own lagoon which was so nice for some privacy. We did eat out at a few different restaurants in the area and all were great.

This is a must visit for sure!

Room Tip: Lagoon room was a great option for us... Close to the beach, but with privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear MissLSeattle

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !!

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.

Best wishes from all of us here at Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

Martin Kipping
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I am a picky person. To put my wedding in the hands of a total stranger was a leap of faith to say the least. Angelica, the Viceroy wedding planner, Adan the photographer and the entire Viceroy staff was AMAZING. Angelica is such a sweet woman, and very responsive as we worked together to plan my dream wedding. What Angelica, Adan, and the entire staff managed went well above and beyond ANYTHING I could have hoped or dreamed of. The hotel bent over backwards to make sure everything was perfect, and they did it all so laid back, it even put a Type A like myself at ease. Our room was lovely and quiet, the food at the resort was excellent and the location of the hotel can not be beat. The lounge chairs at the beach, the stunning pools and the landscape of the hotel is just beautiful. I had been to Zihua several times before, but never stayed at the Viceroy. I can't recommend it highly enough. To those travelers that till shy away from Mexico- please don't shy away from Zihuatanejo. It is so quiet, so quaint, the locals are so friendly and helpful- it could be a training center for customer service... also, when my step son had an unfortunate beach incident - about half the resort staff came to help, they had a medical doctor who was fabulous there in a matter of minutes and x-rays taken, diagnosed and the whole ordeal done in less time than it would take to get registered at a US hospital. Adan, the photographer even road along in the ambulance to help! What could have been a terrifying experience ended up being just very touching, and representative of what Zihua is all about. I recommend this resort whole heartedly - Go to Zihuatanejo, kick back, unplug, relax, let them take care of you and help them out by spending your money there!

Room Tip: Lagoon suite was lovely, close to the beach, and very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDIVERDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Just to let someone know, the cover picture on the TrioAdvisor site is not the Viceroy, but some lesser hotel. You should fix this. The hotel is much finer than this photo. I always enjoy my stay at this special hotel. Take care.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockard_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights. The reason I did not give it a 4 star is because our room was next to the walkway for the people who worked in the kitchen and the bed is a little hard. As far as the property and the people who work there - it is a really nice place.
The property is right on the beach - Playa Ropa. The beach is very long with soft sand and has a gentle surf. An excellent walking beach. The water is very warm - I have never been in such comfortable ocean. Just lie on your back and enjoy the floating.
The hotel is set up right next to the beach - you do get approached to parasail, jet ski, fish, take a boat to another beach, buy blankets, get jewelry... it is Mexico. Not high pressure but constant.
We love tennis and there are two very nice hard courts there that are rarely used. We played early in the morning about 8am so it was not so hot. Bring your own tennis balls, the hotel has tennis balls but they were very old and almost unplayable.
The location is not an easy walk to Zihuat. It is best to take a taxi which cost ten dollars each way.

Room Tip: Stick with rooms that are away from the kitchen walk way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raindogkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Raindogkelley,

I like to thank you for your feedback there is always a room for improvement and your suggestions are very much appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and make every effort to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Martin Kipping
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I visited this hotel this March. It's my favorite hotel so far. Its a wonderful place, the room is very special, with all white color and wood material, it's simple but romantic. I love the beach, I could stay 24 hours........ It was a good memory, will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Ocean V,

Thank you very much for such a generous review. I am delighted to read your comments and learn that you have been impressed with our place.

We are looking forward to your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us for any pre-arrival arrangement.

Gracias

Martin Kipping
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
547 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
543 reviews
6.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#11 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
511 reviews
6.3 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#14 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Property: Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Address: Calle Escenica La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40895, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#10 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Zihuatanejo 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool garden waterfalls, enchanted lagoons and elegant adobe-inspired villas nestle along one of Mexico's premier beaches to make up the romantic Viceroy Zihuatanejo. 46 Guestrooms and suites afford stunning garden and ocean views across a tranquil beach. Relaxed contentment is made complete with award winning Mexican as well as Pacific Seafood cuisine, 3 swimming pools including a spectacular seaside infinity pool, an intimate spa and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viceroy Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Resort Zihuatanejo
Villa Del Sol Zihuatanejo
Tides Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing