We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Tamales y Atoles Any (Restaurantes Mexicanos Any)
Ranked #11 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Latin, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Thief River Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Sits on the corner and what a great Mexican cafe. We made two visits this year and enjoyed each one. Food and service was very good and we will return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mngal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    101
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

There are a few restaurants in Zihua that are truly authentic Mexican, and this one is one of the best. They offer traditional dishes, and although the menu is all in Spanish, the wait staff are more than willing to help you make your decision. The enchiladas mole were over the top excellent, and my wife swears the tamales with creme sauce is the best meal she has had so far. Speaking Spanish is a plus here, but by no means an absolute skill in order to enjoy the great food coming out of their kitchen. The only thing we didn't care for was that the night we were there they had a singer there that was too loud for conversation. We had to ask him to turn it down. As a musician, that is something I rarely do, but it was needed in this instance. Maybe it was his first night there :-).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PenguinRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“one of the best places to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

we had the shrimp and wow was it ever good. All their food is great as well as drinks. And the bathrooms have great sinks and toilets that go with the local feeling. I would highly recommend coming here for more than one dinner

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This colorful, casual indoor-outdoor spot is right in town, perfect for stopping by after wandering around. We had a very tasty lunch of pork enchiladas (huge portion) with green sauce and tamales with mole (absolutely delicious), washed down with two Victorias.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best tamales, great posole”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This place is famous around Zihua and with good reason: tamales are absolutely outstanding. Great service, fun atmosphere, locals seem to love it as well. Also the posole is a must try: ton of food, incredibly flavorful. We've been twice, and would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MplsMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamales y Atoles Any (Restaurantes Mexicanos Any) also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Tamales y Atoles Any (Restaurantes Mexicanos Any)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing