We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Applebee's Mexicano”
Review of Coconuts

Coconuts
Ranked #14 of 326 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Price range: $4 - $29
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Zihuatanejos oldest building serving excellent food from a seasonal menu and cocktail list since 1979
Avila Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Welcome to Applebee's Mexicano”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Yes this place serves food and drink. The problem is the service is slow and the food is tastless. If you want to over pay for average food you have found the place. It does have a very nice ampiance. The service was slow and food was cold when served. Save your money and go to La Casa Vieja or Tamales.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TunaSlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminCoconuts, Owner at Coconuts, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Unfortunatly it appears as though you had a negative experience dining with us and for this ofcourse I must sincerely appologize.

Due to a staffing issue Im sure you dinned with us 2 nights ago and that issue would have reflected in a less attentive service... but rather than make excuses Id simply like to invite you and a companion to try us once again, Im happy to pick up the bill.

Im 100% confident in the quality of our product and we work very hard to right our wrongs and continue to improve our buisness. I noticed your negative remarks on our guest comment cards and sent my partner who works the floor to address the issue but unfortunatly you had already left so we couldnt personally reslove the issue and invite you back.

Thankfully you left this msg and I have a chance to show you the care we take in keeping our guests happy and perhaps if you choose to return an opportunity to showcase the kind of food and service we strive for and that many other tripadvisor reviews have enjoyed experiencing

Best regards,
David Dawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    75
    28
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upscale hidden treasure”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Very posh and upscale for Zihua! We took one look @ the menu and opted for the bar to just get drinks and tapas. We weren't ready for the prices! our own fault! LOL! But beautiful atmosphere and attentive staff. Great place for a special occassion dinner or just want to get dressed up for the nite and eat at an expensive restaurant.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank liliglm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips at the Bar - Brilliant !”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The new decor, ambiance, food and drink prices at the 'new' Coconuts are perfect for a quality night out with friends and family. This is now a "must try" restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grappa135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

recently changed hands
some remodeling - the bathrooms are very nice now
the important items on th menu remain, as do the core staff
expensive, but worth it

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renorichdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As good as it gets!”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I've been going to Restaurant Coconuts since the 70's. It's always been a great choice. The food has always been delicious, good service, great atmosphere but this year they have taken the place to new heights. The newly renovated place looks gorgeous. The food is better than ever. Chef Dave Dawson is brilliant he has created a very tasty new menu
The food is better ever. Make it first on your list so you'll have time to try it twice. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsylosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconuts also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Coconuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing