We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Zihuatanejo

“Wonderful”

Restaurante Mar y Cielo
Ranked #17 of 256 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $120
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mar y Cielo offers delicacies from Mexico's rich culinary heritage and breathtaking views of the bay. Seafood Specialities from Zihuatanejo and the Mediterranean.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Everything about this restaurant is excellent. Food, service and location. Close to passing Tentaciaones as our favorite in Zihuataenjo.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank kelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana F, Director General at Restaurante Mar y Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kelem,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our “Mar y Cielo” Restaurant.
It is always comforting to know that you enjoyed our cuisine, service and location.
Your appreciations give us the motivation to improve.

Respectfully,

Ana Maria Frias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 271 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

We had New Year’s Eve dinner here which was really very disappointing. We had eaten here a couple of years previously and been quite impressed. The setting is great, but the waiter allocated to our table, Venustiano, is incredibly patronising to foreigners and aggressive in asking for tips that he doesn’t really merit. The food was quite basic - the menu mentioned foie gras crostini (plural) when we were each given one, the size of a postage stamp topped with some liver pâté, not foie gras. The first course was fine, but also very small. The main course on the ‘special’ menu had a choice of steak or lobster which my wife had. There was a laughably small amount of lobster with a lot of vegetables. The steak was very good. The cheesecake pudding was a pathetic example which neither of us ate, but nobody asked us about. All in all, this place is really designed to fleece tourists and thinks it’s rather smarter than it actually is. There are so many better options in Zihuatanejo.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank JeffCypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana F, Director General at Restaurante Mar y Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Jeff Cypress,
As we are constantly analyzing our guests’ comments, your late one came to our attention. Clearly, from your point of view, nothing was valuable during your evening and we are sorry to hear that.
Fortunately, you are the only negative one out of 70 guests we attended that night of the 31rst of December and even since the last 8 months. Contrary to you, a high number praised the quality of our evening special menu.
What you call “small portions” is not the reality as a toast and 4 course dinner are not small. If you wish, photos can support our stand for others to evaluate.
Finally, the added service was clearly stipulated on your menu so you could decide what to give and we do not see this as an offence.

Respectfully,


Ana Maria Frias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I chose Mar y Cielo to celebrate our 12th anniversary. We arrived early for the sunset, and it was stunning. My favorite part of the whole experience was sitting at our table rail side and feeling as if we were floating over the bay.
The food was a mixed bag. The salsa made table side in a molcajete was delicious. We had aguachiles and paella as starters. They were both good, if unspectacular.
As mains, my husband chose the steak special, a Brazilian picanha, which he enjoyed very much. I chose the whole red snapper, steamed in banana leaf, and served with a pineapple salsa. While the fish tasted fresh, the steaming preparation gave the whole affair a mushy texture that I wasn’t prepared for, and was overly sauced. The jasmine rice that accompanied it was delicious. (When our server brought out the fresh fish options, we were surprised by the choices, which included a small barracuda and a sierra, neither typically synonymous with good eating.)
We both had the ice cream with coconut and chocolate sauce, which was also very good.
The drinks were good, and all the servers were pleasant. I would absolutely recommend going here for the lovely ambiance alone.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank ThreeBeasties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana F, Director General at Restaurante Mar y Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Dear ThreeBeasties,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our Mar y Cielo Restaurant.

Your comments are very valuable to help our staff improve our standards and be more attentive to details.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Respectfully,

Ana Maria Frias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

There are better places to watch the sunset and bigger shrimp served elsewhere. The staff were the best part.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank _bevarmstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana F, Director General at Restaurante Mar y Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Dear _bevarmstro,
We thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with us at our Mar y Cielo restaurant.

We are surprised to read that you did not consider our 3 courses menu with 15 choices worth the price. We believe that 68 USD is a reasonable amount in today’ s world, considering the quality level of our ingredients and preparations, the staff service, location and spectacular view.

We hope that you may consider dining with us again in the future.

Respectfully,

Ana Maria Frias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019

We were gladly surprised by the quality of Mar y Cielo, a restaurant housed in a boutique hotel called La Casa que Canta. It is one of several restaurants in the Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo area with spectacular view. It has a prix fix approach and the selections for starters and main dishes seem limited at first. Don't be misled. Anything you order here is well prepared and flavorful. The service was excellent. A salsa was prepared on a molcajete at the table side, our server took his time to explain the process and the ingredients, it was very tasty. On to the food. Heart of lettuce salad was excellent and so were ravioli. Main dishes were also very good. My wife had a pasta with shrimp, it is quite good but not outstanding. I ordered a whole steamed fish with oriental noodles. It was moist, delicate, flavorful and not too salty. Best prepared fish I had in Zihuatanejo where they tend to overcook fish. Wine list works well and the prices are on par with the setting.

The chef came by to chat, a talented fellow (Felipe) who took his time to explain his approach to cooking. This was greatly appreciated.

The restaurant operates on a rotating menu basis depending on the season. Currently, it is a four day rotation. We wanted to return and try another menu but, unfortunately, weren't able due to heavy weather.

It is a pricey restaurant on par with places in NYC but the food is worth it. This was the only true fine dining experience during our visit to this resort town. I strongly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marc0sf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana F, Director General at Restaurante Mar y Cielo, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2019

Dear marc0sf1,

Thank you for sharing your detail comments about your recent experience at our “Mar y Cielo” Restaurant.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the spectacular view, the staff service and our cuisine.

It will be a pleasure hosting you again.


Respectfully,

Ana Maria Frias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Mar y Cielo also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 

Been to Restaurante Mar y Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing