We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The margaritas were great and the view is spectacular.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kau Kan

Kau Kan
Ranked #196 of 320 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The margaritas were great and the view is spectacular.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

We watched the sunset while sipping margaritas on the rooftop. The food was good with delicate presentation. It was my wife's birthday and the staff decorated the chocolate pecan cake with a candle and wrote happy birthday on the plate. Go for the specials. We had marlin steak and red snapper adobo! Muy sabroso!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    13
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

The best meal that we have had here in Zihuatanejo. We arrived early, about 6 pm and were rewarded with the prized corner table on the upper deck patio with beautiful views over the entire town and coast line. The service was excellent as was the food. We shared an aspargus tart to start and it was excellent. My wife had sea bass on a bed of fresh vegetables which was fresh, well cooked and very flavorful ($300 pesos). I had a beef filete with mashed potatos which was tender, cooked to order and very good ($300.00 pesos). Although a little on the expensive side, the entire evening including the beautiful sunset, city view, good service and food was definately worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tahoetraveler2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
115 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best creative food, very good value, and romantic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We've gone here on 2 previous trips, and were not disappointed. The rooftop setting is so beautiful, with the view of the lights in the hills. (we weren't there early enough for sunset). Once again I had the marinated abalone, which I remembered so fondly, and it was better than ever. So tender and delicious. Followed it with octopus with tomato confit. The BEST octopus I've ever had, in Italy, my own... Very tender, and charred from the grill, so very tasty. My husband had a crab and cheese tart, tuna stuffed with seafood, and eggplant with goat cheese. All with great service.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chefnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Splendid food, wine and view from the terrace – everything you need for a great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We experienced Kau Kan restaurant last October and had a fantastic evening/night on the terrace. Starting off with a nice aperitif, we were later shown the menu as well as the chef’s recommendation on a black board.

As a starter I had a simple tomato soup, which tasted greatly delightful. My experience is that especially in the ‘simple’ dishes you can distinguish the great from the good chef. Later we had steak and fresh fish, both extremely tasty. Remarkable as well the homemade bread assortment.

Service needs a little bit to catch up with the rest of the restaurant to maintain the guests happy during the night. We were waiting too long for our second dish, but enjoyed the wine in the meantime...

All this, you can enjoy at the beautiful terrace overlooking the bay of Zihuatanejo with cozy lights and sufficient space between the tables. All in one, we simply loved it and will return at our next stay.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MexicoViva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“They even cater!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I attended an event at a private home and Kau Kan was the caterer. Everything I tried was delicious. If I still lived there, I would try to eat there as often as I could afford.

Helpful?
Thank NisaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kau Kan also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Kau Kan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing