We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

One of the best places we been at in years. Better than any Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton or other luxury resort. Service was just great, every staff member could not do more to make our stay 100 % enjoyable. Meal Plan is a bargain and the food was also super. They set up lunch right behind your chairs or hut on the beach.

Room Tip: Beach suites are only 15 yards from the beach. I like the second floor rooms. It gives you more pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear dsfood,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

I really appreciate the positive things you mention about our resort. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

On behalf of all the staff we appreciate your preference and we really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.


Sincerely

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    126
    36
    23
    18
See reviews for
109
416
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I highly recommend this resort. I can't say enough great things about The Viceroy. You instantly feel special as soon as you step out of the car. We were given tour of the resort while our bags were taken to our room. The room we stayed in was spacious and so tranquil. Beds were turned down every night and coffee & pastries left at our door every morning.
The yoga on the beach was great way to start each morning and the facial and message in the spa was beyond relaxing. Breakfasts , lunches and dinners were all delicious.
Every single member of the staff was accommodating and friendly. Thank you Alieda, Louis, Philipe and Marcos. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinaMalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear LinaMalie

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

Thanks a lot for your comments I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything you need.

Gracias,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just got back from a weeklong stay at Viceroy and it was great. I had read a few reviews of the hotel before traveling there and was a little worried about some reviews that talked about declining maintenance, but everything was in perfect condition while we were there. We were greeted at the door and given a brief tour of the property and then shown to our room, which was a garden room. Beautiful bed with linen canopy, pillows covered every day with flowers, a nice sitting area, and a clean bathroom with waterfall showerhead.

The hotel is situated directly on the beach with plenty of wooden lounge chairs with deep cushions right on the sand. There are palapas for those who want shade and plenty of sun for those that don't. You can order drinks to be delivered, plus you can order lunch from your beach lounge chair and they'll set up a table right on the beach and deliver your lunch there.

The breakfast buffet is good, the two restaurants for dinner are great, and sitting at a candle list table on the sand at La Marea at night is incredibly beautiful and romantic.

The tennis court has been completely resurfaced and is great condition and the health club is a beautiful octagonal building with floor to ceiling windows, dark hardwood floor, and palapa ceiling. Four cardio machines, weight machines, and free weights are just enough for those who want to do a workout on the trip.

The only minus on the trip for us was the ocean. The hotel is on a beautiful bay, but the bay is filled with every motorized water vehicle ever invented. Waterskiing, banana boats, jet skis, parasailing, something we called "the neckbreaker couch" that's dragged along at high speed behind a boat....all adding diesel smells to the air, green oily bubbles to the water, and lots of noise. Waves are very small and it feels like the water doesn't get a chance to clean itself through circulation at night.

We had a group of 30 people so we got to see all kinds of rooms and they are all wonderful. The beach suites are beyond luxurious, with private decks with plunge pools and huge rooms right on the beach. Garden suites are very private, surrounded by lush vegetation and with their own pools. Lagoon suites look out over the lagoons with fountains and nighttime lights. And, the property is really compact so you are never far from anything (great when traveling with less mobile family members).

The staff was great. Very friendly, helpful, responsive. We loved the coffee and pastries delivered every morning, the food and drink delivery to the beach, and the concierge, who arranged taxis for taking us into town (a $5 cab ride).

If you're looking for a truly first-class hotel on an action-packed beach in Mexico, I definitely recommend the Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

Room Tip: Look at the property map to select your room or suite by number. For example, Beach Suite 8 isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KirstiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear KirstiS,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

I appreciate your feedback especially in such a positive and constructive way you did. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything you need.

Gracias,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Viceroy at the end of October (quiet as this is not high season). This was our third time to the area, but the first at the Viceroy.

I arranged for a one-way airport transfer through the hotel. After a short 20-25 minute ride, we were met upon arrival at the hotel by the rooms division manager, who gave us a quick tour of the property before showing us to our room - Lagoon Suite 16. It was a very spacious suite (1st floor) with a plunge pool on the terrace overlooking the lagoons.

Rooms: There are a total of 70 guest rooms and suites at this property. I did take a tour of the rooms and did get a chance to see all of the room types except for the penthouse and presidential suites (occupied). The 35 guest rooms (garden superior, superior, and deluxe) are a part of the original hotel and are painted in yellows and oranges with floral detail and Mexican art. The manager advised that there are plans to re-paint these rooms white. The 35 suites (lagoon, garden, beach, penthouse, and presidential) are decorated in either vibrant colors or an off-white adobe style. All suites have private plunge pools on their terrace or balcony (heated upon request). A few of the deluxe rooms also have plunge pools, although this is not listed on their website. All accommodations include complimentary wi-fi and there are iPod docking stations (no charging capability). There are no coffee makers in the rooms, but there is a nice amenity - the hotel delivers coffee or tea and pastries every morning at the time of your choice (between 7a-9a). This is offered complimentary to all guests of the hotel.

Dining: There are two restaurants (both open air) – La Villa and La Marea – as well as room service. Our rate included daily breakfast, which was served in the La Villa restaurant. There was a different special every morning along with other tasty Mexican favorites and we had our choice of anything on the menu. We did eat at La Marea one evening (La Villa was closed) which offers more of a Mediterranean style cuisine. Otherwise, we ordered room service dinner which was delivered promptly after ordering!

Activities: There is a spa, tennis courts (which were being re-surfaced), and a fitness center. I don’t have much to say as I did not use any of these facilities. The hotel offers cooking classes as well as other excursions in the area.

Pools/beach: There are two pools – a family pool nestled within the property and an adults-only infinity pool overlooking the beach. If lounging on the beach, there is a flag attached to the palapa – just raise it for service! There are vendors that walk along the beach, but they were not pushy and they would continue on their way with a quick "no thanks."

Staff: The service and staff were really great. Most remembered our name by the second day as well as what we liked to order!

Overall, the hotel had a laidback luxury feel to it. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for anyone wanting to visit Zihuatanejo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvljess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear trvljess,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

Thank you for the comments you posted on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit at Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.

Best wishes from all of us here Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

Sincerely,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Viceroy for one night recently. I typically stay at high end properties and this met my expectations. The room was lovely, staff very attentive. I also had a romantic birthday dinner at the restaurant. While the food wasn't Paris level gourmet it was still very good. Are you going to pay more at a luxury resort? Sure...but this was worth it and I hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoSenorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear ChicagoSenorita,

Thank you for providing your comments regarding your recent stay at Viceroy Zihuatanejo. I am very glad to learn that you enjoy the hotel, was a pleasure to have had you with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future. Gracias.

Best regards,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just returned from the most horrible, expensive xmas eve meal at Viceroy in Zihuatanjeo .MX $1000us or $12000pesos for 4 . Total, total rip-off ...should have gone to Amuleto , Tentaciones , Kau-kan instead .Service, food quality sub-standard ....Carlos Blanco , General Manager should be ashamed of himself for ripping people off . Rumor has it he had staff working his private party off -sight This was by far the most disappointing meal Ive experienced in all of my 20 yrs of dining at Villa del Sol- Tides-Viceroy .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Louise S,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

First of all please know that I do appreciate very much the time that you have taken to give us such as an important feedback.

Second of all I’m very sorry to hear that you found horrible and expensive your meal at our resort specially knowing that you have been experiencing and enjoying it for the last 20 years. Please be advised that the dinner price per person has been the same for the last 5 years as well as our service quality.

On a different note, due to the quality of our ingredients and the great service provided by our staff, we have been offering catering service for private events which have never affected the experience of our in house guests, furthermore we will take care of a 300 people even off property next February.

As of the rumors, we at Viceroy Zihuatanejo never hear or take actions based on that, we do take actions based on facts.

I wish we could have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best regards,
Carlos Blanco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Reading other people's reviews we can agree more. This is a great location and used to be a topnotch hotel but now it need serious improvements. We just spend 6 days there, and still the staff is the best thing they can offer.

It was good for relaxing under a palapa. Yes, there are people selling stuff around the beach but they are not annoying at all. Actually, we happen to like many of the vendors and we even have made friends.

Food at the hotel restaurant is mediocre and expensive. You will find way better options walking to Patty's, for example (great service, incredible ceviches).

The beach is clean, you see fish swimming around you, baby turtles hatching every day (and been rescued by the staff of this hotel who released them into the ocean every night, etc.

Be aware that now the hotel accepts families with young children. This is not what we read on its website when we made the reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuanCalifornia_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear JuanCalifornia_USA,
Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at our resort. Our guest’s comments give us important feedback on our performance and provide us with great ideas on how to improve our service.

In regards to our food prices, this is one of the most important services we care and we don't spare in having the best ingredients and the freshest food to guarantee our guests' satisfaction. I must say that we are in line with the better restaurants in the area.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back in a not distance future.

Sincerely,
Carlos Blanco and Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#7 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Property: Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Address: Calle Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40895, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#10 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Zihuatanejo 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool garden waterfalls, enchanted lagoons and elegant adobe-inspired villas nestle along one of Mexico's premier beaches to make up the romantic Viceroy Zihuatanejo. 46 Guestrooms and suites afford stunning garden and ocean views across a tranquil beach. Relaxed contentment is made complete with award winning Mexican-Pacific cuisine, 3 swimming pools including a spectacular seaside infinity pool, an intimate spa and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Resort Zihuatanejo
Villa Del Sol Zihuatanejo
Tides Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing