We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Favorite”
Review of Rufo's Grill

Rufo's Grill
Ranked #32 of 326 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Description: From steak to seafood, vegetables to burgers, anything that Rufo can throw on his grill he does -- and to much success, too. The outdoor restaurant fits perfectly with the charcoal grill flavors, fresh corn tortillas and hearty homestyle portions that makes Rufo's so popular. There's often a crowd during high season but it's worth coming early or staying late to get a taste. Rufo is a personable host and takes extra effort to make each customer's experience unique and fully satisfying. He has even been known to bring out a large platter of grilled steak, ribs, fish and shrimp for a group to sample when they can't make up their mind. There isn't a huge bar selection but the margaritas are strong and the beer is cold. On a hot Zihuatanejo night, what more could you ask for?
Casper, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a Favorite”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We visited Rufo's during our recent visit. We are never dissapointed. Our party included 8 people and the restaurant was busy when we arrived. Our service was excellent. We received our meal in a reasonable amount of time and everything was cooked perfectly. Rufo served several dishes himself and checked back with us at the end of our meal. The grilled fish was outstanding. I love the relish and salsas that accompany the meal. My only complaint was that we were not able to make it to Rufo's a second time before we left.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginger-n-wyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    90
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We ate at Rufo's two years ago in Zihua and again this year several times both for breakfast and dinners. The location can't be surpassed, it's right on a corner at the bottom of a hill where there are several hotels and condos. There is some utility and street improvement work in progress, so be careful, but it is worth it. The seating is so comfortable and natural with a lot of green plants around the restaurant. At night, it's lit just enough and really cozy. The food, is outstanding. I have enjoyed the grilled pork chop which is my favorite. ALl of the grilled fish is excellent also. Rufo is concerned of all his guest's needs and stops often to ask how things are. The young lady who waits the tables is so articulate and polite. This was our first dinner in Zihua this year and a memorable one. We had Flan to top off dinner, it was super!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank billymn723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Zihuatanejo!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

There are actually two different restaurants at this charming little open-air location. In the mornings it is Patio Mexica, serving breakfast and lunch (till 2:00). Very good, but a separate restaurant, and this is about Rufo's, which is there at night.

Rufo himself is always there, and is a very friendly, enthusiastic guy who makes everyone feel like family. The menu is all grilled items, and they are all delicious. I'm a particular fan of the pork: a delicious, juicy chop al pastor, and excellent BBQ ribs. But the fresh fish and the shrimp are also fantastic. The service is fast and friendly, the prices are extremely reasonable, and there is usually live music. Totally unpretentious, but totally wonderful. We go several times whenever we are here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drsteveallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“BBQ in Zihua”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Rufo's was just down the hill from our hotel and had dinner one night. I had the ribs and they were different, but very good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank otwadoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent and cheap!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

They have music at night and the fish was great! Much more affordable than at the hotel. During the day this is call Patio Cafe. They have great mole but we had problems with the service the second time and ended up leaving along with several other people.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank aparadox4u2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rufo's Grill also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Rufo's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing