We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awesome!”
Review of La Casa Que Canta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Casa Que Canta
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just Awesome!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 5 year annivesary at La Casa Que Canta. This was our fourth trip to Mexico having previously vacationed twice in Playa and once in Puerta Vallarta. Each experience has been memorable, however; our stay at La Casa Que Canta was absoulutely fabulous! The combination of this excellent boutique hotel and the scenery of Zihuatanejo Bay are hard to beat. Our Master Suite (#23) with private pool exceeded our expectations in every way. Thanks to all of the staff for making us feel as much at home as possible, even though home is nothing like La Casa Que Canta. We also ventured into town and ate at several different restaurants, which I would suggest, just to get a flavor of the town and culture. I would not hesitate one moment for the opportunity to return to the wonderul destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maverick59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    35
    10
    10
    3
See reviews for
52
369
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spectacular! The hotel was designed to give the most amazing views.
Private and many lovely nooks to hang out in and pretend you own the property.
The staff is impeccable in their service and friendliness.
I have only stayed once......and always come back to eat at the restaurant or watch the sunset on the verandas.
L
O
V
E
!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEBMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. It was incredible! Our room (22) had a pool and a spectacular view. Our room was immaculate.

The architecture is fabulous. The service and food were top notch!! They always make you feel like family.
Love this place as always!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LIzzyElder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a beautiful boutique hotel carved into the side of a cliff overlooking Zihuatanejo Bay. Our room (#8) had a breathtaking view of the city, the bay and the Pacific Ocean. The hotel staff were wonderful and treated us like family. The food was delicious - we ate every meal at the hotel, except for lunch one day in the city. The two swimming pools were awesome (especially the saltwater pool), and the spa was very nice. If you are looking for a romantic getaway that is an alternative to a large, commercialized resort area (like Ixtapa), Zihuatanejo is the place, and La Casa Que Canta is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in #8, which was awesome. Every room appeared to have the same amazing view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We came for our anniversary and everything exceeded our expectations. We found the facilities, the staff and the food to be exceptional. We felt pampered at all times. At every opportunity the staff looked to enhance our experience. We highly recommend if you are looking for a place to unplug and remember why you fell in love...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HHW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Beautiful hotel and accommodations, amazing room, architecture and views, but that's about it. Restauarant and overall food quality is less than mediocre, nothing inventive or special and way over priced, slow and inattentive service. The worst of all is the poor customer service demonstrated by the hotel management, defensive rather than apologetic, inability to understand and deal with the problems and issues at hand, and then later claiming ignorance. La Casa que Canta is a gem, but a diamond in the rough. People may enjoy their experience for the exceptional accommodations, but typically don't come back due to poor customer service - at least I will not be back.

Room Tip: Higher room, if reservations will pay attention
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pf80206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaCanta, Gerente at La Casa Que Canta, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear PF 80206,

We have taken the time to carefully read your comments and they have certainly created concern and uncertainty. Why?
Looking at our records, we have not found precise information about your stay, therefore being unable to attend the problems you mentioned, lack of attention and attitude of our management. It is a surprise as we have been recognized for making every possible effort to provide our guests and clients with the best service.
You also gave us a poor rating on our "cuisine". We have received many positive comments and awards for quality. Please let us know what was not to your liking, so we can improve it.
Be kind enough to inform us of the circumstances that led to your dissatisfaction, so as to take the right corrective measures.

Respectfully,

Ana Maria Frias y Teresa Arellano
Management Committee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed there for a weekend. We were given a very nice suite with a plunge pool in the adjacent building to the main hotel. This building holds around 8 rooms and include butler and Chef service. All the staff was always trying to make you feel literally at home. The only downside of this hotel is that the beach, even though it is accessible, it is not really a part of the hotel. Food all over the hotel is superb! Would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a romantic getaway without children and you don't mind about the beach that much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChuRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
543 reviews
5.9 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#11 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#14 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#20 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Que Canta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Que Canta

Property: La Casa Que Canta
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Colonia Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Casa Que Canta 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Que Canta is a small luxury hotel with essence, history and a personality of its own. Located in Zihuatanejo next to the beautiful La Ropa beach, this hotel offers unrivaled panoramic views. Built with Adobe bricks, palapas and tropical woods, the unique architecture of La Casa Que Canta is an icon on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. It's 25 Oceanfront ample suites, spread out among three buildings, all have spacious terraces and 180-degree views overlooking the bay. Considered The Most Romantic Hotel by famous magazines, and travelers. The hotel was chosen for a famous Hollywood movie called "When a Man loves a woman". Since our opening 25 years ago, we are proud to be amongst the best Boutique Hotels of the World. Our pursuit of constant improvement and excellent service has granted us multiple awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Casa Que Canta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo
Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing