We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Exceptional!!!”
Review of La Escollera

La Escollera
Ranked #80 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always Exceptional!!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We visit La Escollera every time we stay in Zihuatanejo. We have spent afternoons at their pool and had lunch/drinks there. You can wear your suit or change in their bathrooms which are very clean. We also try to have one or two dinners there every year. It is the BEST view of Zihuatanejo!! You can see La Escollera very easily at night......they are on the hill with the long, straight string of lights. Food is always wonderful and the setting is lovely.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoy the sun and a swim”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

If for no where else to go, you must go to La Escollera for lunch and wear your bathing suit under your clothes. The view is beautiful of La Ropa bay, the endless pool is fabulous and that's about it. The food is average and the staff is somewhat bothered by you coming. I take friends and family there every year (for the past 4 years) and it hasn't changed ... neither has the staff. Don't order a ceasar salad ... they don't know what it is. To them, it consists of only two strips of lettace and something drizzled on it ... not worth the effort or the $. The drinks are watered down, so you might as well drink water. It doesn't interest me to eat dinner there, when there are better places with just as wonderful a view in the area below. If they didn't allow you to use the pool (up until 5 PM), I think their business would fold. They need to get their act together.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You do not want to miss this wonderful gem of a place”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I visited this beautiful paradise for our 10th wedding aniversay upon the advise from your neighbours in Zihuat. We arrived at 1:00pm when they open and were greeted graciously. Pool chair lounges were brought out for our enjoyment and the day began. The view is spectacular. We enjoyed drinks around the pool and had a wonderful lunch. At 6:00 the waiters start to prepare for dinner, setting up tables with fancy linen and candles. We changed from our swim suits in the clean washrooms and then were shown to our dinner table for our magnificent dinner; which included fresh lobster that was brought in that day. This is a must visit restaurant to enjoy a whole day and feel very welcome.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
151 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“no better view (or margarita) in zihuatanejo”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Beautiful restaurant high above the bay, with a view over everything, and a lovely terrace pool. Many Zihua restaurants brag of their great views, but this restaurant offers the most spectacular view that we have experienced. Also on premises: a "biopark" with a botanical garden and a mini-zoo. I am a margarita aficionado and the frozien one I was served at Escollera (made with Jimador) was the best I had this whole week, during which we ate out every night.. Dinner was very good - creative and fresh (dorados - mahi mahis - my dining partner liked her almondine better than my choice of two sauces - spinach and peanut). Not our best meal in Zihua, but a very very good one - and definitely worth going back for the views and cocktails. It is off season and a hurricane passed by here the other day, so the town is empty and we had the place to ourselves. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Really a special and lovely place that we hope to visit again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profegringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Amazing , the perfect word to describe the place”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The place is just perfect to hang out with the family , the food is just too delicious and it's not expensive .
Also , it counts with a big pool where children or adults can have fun in and an amazing Eco-tour , they show you different kinds of insects , lizards , flowers , animals , spiders , snakes , etc.
The tour leave me just speechless , I'll recommend it to you a lot , just perfect to teach us about the great responsability we have to take care of our beautiful world .

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cansas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Escollera also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to La Escollera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing