We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you like to be bored by consistently good food then eat here”
Review of La Sirena Gorda

La Sirena Gorda
Ranked #43 of 326 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“if you like to be bored by consistently good food then eat here”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I travel to zihua every year 3 or 4 times every time i do i eat here at least twice. per visit.
that is between 30 or 40 times i have eaten dinner. I have always ordered exactly the same food. smoke fish tacos. I am back in canada now. getting ready to fly to hong kong and i can't stop thinking about fish tacos. ok i am booking my flight back for january. hhmmmmmm smoked fish tacos.. This last trip i did visit for breakfast i had the apple raisin walnut pancakes also yummy

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank curbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    61
    27
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK, overpriced, many better places to eat”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The restaurant is right off the beach in the marina across from where fresh fish is sold. Very touristy. I had the Mahi which was overcooked and a very thin fillet had decent flavor but not as good as even the hotel Villa Vera where I was staying. Clean and typical for a restaurant in tourist ground zero. Far, far better place is Mariscos Leo but it's a little out of town on the hill above Villa Vera Puerto Mio Hotel. Only a 5 minute walk from there. Their business in 80% locals and the menu was unique and flavorful.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F350OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“good but not great fish”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This pleasant place near the end of the malecón, across from a naval base, offers good fish and other dishes (such as hamburgers). I had a simple filet in adobo, which was very good - served with guacamole and beans, and a tasty salsa verde. It was good, but not great in a town with many better options. Service was attentive (it should have been - a quiet Thursday night in the off season, June, there were only two tables). Prices were reasonable - a range of fish taco choices under $100 pesos.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profegringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best fish taco in Zihuatanejo”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

While walking through the market in Zihua we stopped to eat at La Sirena Gorda - we were drawn in by the sign! I ordered a smoked fish taco and it was honestly the best taco de pescado I have ever eaten! If you're planning a trip to the market in Zihuatanejo make sure to visit La Sirena Gorda.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reganhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Glen, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

My wife and I were walking down by the pier and found this place. It is a great location for people watching. We shared some fish tacos that were very good and an order of ceviche which was good but different. It was in a red sauce and I asked the waiter what it was, ketsup. He said you can order it with ketsup or without. I prefer the without.

    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank appleman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sirena Gorda also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to La Sirena Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing