We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, nice food, great service”
Review of El Bistro del Mar

El Bistro del Mar
Ranked #33 of 326 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Lovely views, nice food, great service”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Las Brisas del Mar and went downstairs to the bistro every morning for breakfast - admittedly not the cheapest option, but by far the prettiest and most convenient! The breakfast menu was very good with a wide range of Mexican and international options. Staff couldn't have been more attentive. This was true throughout the day when they also looked after us while we lounged at the Brisas beach next to the bistro. We also had a lovely and extremely tasty dinner there by full moon on our first night and wish we had had time to go back another night. Gracias Martín!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NCVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    61
    20
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Beachfront, beautiful presentation”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a lovely restaurant with very helpful staff. The menu is extensive and there should be something for any taste. Nice wine selection, beer OK as the selection is limited to 1 Mexican supplier. Complimentary tiny appetizer of cheese empanada was great as was the Mexican tomato, avocado and cheese salad. (Amazing plate presentation) Main course choices were extensive but we selected shrimp with mango salsa as many of the options including the shrimp special were served with mashed potatoes. Shrimp with good, salsa very flavorful...but too hot(i don't mean hot spicy)....and the meal came with mashed potatoes!! Overall very good ....but in a large city this would only rate a good. Price - about 440 pesos including drink, but no dessert.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank calie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A good choice for Zihua”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Six of us were going for dinner including two teens so we had to be careful in our choice. Four don't like spicy, and weren't ready for the local places my wife & I like. Bistro de Mar is located on Playa Madera, right on the beach and the place has a classy feel to it. Real wood tables and proper glasses and cutlery, as opposed to many of the places on La Ropa, with plastic tables, and mismatched everything. The prices are higher at Bistro, but you get what you pay for. The menu is extensive with a varied selection of seafood, meat and they had some specials - one was abalone, which is not offered many places. They have a reasonable wine list, and now they seem to keep them at a lower temp than in the past. We had a nice variety of dishes - salads, prawns, chicken mole. I loved the grilled eggplant with goat cheese I started with. My chicken mole was a bit stringy, but the flavour was good. Everyone was pleased with the service, food and location. It is more expensive than other restaurants in Zihua but certainly not the most, but the quality seemed better than on past visits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent service, great food.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a great little restaurant located at Las Brisas hotel. If you're getting tired of seafood, try one of their pizzas- served from noon to six every day. Everything else on the menu is also good. Great atmosphere on Playa la Madera.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank peasmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of Zihua's Best”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We visited Bistro del Mar for the first time on our most recent visit to Zihua and we will certainly return. The service was outstanding as was the setting directly on Playa Madera. The food was also excellent. Fresh seafood and creative takes on traditional Mexican food. The menu itself was quite unique for Zihuatanejo as there were many wonderful choices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Capt-Canuck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bistro del Mar also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to El Bistro del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing