We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa del Sol Resort
Nearby Hotels
La Casa Que Canta(Zihuatanejo)
$445
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$120
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$144
$121
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$272
$185
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalina Beach Resort(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aura del Mar Hotel(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
$136
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$124
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$152
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$328
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveler rating
591
136
41
24
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
136
41
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach suiteviceroy zihuatanejoplunge poolcoral barour honeymoonevery morningcoffee and pastriesdinner on the beachlounge chairstennis courtsbeach servicebeautiful beachthe entire staffthe general manageramazing resortdeep sea fishingromantic getaway
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 811 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just returned from the most horrible, expensive xmas eve meal at Viceroy in Zihuatanjeo .MX $1000us or $12000pesos for 4 . Total, total rip-off ...should have gone to Amuleto , Tentaciones , Kau-kan instead .Service, food quality sub-standard ....Carlos Blanco , General Manager should be ashamed of himself for ripping people off . Rumor has it he had staff working his private party off -sight This was by far the most disappointing meal Ive experienced in all of my 20 yrs of dining at Villa del Sol- Tides-Viceroy .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Louise S,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !

First of all please know that I do appreciate very much the time that you have taken to give us such as an important feedback.

Second of all I’m very sorry to hear that you found horrible and expensive your meal at our resort specially knowing that you have been experiencing and enjoying it for the last 20 years. Please be advised that the dinner price per person has been the same for the last 5 years as well as our service quality.

On a different note, due to the quality of our ingredients and the great service provided by our staff, we have been offering catering service for private events which have never affected the experience of our in house guests, furthermore we will take care of a 300 people even off property next February.

As of the rumors, we at Viceroy Zihuatanejo never hear or take actions based on that, we do take actions based on facts.

I wish we could have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best regards,
Carlos Blanco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Reading other people's reviews we can agree more. This is a great location and used to be a topnotch hotel but now it need serious improvements. We just spend 6 days there, and still the staff is the best thing they can offer.

It was good for relaxing under a palapa. Yes, there are people selling stuff around the beach but they are not annoying at all. Actually, we happen to like many of the vendors and we even have made friends.

Food at the hotel restaurant is mediocre and expensive. You will find way better options walking to Patty's, for example (great service, incredible ceviches).

The beach is clean, you see fish swimming around you, baby turtles hatching every day (and been rescued by the staff of this hotel who released them into the ocean every night, etc.

Be aware that now the hotel accepts families with young children. This is not what we read on its website when we made the reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuanCalifornia_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear JuanCalifornia_USA,
Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at our resort. Our guest’s comments give us important feedback on our performance and provide us with great ideas on how to improve our service.

In regards to our food prices, this is one of the most important services we care and we don't spare in having the best ingredients and the freshest food to guarantee our guests' satisfaction. I must say that we are in line with the better restaurants in the area.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back in a not distance future.

Sincerely,
Carlos Blanco and Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

On recommendations by friends we booked the Viceroy in Zihuatanejo for my wife's birthday and a week's vacation. I arranged with the concierge the day before to have a flower arrangement and chocolate dipped strawberries in the room upon our arrival. We were blown away by the size and magnificence of the flower arrangement. It was like the ones you see in a hotel lobby. And the price was amazingly reasonable. We loved the ambience of the resort. We had a lagoon suite, with private dipping pool, which was very large and beautifully appointed and maintained. The beach was clean, the water was warm but not clear and the beach amenities were certainly adequate. As for the food, we chose to have breakfast included in the room price and it was certainly of good quality and served out on the beach terrace. One of the outstanding amenities of this resort is the free coffee, croissants and sweet roll service in the early morning outside your door. We had our coffee and croissants early, went to the beach around 9 and had breakfast on the terrace at 11. This tided us over until dinner so we didn't have to have lunch unless we wanted a late afternoon snack. Dinner was alternated between La Marea and La Villa restaurants. Unfortunately they were working on one of the beautiful lagoons and La Marea was closed one of the nights they were scheduled. The La Marea restaurant with dinner on the beach when we did eat there was excellent. The La Villa restaurant was the only disappointment in the resort. The food was mediocre at best which prompted us to eat in town or at other resorts several nights. The personnel were terrific. Everyone knew our names and greeted us upon seeing us. The housekeeper decorated a pillow everyday with fresh flower petals in interesting and beautiful designs. We recommend this resort to anyone who likes outstanding service, good food, great location and wonderful accommodations. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Any of the standard garden rooms are good, but for a real treat choose a lagoon suite which is very large and very private and has a private large dipping pool. The beach suites are right on the beach and are not necessarily private.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This property was originally called Villa del Sol. Then the owners sold out to another group who renamed it The Tides. Now, the Viceroy chain has taken over, not only as management, but as owners. If you are familiar with the Viceroy properties in Santa Monica or Palm Springs, you will already know that they are extremely chic, cater to an extremely upscale clientele, and are generally trend-setters in their respective locations.

I am sad to report that this property was driven into the ground by the previous owners who for some reason felt they should establish a new brand rather than trade off of the proud reputation of Villa del Sol. Because very little money was spent on maintenance and upkeep, the Viceroy team must now start the task of trying to bring back the property to its previous glory.

The staff could not be nicer, but I would give management a few years to get the grounds and systems onto a par with their other properties. We were attracted to the property by their great pricing. Frankly, we left after two days, lost our advance for prepaying for the week, and moved to Casa que Canta and never looked back. Also, we were on our honeymoon and this is really not the kind of the place to stay if you want something sort of romantic. It is a big resort (by Zihuat standards) and again, just needs a great deal of work.

It would probably be a fun place to the take the children, but frankly I think that staying slightly off the beach is better in that you don't have the constant bombardment of people coming up to you to ask if you want to paraglide, go fishing, or by a cheap necklace. If anyone can bring back the property, it is the Viceroy. If you want to go, with low expectations, then you can not beat their pricing.

We also used the spa services for massages and treatments. The location is terrible in that we could hear all sorts of noise from outside - which included children screaming and playing. Not conducive to relaxation!

Room Tip: If you have children, book a room on the South end of the property near the children's pool. At the North end is the adult pool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brooks H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Brooks H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are dedicated to providing the best experience and service to our guests, and were pleased that you felt our staff were accommodating. We are sorry to hear that you felt your stay at the property was not worthwhile, and that the amenities did not meet your standards. We have recently updated many of our facilities and are constantly in the process of maintaining them for our guest’s enjoyment. We will certainly take all of your recommendations into consideration, however if you would like to discuss your experience further, please reach out to our General Manager, Carlos Blanco to discuss. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Carlos Blanco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We didn't sty at Viceroy this visit - although we have in the past - but we went for dinner at the restaurant and had a terrific time. Really good food, and the best service you could possibly hope for. We'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBdelaM, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear liketospend,

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

I appreciate your feedback from your recent visit to our restaurant. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your dinner and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.

Please contact me if there is anything you need.

Gracias,

Carlos Blanco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews