We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will have so much fun, you will want to do it again!”
Review of Patio Mexica

Patio Mexica
Ranked #123 of 324 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
willis, tx. usa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will have so much fun, you will want to do it again!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is my 2 nd class with Monica and I have learned so much! The 1 St class @ the Mercado was informative for identifying specific herbs, cheeses, vegetables, fruits & more. I had been before by myself, but Monica helps you to navigate it successfully. As for the cooking portion, everyone can read a recipe, but visually seeing the recipe prepared makes all the difference! Monica adds her delightful personality and special tips and techniques to the class and the final reward is a sampling of all the wonderful dishes prepared. Take along a pen because you will want to write down tips and she usually throws in a surprise recipe you'll want to remember! Don't forget to tip your host for a memorable experience! Happy Cooking!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mole with Monica - fantastic!”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had so much fun spending the morning with Monica at her cooking school. She was so nice and very informative. And the results were amazing. I can't wait to make this delicious mole at home. It is true - Rick Bayless watch out! Monica is awesome!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss this !!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Monica is such a lovely woman and a great teacher. We had breakfast at her restaurant before leaving with her for a short walk to the local market. We learned so much about local foods and their Aztec history ... the trip through the market was well worth twice the price! When we got back we learned how to cook several local foods and had the most delicious beans I have ever had!
Don't miss this part of your trip here. It is an experience of a lifetime!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved going to the market and learning to cook with Monica.”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Monica is one of the nicest people you will meet. She brought us to the market and showed us different fruits and food and let us sample them. It really was fascinating now when I'm in zihuatanejo next year I can shop the market. Then we went to her home and cooked an ate. Next year we will take another one of her classes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, FL
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We didn't get a chance to take the cooking class but we ate here several times. We'd walk down the hill from our hotel and have a great breakfast. We even made a stop for lunch one time coming back from shopping. One of the best values there! We'll be back next year.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigeldkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patio Mexica also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Patio Mexica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing