We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Few Days at the Viceroy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa del Sol Resort
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Viceroy at the end of October (quiet as this is not high season). This was our third time to the area, but the first at the Viceroy.

I arranged for a one-way airport transfer through the hotel. After a short 20-25 minute ride, we were met upon arrival at the hotel by the rooms division manager, who gave us a quick tour of the property before showing us to our room - Lagoon Suite 16. It was a very spacious suite (1st floor) with a plunge pool on the terrace overlooking the lagoons.

Rooms: There are a total of 70 guest rooms and suites at this property. I did take a tour of the rooms and did get a chance to see all of the room types except for the penthouse and presidential suites (occupied). The 35 guest rooms (garden superior, superior, and deluxe) are a part of the original hotel and are painted in yellows and oranges with floral detail and Mexican art. The manager advised that there are plans to re-paint these rooms white. The 35 suites (lagoon, garden, beach, penthouse, and presidential) are decorated in either vibrant colors or an off-white adobe style. All suites have private plunge pools on their terrace or balcony (heated upon request). A few of the deluxe rooms also have plunge pools, although this is not listed on their website. All accommodations include complimentary wi-fi and there are iPod docking stations (no charging capability). There are no coffee makers in the rooms, but there is a nice amenity - the hotel delivers coffee or tea and pastries every morning at the time of your choice (between 7a-9a). This is offered complimentary to all guests of the hotel.

Dining: There are two restaurants (both open air) – La Villa and La Marea – as well as room service. Our rate included daily breakfast, which was served in the La Villa restaurant. There was a different special every morning along with other tasty Mexican favorites and we had our choice of anything on the menu. We did eat at La Marea one evening (La Villa was closed) which offers more of a Mediterranean style cuisine. Otherwise, we ordered room service dinner which was delivered promptly after ordering!

Activities: There is a spa, tennis courts (which were being re-surfaced), and a fitness center. I don’t have much to say as I did not use any of these facilities. The hotel offers cooking classes as well as other excursions in the area.

Pools/beach: There are two pools – a family pool nestled within the property and an adults-only infinity pool overlooking the beach. If lounging on the beach, there is a flag attached to the palapa – just raise it for service! There are vendors that walk along the beach, but they were not pushy and they would continue on their way with a quick "no thanks."

Staff: The service and staff were really great. Most remembered our name by the second day as well as what we liked to order!

Overall, the hotel had a laidback luxury feel to it. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for anyone wanting to visit Zihuatanejo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvljess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear trvljess,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

Thank you for the comments you posted on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit at Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.

Best wishes from all of us here Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

Sincerely,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 793 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Viceroy for one night recently. I typically stay at high end properties and this met my expectations. The room was lovely, staff very attentive. I also had a romantic birthday dinner at the restaurant. While the food wasn't Paris level gourmet it was still very good. Are you going to pay more at a luxury resort? Sure...but this was worth it and I hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoSenorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear ChicagoSenorita,

Thank you for providing your comments regarding your recent stay at Viceroy Zihuatanejo. I am very glad to learn that you enjoy the hotel, was a pleasure to have had you with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future. Gracias.

Best regards,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just returned from the most horrible, expensive xmas eve meal at Viceroy in Zihuatanjeo .MX $1000us or $12000pesos for 4 . Total, total rip-off ...should have gone to Amuleto , Tentaciones , Kau-kan instead .Service, food quality sub-standard ....Carlos Blanco , General Manager should be ashamed of himself for ripping people off . Rumor has it he had staff working his private party off -sight This was by far the most disappointing meal Ive experienced in all of my 20 yrs of dining at Villa del Sol- Tides-Viceroy .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Louise S,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

First of all please know that I do appreciate very much the time that you have taken to give us such as an important feedback.

Second of all I’m very sorry to hear that you found horrible and expensive your meal at our resort specially knowing that you have been experiencing and enjoying it for the last 20 years. Please be advised that the dinner price per person has been the same for the last 5 years as well as our service quality.

On a different note, due to the quality of our ingredients and the great service provided by our staff, we have been offering catering service for private events which have never affected the experience of our in house guests, furthermore we will take care of a 300 people even off property next February.

As of the rumors, we at Viceroy Zihuatanejo never hear or take actions based on that, we do take actions based on facts.

I wish we could have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best regards,
Carlos Blanco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Reading other people's reviews we can agree more. This is a great location and used to be a topnotch hotel but now it need serious improvements. We just spend 6 days there, and still the staff is the best thing they can offer.

It was good for relaxing under a palapa. Yes, there are people selling stuff around the beach but they are not annoying at all. Actually, we happen to like many of the vendors and we even have made friends.

Food at the hotel restaurant is mediocre and expensive. You will find way better options walking to Patty's, for example (great service, incredible ceviches).

The beach is clean, you see fish swimming around you, baby turtles hatching every day (and been rescued by the staff of this hotel who released them into the ocean every night, etc.

Be aware that now the hotel accepts families with young children. This is not what we read on its website when we made the reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuanCalifornia_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear JuanCalifornia_USA,
Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at our resort. Our guest’s comments give us important feedback on our performance and provide us with great ideas on how to improve our service.

In regards to our food prices, this is one of the most important services we care and we don't spare in having the best ingredients and the freshest food to guarantee our guests' satisfaction. I must say that we are in line with the better restaurants in the area.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back in a not distance future.

Sincerely,
Carlos Blanco and Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

On recommendations by friends we booked the Viceroy in Zihuatanejo for my wife's birthday and a week's vacation. I arranged with the concierge the day before to have a flower arrangement and chocolate dipped strawberries in the room upon our arrival. We were blown away by the size and magnificence of the flower arrangement. It was like the ones you see in a hotel lobby. And the price was amazingly reasonable. We loved the ambience of the resort. We had a lagoon suite, with private dipping pool, which was very large and beautifully appointed and maintained. The beach was clean, the water was warm but not clear and the beach amenities were certainly adequate. As for the food, we chose to have breakfast included in the room price and it was certainly of good quality and served out on the beach terrace. One of the outstanding amenities of this resort is the free coffee, croissants and sweet roll service in the early morning outside your door. We had our coffee and croissants early, went to the beach around 9 and had breakfast on the terrace at 11. This tided us over until dinner so we didn't have to have lunch unless we wanted a late afternoon snack. Dinner was alternated between La Marea and La Villa restaurants. Unfortunately they were working on one of the beautiful lagoons and La Marea was closed one of the nights they were scheduled. The La Marea restaurant with dinner on the beach when we did eat there was excellent. The La Villa restaurant was the only disappointment in the resort. The food was mediocre at best which prompted us to eat in town or at other resorts several nights. The personnel were terrific. Everyone knew our names and greeted us upon seeing us. The housekeeper decorated a pillow everyday with fresh flower petals in interesting and beautiful designs. We recommend this resort to anyone who likes outstanding service, good food, great location and wonderful accommodations. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Any of the standard garden rooms are good, but for a real treat choose a lagoon suite which is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This property was originally called Villa del Sol. Then the owners sold out to another group who renamed it The Tides. Now, the Viceroy chain has taken over, not only as management, but as owners. If you are familiar with the Viceroy properties in Santa Monica or Palm Springs, you will already know that they are extremely chic, cater to an extremely upscale clientele, and are generally trend-setters in their respective locations.

I am sad to report that this property was driven into the ground by the previous owners who for some reason felt they should establish a new brand rather than trade off of the proud reputation of Villa del Sol. Because very little money was spent on maintenance and upkeep, the Viceroy team must now start the task of trying to bring back the property to its previous glory.

The staff could not be nicer, but I would give management a few years to get the grounds and systems onto a par with their other properties. We were attracted to the property by their great pricing. Frankly, we left after two days, lost our advance for prepaying for the week, and moved to Casa que Canta and never looked back. Also, we were on our honeymoon and this is really not the kind of the place to stay if you want something sort of romantic. It is a big resort (by Zihuat standards) and again, just needs a great deal of work.

It would probably be a fun place to the take the children, but frankly I think that staying slightly off the beach is better in that you don't have the constant bombardment of people coming up to you to ask if you want to paraglide, go fishing, or by a cheap necklace. If anyone can bring back the property, it is the Viceroy. If you want to go, with low expectations, then you can not beat their pricing.

We also used the spa services for massages and treatments. The location is terrible in that we could hear all sorts of noise from outside - which included children screaming and playing. Not conducive to relaxation!

Room Tip: If you have children, book a room on the South end of the property near the children's pool. At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brooks H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Brooks H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are dedicated to providing the best experience and service to our guests, and were pleased that you felt our staff were accommodating. We are sorry to hear that you felt your stay at the property was not worthwhile, and that the amenities did not meet your standards. We have recently updated many of our facilities and are constantly in the process of maintaining them for our guest’s enjoyment. We will certainly take all of your recommendations into consideration, however if you would like to discuss your experience further, please reach out to our General Manager, Carlos Blanco to discuss. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Carlos Blanco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We didn't sty at Viceroy this visit - although we have in the past - but we went for dinner at the restaurant and had a terrific time. Really good food, and the best service you could possibly hope for. We'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear liketospend,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

I appreciate your feedback from your recent visit to our restaurant. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your dinner and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.

Please contact me if there is anything you need.

Gracias,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
571 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#10 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#22 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
149 reviews
2.8 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#32 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Sol Resort

Address: Carretera Ecenica s/n | Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $352 - $960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa del Sol Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool garden waterfalls, enchanted lagoons and elegant adobe-inspired villas nestle along one of Mexico's premier beaches to make up the romantic Villa del Sol Resort, Zihuatanejo, A Destination Luxury Hotel ocean views across a tranquil beach. Relaxed contentment is made complete with award winning Mexican as well as Pacific Seafood cuisine, 3 swimming pools including a spectacular seaside infinity pool, an intimate spa and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Resort Zihuatanejo
Villa Del Sol Zihuatanejo
Tides Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing