We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale Watching”

Picante Sailing Catamaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cast off from Zihuatanejo Bay to the beautiful, secluded white sand beach and coral reef of Playa Manzanillo. Snorkeling, swimming and beach combing are the orders of the day. Set sail and keep watch for whales (in season), dolphin, sea turtles and mantra rays. Party back to the bay with a magnificent spinnaker run and anchor in front of Playa La Ropa for a ride on our 2400' spinnaker (wind permitting!). Open bar and lunch are provided.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very friendly staff, breakfast and unlimited drinks provided. Not much marine life was seen, captain was more concerned people got to swim than see whales.

1  Thank Vic2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PicanteCatamaran, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi Vic2164,
Thank you for noting about our friendly staff, as they do work very hard to try and please everyone. Unfortunately you came out on a day when the sealife was hiding; that does happen on occasion, and of course, we have no control of that. When that happens, the captain puts his best hat on and looks for an alternative to keep the guests happy - which happened to be swimming on that particular day. Hopefully you can come on board next year and we will have better luck, as you will see in other guest responses.
Thank you for coming on board and posting a review. Hopefully next time your review will be 5 stars!
Happy sailings to you and yours,
The Picante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 115 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had an absolute blast on the Picante Catamaran!!

The entire experience was a 10.

Unfortunately, we had a miscommunication between The Picante and ourselves when we tried to book a day sailing trip for about 20 of our friends down in Zihuatanejo for our wedding. We showed up at 10:00am for our sail and they were not ready for us (I think they were expecting us for the sunset sail). Instead of telling us that they couldn’t take us out, they scrambled to fill the boat with booze and food and within 15-20 minutes we were sailing!! Captain Tony was GREAT!! The staff on board was a blast too. The boat has a full bar and fresh fruit and chips/salsa/guacamole for breakfast and we were served a full lunch (which again, the owners and staff bent over backwards for us by having our lunch delivered out on the water via water taxi because of our miscommunication). They take you out to Manzanillo Bay to go snorkeling (I think this is probably the best snorkel spot around) and cruised us back (with several drinks in hand and dancing with the rest of the crew) into Zihuatanejo Bay to “parasail” behind the boat with its 2400 square foot spinnaker sail. What a blast!!

If you are down in Zihuatanejo or Ixtapa the Picante Sail trip is a MUST!!

2  Thank SamAlhadeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PicanteCatamaran, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi SamAlhadeff!
Things do happen on occasion, and we are so glad that you were so understanding and we were able to get your sailing party going as fast as we could!
It is always a pleasure to have repeat 'guest sailors' on board, and it is a testament to our awesome crew that you chose to come out and celebrate your wedding on board the Picante!
Thank you for your wonderful review! we look forward to your return - maybe you will do the Sail and Snorkel as well as the Magical Sunset Cruise next time!!
Happy Sailing to you and yours from the Picante Crew!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

A very relaxing sail aboard a very clean and well maintained boat. Captain Tony, an expat from NY, loves what he does, cares for the sea and the life in and above it. The crew was great, good drinks, fresh fruit and breads. This is not a long sail but you see a lot if you watch. Birds, dolphins and other sea life. A great morning with a very knowledgeable captain. Several sets of binoculars were provided along with a detailed binder on the sea and bird life. I'd recommend this trip to anyone especially if you do not want to be gone a full day. The Picante is the way to go.

1  Thank FiveOaks61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PicanteCatamaran, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi FiveOaks61,
Thank you for your nice review! Captain Tony certainly is knowledgeable, and our crew is awesome! We are very pleased you enjoyed the trip and got to see lots of life in our waters. Please let us know what we can do to earn the 5th star in your rating. We appreciate all input!
Happy Sailings to you and yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fabulous...went out today on great boat, Picante, a catamaran that took us about 6 miles out of Zihuatanejo bay to a grouping of large rocks that have a huge rookery where there are pelicans, frigates and other wild sea birds. Captain Tony was extremely informative and gave us a great running dialogue of what we were seeing, interspersed with nice music. En route we saw a huge humpback whale that entertained all of us by flipping his tail before diving...the cruise let us into the water near the rocks---unbelievably refreshing ocean water! And then one of the boat mates caught a Bonita tuna fish and all of a sudden we had the freshest sashimi ever. Wow..this is a trip not to be missed.

1  Thank Chef6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PicanteCatamaran, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi Chef6161!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your sailing with us, and that you were kind enough to write that glowing review! Thank you! Our crew does work very hard to please everyone, although we cannot take credit for the sealife appearing on cue!
We hope to see you on board again soon!
Happy sailing to you and yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My partner and 4 others took the Pacific Explorer tour on the Picante in late January 2013. We had an excellent time.

We arrived around 8:30 a.m. for a 9:00 departure. Everything went smoothly, even when a large tour bus arrived just a few minutes from 9:00. Everyone found a good spot to sit, in sun or shade. Drinks were served immediately, including soda and water as well as mixed drinks and beer. We took a little swing around Zihuatenejo bay, looking at the various beaches, then headed out to sea.

Just a few minutes out we saw a whale tail very close to the boat. The captain gave a nice presentation about the bay and the rock formations and general overview of its natural history. The sea was a bit choppy, but you couldn't tell at all aboard the boat - very, very smooth.

We visited the boobie (no, not THOSE boobies) sanctuary just off the coast. There we were able to take a dive into the water and paddle around a bit. We looked at some caves in the large rocks, then turned back and headed in. Normally they see turtles and dolphins too, but we didn't see any on this trip. Just something to look forward too next time. I would definitely go again, well worth the money.

1  Thank donco6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PicanteCatamaran, Public Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Hola Donco6!!

Thank you very much for posting that awesome review! We are delighted that you all enjoyed sailing with us and that at least a few of our sea friends came out to say hello to you - even if just to wave a tail. It is honestly just as amazing to us every day, as no trip is the same; we never see the same things twice!
As you saw, the natural setting of our coastline here is incredible. We hope you were able to catch a glimpse in your photos!
We look forward to your return visit sailing with us!
Best regards to you and yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante Sailing Catamaran also viewed

 

Been to Picante Sailing Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing