We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Que Canta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Casa Que Canta
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hotels in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We've been in La Casa que Canta twice. Both for our anniversaries. We plan to visit it every year. One of the best hotels in the world, with the best service and the best food. Even though the beach is just 50 steps away you have a perfect view to the sea, the waves crash into the rock cliff amazingly. By far it is the best restaurant in Zihuatanejo (if you're not staying there, you should make reservation to have dinner). it has two amazing pools (one with a view to the bay and the other one with salty sea water), great to relax. Zihuatanejo is just 10 minutes away. It is a beautiful Mexican town with great tacos, restaurants, shops and bars. Safe place to spend vacations, safe place to travel, safe place to go with friends, family or for a romantic escapade.

Room Tip: If you're into EXCELENT service (rather than great) ask for El Murmullo, a small house with thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    35
    10
    10
    3
See reviews for
46
356
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

A friend and I decided to take a short, 4 day trip to relax and recharge. We were a tad worried that we would be out of place among couples and honeymooners but our worry was totally unwarranted. We had an amazing time for a number of reasons. 1) The staff is amazingly friendly and warm. From Laura, who greeted us at the airport, to the restaurant staff and room cleaners, everyone is incredibly inviting and nice. 2) The hotel itself is beautiful. Perched on a cliff over the water, the views from every level are incredible and there are dozens of places to sit and watch the sun rise and set. Our room had a great deck, as do all the rooms. 3) The service is definitely 5-star. From the fresh flowers in the room, to the service at the pool and restaurants, you won't be disappointed. They bring you cool wash clothes, smoothies, water... whatever they think you need. They also knew it was our birthdays and totally took care of us. 4) Internet. I am one of those people that can't disconnect and the wireless worked flawlessly the entire time I was there. 5) Gym/Spa For a small hotel, the amenities and service was great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miwohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I went to La Casa Que Canta last year and all these months later, we still think back on that week as one of the best of our lives.You could not ask for a better hotel in our opinion.
The hotel is beautifully appointed. Our room was spectacular – spacious with a breathtaking view and an amazing balcony from which to watch the sunset before dinner. The pool areas were more beautiful than the pictures imply and afforded each guest a feeling of seclusion from other guests with their many nooks.
When we arrived, we had dinner reservations at other local restaurants which we promptly cancelled after our first meal at La Casa. The food at the hotel rivals some of New York’s best restaurants.
And the service is second to none! From the moment we arrived, the hotel staff was attentive but not overly so, meeting our every need but giving us privacy and the space to relax. Whether remembering which kind of water we preferred or taking us back into the kitchen to watch the chef make his amazing ricotta pancakes when we mentioned that we loved them, the small touches truly made our trip!
Coming to this hotel is the experience of a lifetime. We couldn’t recommend it highly enough and are already plotting our return!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong but the Master Suites (with the plunge pool) add that special touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here six years ago and just returned from our anniversary trip. We couldn't have had a more enjoyable trip - La Casa Que Canta is without equal in our opinion. The service, food, ambience, room, etc. are all as good as you'll get. And the ritas...oh, the ritas! Thanks to the wonderful staff, most of whom we remembered from our honeymoon, for another outstanding experience. We look forward to the next one!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbharkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

I have been travleing in Mx. for 30 years, but even I think twice now when I go, and this is not only the Best Luxury Hotel in Mexico, but they make you so safe. They porvide a person to meet you at the airport and transport you to the beautifully decorated, small (20 room) luxury hotel on the cliffs of La Ropa beach overlooking the Bay of Zihua. I stayed in Juana Gallo, a 1500 ft. room with plunge pool. Awesome and the private patio is great. Free wi-fi that works and 2 gorgeous pools--1 infinity fresh water pool with a great view and lower, over the rocky edge of the bay, a salt water pool more beautiful than I can describe. The food is also great and the service pampers you, but does not smother you. It is for adults, which is smart when you see the location--visit their site and remember the photos, while amazing, do not do the place justice--so get the grandparents to watch the kids and get away for a REALLY romantic week.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mightymouseSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

This hotel has the absolute wow factor. It hits you in the face as soon as you enter and check-in. No photo's can do justice to the privacy and views of this hotel. It simply oozed romance and relaxation from start to finish.

The rooms are so spacious and have unbelievable views. They have exquisite spacious balconies that are superb for just chilling out on. And I am talking all the rooms here, not just one or two. Breathtaking.

The two pools are well documented and fantastic. What is less so is that with the design of the hotel there are so many private spaces for a couple that you can feel like you are the only ones there. When combined with the fantastic product and attentive (but not overly so) service, that is definition of true luxury in my book.

There are numerous little touches that the hotel does that are great (the flower patterns on the turn down, special dinner spot, daily fruit drink around the pool, free mini-bar etc...).

The spa was also fantastic and one of the better ones that I have been to. Our 80 minute Mexican treatment was pure bliss. Exfoliation, wrap, massage. I wish I was back there now.

We took a look at Amuleto and from what we saw we would return here. It's location is MUCH better.

Only things to improve - (1) Zihu as a town itself (how LP can call this a slighly grown up fishing village is beyond me - in fact it may be true but there is little sense of that in town!). We ventured out each day only to want to return to the hotel. (2) Perhaps some of the food for dinner (some was a little too made for US palates for our tasting and we probably hoped for a little better). This was really only an dinner. Everything else was perfect. And that's it. We had 5 days and that's all we could come up with.

Overall, would I recommend. ABSOLUTELY. I already have to numerous friends. Would I reurn? ABSOLUTELY. I only wish it was tomorrow!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Everything about our vacation was incredible. The ambiance was amazing. The view for dinner was breathtaking and very romantic. The room was fantastic. If you want to be romantic or just have total relaxation this is the place. You would not have to leave your room if you didn't want to. Ther service was 5+ and the people were amazing.
Hello to all the staff - Teresa, Aureilio, Artemia (flower child) Mel, Adriana, Manuel, Tony, Fredi, Armando, Tony, Patty and Abel. (I hope I didn't miss anyone) The food was superb.
The Chef was very personable. On our last day the chef served us from beginning to end with his own specialties. Thanks it was superb! Walking distance only 20 minutes to the fishing village(town). Lots of restaurants all within walking distance. This hotel is located on rocks so you have to walk down the hill to the beach. 2 min. Great exercise. The only (1) thing that was missing was some music. Not all the time but maybe on the weekend, where you can listen to tunes and enjoy the view. All and all we loved it and we will be back. Excellent. This is an Adult only hotel. You have to see it to believe it.

Room Tip: The Grand suites. Master suites (Plunge pool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattiandluiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
5.9 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
6.7 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#6 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#10 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#18 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Que Canta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Que Canta

Property: La Casa Que Canta
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa La Ropa | Colonia Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Casa Que Canta 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Que Canta is a small hotel with essence, a history and a personality of its own; a true tropical paradise. Located on a promontory in the middle of Zihuatanejo Bay next to the beautiful La Ropa beach, this hotel offers unrivaled panoramic views. Built with adobe bricks, palapas and tropical woods, the unique architecture of La Casa Que Canta is an icon on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. Its 25 ample suites, spread out among three buildings, all have spacious terraces and 180-degree views overlooking the bay. In this peaceful and refined world, attentive to the passage of time, we have created a universe with attention to details and with the uttermost respect for our guests and their well being. Loyal visitors tell us that each time they arrive at La Casa Que Canta, is like returning to a beloved family. Since our opening 23 years ago, we are proud to be amongst the best Boutique Hotels of the World. Our pursuit of constant improvement and excellent service has granted us multiple awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your La Casa Que Canta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo
Casa Que Canta Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing