We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence!”
Review of La Casa Que Canta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Casa Que Canta
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle,WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence!”
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We had our wedding ceremony and stayed with friends at one of the private residences at La Casa Que Canta, El Ensueno. Then we moved to a master suite in the main hotel for our honeymoon after our friends had returned home. We could not have had a better experience and we can not wait to return for our anniversary! We felt like we were family with the great staff by the end of our stay and we would like to thank them first and foremost for making our stay so enjoyable. We can not say enough good things about Luisa, Mel, Arturo, Flor, Romona, Adriana, and Krina (no "t"). El Murmullo was the residence we had original planned to have the wedding ceremony and stay with friends but we changed to Ensueno and could not have been happier about the decision. We had a tour of Murmullo and it is hands down an extremely gorgeous residence and the views are phenomenal! We just felt that the layout of Ensueno was more conducive for a group of four couples to spend time together. Plenty of privacy when you want it with an amazing common area to meet and enjoy each others company by the best pool out of all the pools at the whole hotel. Our wedding was intimate and perfect fit for the patio area of our penthouse suite Inspiration. Luisa was so very helpful in taking care of everything and taking away all of the stress. We just began to say "whatever you think is best" and she made sure it all worked out perfectly. When we had a few special requests she took care of them and then some! My best advice is not to listen to the couple from London's review. In our opinion it would be impossible not to have an amazing stay and happy memories to last a lifetime from staying at this beautiful hotel with a warm and friendly staff that makes you never want to leave! If you get a chance stay here! Try the lime pancakes and say hello to Mel for us! Happy Travels!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdjonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    35
    10
    10
    3
See reviews for
52
369
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Casa is well known . It's beautiful but after we arrived in Zihualtlan ( the real name ) and discovered Troncones , I felt it was more like Mexico there ( about 45 minutes from Zihua , and a beach town of small inns , cool restaurants and the sea . And super hip - with part time residents like damien hirst and julian schnabel .

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seriouslyours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the private residences for 5 nights with 3 other couples for our close friend's wedding. It was beautiful. Delicious food, wonderful service, very relaxing. Perhaps that is my biggest complaint...too relaxing. We actually had trouble finding things to keep us busy when not laying by the pool!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngmeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

My husband and I are from Chicago and we haven't traveled all over the world, but we aren't slouches either. Also, we aren't snobs...get the hint Londoners?

At any rate we were there for our long awaited honeymoon. When we arrived we found nothing but graciousness all around. From the moment we walked into the lobby until the day we checked out, we had a glorious time.

Yes, the place is expensive and most of the folks around us were more well endowed with funds than we but that didn't stop us from having a romantic honeymoon.

We loved our room, even the bed was extremely comfortable and if you have been to Mexico, you know this is not usually the case.

The dinner that we had was fine, nothing to rave about but service was quite good. The breakfast and lunches we had were terrific. More notably, the staff was amazing! Very attentive to our every need and extremely friendly.

Ziihantanejo is very charming and a very friendly vacation spot. If you aren't the friendly type, you probably won't find friendly people. We met loads of locals, ate in town, walked on the beach and loved the ambience of the town very much. We found it extremely friendly.

All in all Casa Que Canta is a one time experience not to be missed. Many of the regulars that we met at the hotel have said it was "addictive" and I can see why. Don't let these Londoner snobs make you not want to go to Casa Que Canta or visit the lovely Zihaut. They both are finds and are worth the investment.

Good work Casa! When we are more wealthy we will be back and stay in the Presidential Suite for a week!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We are two young professionals living in London. Having read all the fantastic reviews about this hotel, my husband and I were expecting heaven, and were sorely disappointed. Having come from some of the most wonderful independent hotels in Mexico, La Casa Que Canta felt like a Mexican branch of a large, money grabbing chain of hotel (I know it isn't, but they did a very good job of giving that impression). I truly don't think they deserve all the great reviews they get, to the point that I am suspicious about who writes them!
Firstly, value for money - I have stayed in some of the most beautiful and expensive hotels in the world, and this rates as one of the worst value-for money I have ever experienced. I have no problem spending money, but expect a certain level of service and comfort for it. Our deluxe room was fine, if quite outdated, yet the balcony area had peeling paint, and all in all the room had a general feeling of its best days being behind it. (I felt this for the whole hotel). The pool tub on our balcony had so much chlorine in it too, not the most pleasant experience and not necessary.
The Food - of the 3 hotel we stayed in in Mexico, the food here most definitely the worst quality, least imaginative, and disappointing. Same for the cocktails.
Being from Europe, we had a very serious problem with having to pay for breakfast, as this way not included in our $430/night rate - ridiculous.
The service was fine, not remotely personal or unique. The poolside service was quite poor, and again the food offered here was way over priced
The local village, Zihuatanejo is a terrible place, there is nothing remotely quaint about it, and I think that the people who think there is must never have been to a genuinely nice, un-spoilt village, It is dirty, grubby, sleazy and felt dangerous and un-friendly. There is genuinely nothing of interest in this village (it is in fact big enough to be called a town). The beach (I cannot remember the name) beside the hotel is equally unsavoury. Avoid it.
All in all, this is not a place I would recommend or ever visit again. If someone is looking for a true Mexican luxury experience, I suggest they check out some of the beautiful, good value and luxurious hotels from 'Mexico Boutique Hotels' - we stayed in 2 of these, and the standard of service, style and ambience of the properties, quality of food/drink was all wonderful. Everything the Casa Que Canta was not. The heyday of this hotel has long past, sadly - don't go here if you are a discerning traveller... you have been warned!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RachMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at La Casa Que Canta and were treated like royalty! It was the best service we have ever experienced and we have stayed in a number of nice hotels. The surroundings were stunning, the food was fantastic and not as expensive as we had anticipated, the room we had was in a private residence and was large and beautifully decorated, it was such an amazing stay! Most importantly, I cannot say enough about the service. Everyone whom we dealt with from the person who checked us in, to the butlers who took care of us, paid attention to detail and were extremely friendly and pleasant to deal with. They really thought of everything while making you feel right at home in their beautiful surroundings. Someone would not be disappointed if they chose this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KariVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

5 day stay at this wonderful resort. Our suite had a great terrace and incredible view of the bay. Common area, pools, fitness ares and spa all exceeded our high expectations. The staff went out of their way to make everything perfect. The restaurant had very good food in a special setting with great service. Sunset cruise arranged by hotel with wine was marvelous. Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
543 reviews
5.9 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#11 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#14 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#19 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Que Canta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Que Canta

Property: La Casa Que Canta
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Colonia Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Casa Que Canta 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Que Canta is a small luxury hotel with essence, history and a personality of its own. Located in Zihuatanejo next to the beautiful La Ropa beach, this hotel offers unrivaled panoramic views. Built with Adobe bricks, palapas and tropical woods, the unique architecture of La Casa Que Canta is an icon on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. It's 25 Oceanfront ample suites, spread out among three buildings, all have spacious terraces and 180-degree views overlooking the bay. Considered The Most Romantic Hotel by famous magazines, and travelers. The hotel was chosen for a famous Hollywood movie called "When a Man loves a woman". Since our opening 25 years ago, we are proud to be amongst the best Boutique Hotels of the World. Our pursuit of constant improvement and excellent service has granted us multiple awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Casa Que Canta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo
Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing