We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff, English speaking”
Review of Casa Elvira

Casa Elvira
Ranked #56 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, English speaking”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We ate there twice, the first time for drinks and a snack for lunch during the close encounter with Hurricane Raymond. The restaurant is very clean including the bathrooms. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We liked it so much we went back for a full lunch and had the whole red snapper. It was probably the best red snapper we have ever had. The fish was fresh caught that morning.

The restaurant is on the bay so it is in walking distance from all the hotels and shopping including the flea markets.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AkronTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    40
    11
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great red snapper & friendly staff”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We ate breakfast once and dinner 3 times during our two week stay. The red snapper was the best my husband ever had. The snapper was cooked whole and was big enough to stay moist. The seafood pineapple was also excellent. We went fishing and brought mahi to Elvira's to fix for us. They made three great preparations and served it with rice, veggies, bread, etc. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, NE
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We experienced a good breakfast here overall. Eggs, bacon, hash browns (not crispy) toast, and tortillas. Fresh squeezed OJ was nice, but the coffee was only lukewarm. Prices were good, most options were about 40 pesos. I'm sorry, I do feel obligated to mention when the server brought out the sugar packets, there was a small cockroach in the container. Let's face it, they're probably in every kitchen down there. . . you always risk it when you eat out. . . that being said, it did give me the heebie jeebies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 68juls86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geyserville, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Casa Elvira”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hmmmm. This restaurant gets my lowest rating for my whole trip to Zihua. I had heard great things by reading the reviews on TA so I was pretty disappointed when I actually dined here. We had found the artisan market near the pier in downtown and Z was in low season so not many tourists. The waiters were out front barking at us to come in which I don't really mind but its somewhat annoying. We weren't starving so we went in for some nachos and a shrimp cocktail. The nachos were chips with beans and cheese microwaved over the top then some day old guacamole in the center. Most places we went in Z made the quac fresh when we ordered it and believe me, you can taste the difference. The shrimps were rubbery and the cocktail sauce was, well, not the best in Z.
I hate giving bad reviews but what happened next was too much for me. One of the waiters dropped his cell phone... I looked back after hearing the noise and said, hey it happens. They kinda laughed. As I had turned around, I had unknowingly dropped my wallet on the ground as well. A few minutes later, the waiter came to me and said hey, you better keep track of that wallet of yours. I looked around and there my wallet was on the ground. I said thank you and continued eating. We paid the bill, and as we were leaving the same dude approaches me and points to my pocket and says you better keep a close eye on that in a demeaning way. I felt like from the moment we walked in, they disnt really appreciate our business. I was like, whatever. This was the only encounter I had like this in all of Zihuatanejo. Sad really for a place that's been there for so long. I won't return. Sorry y'all. There's plenty of other resty's in Z that have the exact same menu and will treat you wayyyy better. Adios Elvira's

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeandMeliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, crummy food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I went in around 8 and was the only patron there (though not unusual since it's the low season). My server was extremely attentive and friendly, making sure i had everything i needed and was super warm and engaging. I should have listened to my spidey sense, though, and realized this restaurant caters entirely to tourists-its right on the beach,signs on the wall all in english, and there was a "mexican food" section of the menu...of a restaurant in Mexico! I had the mahi filet stuffed with shrimp. The shrimp had very little flavor and I'm relatively certain the diced green peppers and pineapple had been a frozen mix. Perhaps it's just the night or the season, but i certainly won't be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbrooksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Elvira also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Casa Elvira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing