We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm trees and bougainvillias”
Review of Villas del Palmar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas del Palmar
Reviewed February 22, 2009

If you want a laid back relaxing sort of a vacation resort, this is it!
The villas are comfortable, with fully equipped kitchens. THe pool is beautiful. The lush tropical foliage provides cool shade but there is ample space for sun-worshipers.
Villas del Palmar really offers great value. The area is quiet but only a few minutes from the best beach in zihua/Ixtapa. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance (a great pizza restaurant next door) but a bus stop or a taxi right out the front door. My wife and I walked into town almost every day (about 30 or 40 minutes).
Other reviewers mentioned Ruben. Ruben Gonzales and his wife Yvonne are great hosts. Ruben is around every day to make sure you have a good time. His suggestions about restaurants and places to go were terrific. Real Mexican food that we would not have found by ourselves. He even took us to some of these places.
I've already booked our villa for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2gcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 40 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2009

Villas del Palmar is a gem. We were looking for a quiet, clean, safe and beautiful place with a pool and a kitchen within walking distance of La Ropa beach. Villas del Palmar delivered that and more at a reasonable price. It's a serene oasis nestled in a palm grove. The gardens are very pretty and full of butterflies. The pool is divine, always has some shade and as someone else mentioned, the shallow edge is perfect for kids or just staying cool.

Ruben, the owner, is a treasure. He picked us up from the airport, drove us into town and to the beach when he had time, and took us to a nearby village for an authentic Mexican meal. (BTW, if you go, definitely do this and eat as many carnitas as you can - with mescal of course) The regulars at this time of year are extremely friendly New Yorkers who make for wonderfully welcoming neighbours.

The walk to the beach (at La Perla) is less than 5 minutes. The walk to Pati's is less than 10. The weather is perfect. The beach is beautiful. The water is warm. A cab into town takes less than 5 minutes and is 30 pesos, or take the collectivo (bus) for only 5 pesos. Both pass by the front door regularly during daylight hours.

We stayed in 2A, which is the top two floors of the second building (be aware that the pictures on the website don't match with the descriptions of the suites - they're all jumbled) The first floor is your bedroom and bathroom and the top floor is a palapa roofed kitchen/dining room/living room. The suite was really nice - not 5 star fancy nice, it's not that kind of place - but attractive and comfortable with lots of handmade detail. The kitchen was sufficient for our needs. The bedroom was cleaned and the bed made everyday, but never the kitchen. The sheets and towels were clean but worn, so if you're planning on staying for any period of time, or if you're picky about these things, bring your own. The hammock led to much happy napping.

We also stayed in one of the studios (the top floor) for a few nights which was fine, but not as nice. Get a villa if you can. Book early, because peak season is often really booked up (although we snuck in with a last minute booking, so you never know!)

As someone else mentioned, there is now a pizza place next door, which doesn't create a noise problem at all, and does provide really good pizza delivered to your villa. Try the chicken mole pizza if you get the chance.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

My family and I stayed at Villas del Palmar for 8 days this Christmas. We were, first of all, very happy with our choice to stay in Zihuatanejo rather than Ixtapa. Zihuatanejo proved to be more authentic and more interesting than Ixtapa, which is little more than resorts.

We absolutely loved Villas del Palmar, too. The Villas are about a 5 minute walk to Playa la Ropa, which was our favorite beach. You can get to downtown Zihuatanejo on foot in 20-30 minutes or by taxi in 5 minutes for 30 pesos. We stayed in an upper unit that had two bedrooms, a kitchenette, and balcony. The size was perfect for our family of four. The bungalow was beautifully designed and provided a relaxing atmosphere. We loved the rustic decor and the surrounding landscape.

More than anything, we loved the staff. Ruben, the owner, was always eager to give suggestions on good restaurants, beaches, etc. and helped us set up surfing lessons, too.

We would recommend Villas del Palmar to anyone looking for a place to get away and are hoping to make it back sometime soon!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelswithcarlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

The stay here was wonderful. We stayed here for 9 days with another couple and our 2 children ages 7 months and 8 years. This place was great for the kids as the oldest had safe and fun space to run around. He even got friendly with the staff of teenage boys and would go and see them in the morning during their morning duties.
The lush folliage surrounding these bungaloes is truly breathtaking and something to be enjoyed everytime you walk out onto your balcony for a gorgeous view. The flowers and trees surround the natural stone pool as well and make relaxing in it even more pleasureable. The pool is a great temperature, clean and so much fun. There is a shallow perimeter which was great for the kids to play in and also for lounging in chairs so just enough of your body is in the water. There is also a waterfall that wasn't working at the time we were there but can be imagined to make the pool look end feel even more like paradise.
Getting to the villas is easy and off of a main road. This also makes geting to Playa la Ropa and local restaurants easy as well.
The rooms were cozy and comfortable and with AC and lots of natural sunlight as well. The stucco and tiles gave this place the authentic Mexican feel.
The staff here are so very helpful and kind. They will bed over backwards to help you and are available 24/7 on the property. This compond feels very safe and has a gated entrance where the staff lives. Ruben the owner is nicer then words can describe and is a true joy to spend time with and get to know. He will help you in your adventures in town and recommend only the best for your desires.
I would recommend these villas for anyone who strays away from the beaten, all inclusive path!! Have fun!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kdizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

A group of 7-10 people over the 2 weeks of April 5-19, 2008 stayed in 4 of the 6 units at Villas Del Palmar in Zihuatanejo. The units are located 150 meters south of the police kiosk near La Ropa Beach. The walk to La Ropa beach is about 600 yards.

The owner, who is a delight, is Ruben Gonzales Burgos. He is onsite daily and his helpers, 3 brothers live at the entance gate to the property. Ruben speaks English and the brothers speak Spanish.

We paid $110 - $130 per night depending on size of the rental. The 2 main buildings are 4 stories each and situated around the pool...2 units in each one. All units had kitchens with many dishes, pots and pans, some appliances. Drinking water was supplied along with toilet paper. A lot of the bedrooms were air conditioned (very quiet AC). There were ceiling fans everywhere including outdoor patios.

The architecture of the units is exceptional...palapa roofs, terraces and open patios, all in a coconut grove. There were mosquitos during the second week, but hardly any after Ruben sprayed insecticde around the villas.

The birds and a few roosters and burros nearby were noisy in the morning. We became used to them and thought it added to the charm. There is road noise from passing trucks and cars...another thing everyone got used to. Ruben has just finished a pizza restaurant on the south end of the property adjacent to the pool with plants screening it. I don't know how late the restaurant is open at night or if this would add any noise.

We all enjoyed the stay and had no problems. It was a beautiful place to live for 2 weeks.

Transportation is easy. We just walked out the gate and flagged down a taxi or the bus into town. The bus was really fun.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasialouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Excelente lugar para disfrutar con amigos, un poco retirado pero se disfruto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LorenaAlvarado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Pierrette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
2.9 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Tradicional Savaro
Hotel Tradicional Savaro
#35 of 63 in Zihuatanejo
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Hotel Villas Paraiso
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
83 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#43 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas del Palmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas del Palmar

Address: Paseo La Ropa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Zihuatanejo
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These six exclusive villas are ensconced in the heart of a palm grove and surrounded by tropical growth, where you will be able to enjoy the most excellent vacation interlude while still being within a short 4 or 5 minute walk from popular La Ropa Beach in Zihuatanejo, Mexico. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing