We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Perfection”
Review of La Casa Que Canta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Casa Que Canta
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed July 2012 for our honeymoon. It was peaceful, beautiful, private and romantic. The hotel offers quaint luxury rooms and world class food. This is not your over-sized commercial condo style hotel. We absolutely loved our private dipping pool and sun lounges. There's almost no need to leave your room! During our stay, we attended a cooking class hosted by the chef and really enjoyed the personal touch. Additionally, the spa and couples massages are amazing and the tour guide recommended by the hotel was friendly and informative. This is service you can trust with a secluded escape from reality.

Loved the area and plan to return. Highly recommend. Oh, and if you want the air conditioning turned on in the gym before you head over, just call the front desk :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLWilwerding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 570 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just returned from our second trip to La Casa. We stayed there four years ago and I can't believe we waited four years to return. The location, property, rooms, food, and staff exceed all expectations. While we have stayed at several exceptional places in Mexico between visits, nothing compares to here. A few highlights:

Location -
The great thing about La Casa is the location. You fly into Ixtapa, are able to cruise through customs, take a short ride to the hotel, and can start relaxing. I think it took approximately one hour from landing to be in our bathing suits and poolside with a drink in our hand. The hotel is set among various levels in the cliffs overlooking Zihuatanejo Bay. You sit above the beach and can see the village and main fishing dock. Amazing sunsets.

Property -
Built into the cliffs and with the sea breeze, the property is open. The restaurant, lobby, walkways, etc are open air. While open, they are protected in the event of rain with a recently added library/restaurant that can be enclosed if necessary. The grounds are immaculate (like most hotels in Mexico, they are always cleaning, painting, repairing, etc. to keep it pristine in the tropical environment) with beautiful fauna, palm trees, and meandering walkways. Two pools, a beautiful negative edge pool overlooking the bay, and a saltwater pool on another level. There are various sun decks with chairs, so even if all chairs were taken, you wouldn't feel crowded. My wife used the spa and really enjoyed it. They do have a nice workout room with amazing views. The equipment looked nice, but I will admit I was eating, drinking, and relaxing, not working out.

Rooms -
The rooms are great. We stayed in a terrace suite with a plunge pool. My wife did look at other categories in the event a room we want is not available in the future. She said they were all good size and nice, the main difference is the size of the terrace. Our room was immaculate. We travel quite a bit for business and pleasure and cleanliness is extremely important to us. This was perfect. The room opened up to the bay and had great ventilation. With the sea breeze, we only needed the A/C at night. The terrace was large with lounge chars, seating area, and dining table. We had breakfast here each morning. I can't think of anything that could have made the room better.

Food -
We did a meal plan that included breakfast and either lunch or dinner. The food was exceptional in both presentation and quality. Everything is fresh and local. I will admit, we were there to relax and chill, and did not eat elsewhere during our stay. We love fresh seafood and were fine with that every night. The staff made several dishes for us that weren't on the menu and were very accommodating to whatever we wanted. If they had it or could get it, they would do it. I will put the chef and food up against any other. Again, outstanding.

Staff -
Here it is difficult, that staff is that good. Probably some of the best service we have ever had. I remember how good it was when we were there before, but you kind of forget how good it is. All staff members, from house keeping, grounds keepers, desk staff, service staff, and management are great. As a small resort, the staff, at pretty much all positions, know your name when you first meet them. Housekeeping does a great job and if you need or want something different (such as in the mini bar, toiletries, pillows, etc), they will do it. The service staff is accommodating to whatever your needs are. They remember what you like to eat and drink, will have it before you have to ask and will make suggestions. The management team (there are a few, but we mainly worked with Terese and Ramona) are onsite, visible, and are constantly working with staff. They are truly amazing. While no one is intrusive, they are always available and will make sure that you have whatever you want or need.

You may be asking if it that good, the answer is yes! There is a reason why Travel and Leisure and Conde de Nast, always rate this as a top, romantic resort.

Since our first visit to La Casa, we have stayed at approx 10 other resorts in Mexico, all were very good or exceptional, this is the best.

Thank you Terese, Ramona, and the rest of your team! We look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

First we must sincerely apologize for being so late in posting a reflection on our stay at La Casa Que Canta. We were fortunate to stay for a week in early March and fully intended to share our experience upon return. Not sure we can add much more than an endorsement of what has been shared by others. La Casa Que Canta is a most beautiful hotel, perfectly situated on a bluff above the bay. A short walk to the beach in one direction, a stroll to town in the other. While we ate at a few other fine restaurants while there, none was as enjoyable, of better quality, or in a more beautful setting than ours at La Casa---alfresco dining at it's best. We enjoyed a choice of pools, and lots of special places to lounge, taking in the sun overlooking the town and bay. But as beautiful as the setting, facilities and our room, it was the staff that made things even more special. We have found a new favorite city and place to stay in Mexico!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Attended a destination wedding at this resort. It was outstanding. The service, food, grounds, pools. All staff had an excellent command of English

Room Tip: Would recommend a room with a private pool. We didn't and should have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifismartcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just spent four days of bliss at this fabulous hotel. The staff was incredibly helpful, professional and one step ahead all the time. The hotel has a spectacular location, perched on the cliffs overlooking the bustling bay of zihau. Sitting on the patio having breakfast watching all the fishing boats was heavenly. We travel the world and have stayed at many beautiful spots, but this is one we will return to. A romantic, beautifully appointed, quiet, elegant and peaceful treasure not to be missed.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrsweitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just returned from a four night stay at La Casa Que Canta. Not only did the hotel, the service and the setting wow us but we had the most incredible opportunity of being the only guests there for a bit our of stay....total luxury.
The property is set against the cliffs of the bay with an unobstructed view of the pacific. The hotel's pools are a perfect way to cool off after a day kayaking or hanging at Playa Ropa. Although we did do some sightseeing in Zihuatanejo, I do not necessarily recommend leaving the hotel vicinity. One worthwhile activity is to rent kayaks from a lovely beach sport center next to the Intrawest Hotel and kayak to Playa Las Gatas. There you can eat amongst the locals and have a beer before paddling back to Playa Ropa.
The service at the hotel is fantastic. You are never without a cold glass of lemon water and the restaurant is wonderful.
Enjoyo your trip. It is really outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace. It is really special to have breakfast or a late afternoon beer with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzannaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I'm not usually one to write reviews, especially on a place I like to kind of keep to myself, but I feel so compelled and obligated out of the sheer unbelievable experience my wife and I just had, I must. We are just back from a 13day stay were we got married and honeymooned at LCQC in Zihuatanejo. I really can't put into words how perfect a place this is and the staff are... it's really a very top notch, well run property. My wife and I went to visit the property for a quick weekend trip back in Feb. and decided that weekend that this was the spot to be married. Luisa, Letica and the entire LCQC staff were unbelievably helpful in every single detail during the wedding planning and the 3 day event itself. It all went off without a hitch and better than even our wildest imagination could have gone. I was first turned onto the idea of Zihua by a friend and former colleague who was also married there a few years back. He's been traveling to the area for over 10years straight and has had nothing but high praises for the area. When I mentioned to him we were contemplating Zihua and specifically LCQC he told me that I absolutely could not go wrong or do much better than this spot. And without a doubt, it was. This is probably one of the best hotels, staff's and spots in the world and that's not just coming from myself (with wedding blinders on), but some very experienced and well traveled guests that attended our wedding. I knew everyone was going to love the spot, but I was very curious how a few of my 'hotel snob' friends would like it---They all said they will be going back. In fact they were leading the charge for us to have a 5yr anniversary party there. As for the area, we never felt unsafe and went into town several times. I was informed by a staff member that the police have stepped up their presence in the area just because they don't want people to feel unsafe while visiting. Maybe my view is a little simplistic, but I view the cartel wars no differently than the Mob wars much of the 20th century or gang wars now in any major city in America. It's territorial in-fighting and like any place in the world, if you travel with respect, smile and are courteous, than you shouldn't really have many problems. To that point, both of our parents and their friends are a little older and were a bit concerned to say the least due to the massive amounts of news coverage on Mexico these days. Needless to say, they loved every minute of it and freely ventured into town, La Ropa beach and just about everything in between. To say we were depressed when we left to come home was a serious understatement. It truly is an unforgettable experience and I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to have a nice, romantic getaway with their spouse or some close friends. The staff is unbelievable in every little thing they do and attention to detail is perfect. They pride themselves on their work and truly believe/work as a family unit and want you to feel apart of their family. Without a doubt, Mateo and Amy will be heading back for many years to come and visit our family at LCQC. Muchas Gracias Luisa, Leticia and staff. You helped make memories that will last us a lifetime!!

Room Tip: If you're going, get a room with a splash pool. It makes your experience that much more spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
5.9 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#10 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#22 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#14 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Sol Resort
Villa del Sol Resort
#11 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Que Canta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Que Canta

Address: Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Colonia Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#1 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $478 - $1,143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Casa Que Canta 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Que Canta is a small luxury hotel with essence, history and a personality of its own. Located in Zihuatanejo next to the beautiful La Ropa beach, this hotel offers unrivaled panoramic views. Built with Adobe bricks, palapas and tropical woods, the unique architecture of La Casa Que Canta is an icon on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. It's 25 Oceanfront ample suites, spread out among three buildings, all have spacious terraces and 180-degree views overlooking the bay. Considered The Most Romantic Hotel by famous magazines, and travelers. The hotel was chosen for a famous Hollywood movie called "When a Man loves a woman". Since our opening 25 years ago, we are proud to be amongst the best Boutique Hotels of the World. Our pursuit of constant improvement and excellent service has granted us multiple awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa Que Canta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo
Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing