We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice! ”
Review of La Escollera

La Escollera
Ranked #57 of 248 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Price range: $250 - $785
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: IMPORTANT : Open from December 15th to April 15th every day 1h p.m.to 10hp.m. The rest of the year: WITH RESERVATION ONLY for groups (10 to 300 persons) Restrictions apply. Restaurant with mainly B.B.Q. charcoal grilled meal. The only restaurant with infiniti pool open to the public with panoramic view of the Zihuatanejo's Bay. (minimum consomation of $250. pesos per person)
Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem with one of the better views you will find. Eleven of us went for lunch and spend the day in the nicest pool I have been in in the area. Everyone was very happy with their lunch. Prices were very fair, and you received a lot of food. I was told the ribs were the best. I agree!

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank swreptile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laescollera, Gerente at La Escollera, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Thank you very much to take the time to write a comment, it is very nice from you and your group. We are the only restaurant in the area with an infiniti pool open to the public. The hours for the pool are from 13h to 18h every day and the restaurant from 13h and receive the last client before 22h pm.

Celine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 117 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2016

We went because we'd heard there were fantastic views, good food and an interesting tour involving local animals. We were not disappointed. We ate lunch by the gorgeous infinity pool. We each had large margaritas; very large and very strong. You might want to consider the smaller size. I had a delicious seafood soup. My wife had a tasty crab salad served in an avocado. Service was good.

The restaurant and the warm, inviting pool provided spectacular views of Playa Las Ropas.

Easily the high point of our visit was a delightful tour of the premises with the French-Canadian owner Celine. She has assembled a small, informal and interesting collection of local flora and fauna. Her tour is interesting and informative. Her passion for the local critters is palpable and she makes you excited, too, especially if you're into nature.

There are lots of places to go and things to do in Zihuatanejo, but few have anything to do with nature. If nature and beauty are high on your list, don't miss this one.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Kitso4384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2016

Thank goodness we took a taxi there as I'm not sure we could have made the climb. I had the Marinated Arrachera which our waiter recommended. Beautiful flavour however a bit on the tough side. My husband had the dorado fried in almonds which he loved. For desert I had the Mexican Coffee while he had the Banana Flambe. Both were fantastic. The service was good. View fantastic.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank waltra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2016

This continues to be one of our favorite Zihuatanejo destinations for fine dinning. Celine, the hostess, is charming and always goes out of her way to may our experience there special. The great food and excellent service made this our choice last night for our 40th wedding anniversary. Good food, good wine, good friends a great hostess and restaurant with a million dollar view make this a repeat.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ted61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laescollera, Gerente at La Escollera, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Thank you Mr Ted, See you next year. You are both great persons. Always a pleasure to have you at the restaurant.

Celine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016

Four of us went for the steep climb up the hill, in a taxi, thank goodness!! The cost of the New Year's Eve meal was 3000 pesos for the four of us, not including drinks. The view was spectacular overlooking Playa "La Ropa" and there were sporadic fireworks until the big fireworks display at midnight. The view and the fireworks were the best part of the evening - the food was not! The menu was pre-set with a choice of entree; filet, shrimp or dorado "Stuffed" with shrimp and cheese. We started with a salad, which was good, followed by lobster bisque which was so fishy two of us couldn't even eat it. The men had the filet which was mediocre and the women had the dorado which was served in a foil pouch and had no flavour at all and the "cheese" was a liquid - resulting in a very unappetizing meal. The service was very good, but I certainly wouldn't go back.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ransclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Escollera also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 

Been to La Escollera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing