We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sunsets”

Picante Sailing Catamaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cast off from Zihuatanejo Bay to the beautiful, secluded white sand beach and coral reef of Playa Manzanillo. Snorkeling, swimming and beach combing are the orders of the day. Set sail and keep watch for whales (in season), dolphin, sea turtles and mantra rays. Party back to the bay with a magnificent spinnaker run and anchor in front of Playa La Ropa for a ride on our 2400' spinnaker (wind permitting!). Open bar and lunch are provided.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing sunsets”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The staff on this trip is amazing. Always smiling, friendly and helpful. I've taken the sunset cruise twice and even the second time it was still amazing. There is no better way to relax and enjoy friends, family and the ocean than this excursion! Highly recommend this to everyone who isn't afraid of having fun :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishiwas0nvacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PicanteCatamaran, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hola, Wishiwas0nvacati0n!
On behalf of all of our amazing crew, I would like to thank you for your glowing review!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed coming out with us - twice - and we all very much look forward to your next visit! Come sailing again soon!
Best Regards to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    10
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountlake Terrace, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best way to see the sunset!!!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have visited Ixtapa for many years and always saw the boat come by the hotels. This was our chance to see the hotels from the water side!!! Also, the afternoon that we went was the only great sunset of the 10 days we were there - rest of the days were really hazy late in the afternoon and the "sunset" was quite high in the sky... We really enjoyed our time on the boat - Captain Tony and his crew were the best!!! Good food and open bar - what could be better??? Would totally recommend this to anyone spending some time down there... Reservations were easy - just called when we got there!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Miles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PicanteCatamaran, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments! We are please that you took the time after so many years to come sailing with us, and saw for yourself that we are not the traditional 'booze cruise'.
Of course, we cannot take credit for the awesome sunset - but we are so thrilled it turned out so perfect for you, and that you share our love for these waters, shoreline and this area of Mexico.
We are also glad that you found the food on board satisfying, although it is really meant to be a snack vs a meal on the Magical Sunset Cruise, something to keep your tummies happy until getting back on land. In any case - we are happy your tummies were just that - satisfied!

Again, thank you for your glowing review; our entire crew is grateful to know they are appreciated. We look forward to your return and to serving you again on board the Picante.
Best Regards from all of us on the Picante!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to Z-town just for this”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went to Zhuatanejo for the first time four years ago and took both the sunset cruise and the snorkeling trip the next day, both were an absolute blast. Be ready to party, this is not a trip for introverts. The crew will engage you in the fun, and you will remember this for years. The snorkeling trip was incredible, and we swam with eels, starfish, angel fish, etc. The weatther in Z-town ais always cruising weather. The best value in vacation fun by far. So much fun we had to come back and do it all again. Thanks to the captain and crew of the Picante - We'll be back.....

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Broncos_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PicanteCatamaran, Guest Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi, NotHappyinReno!
It sounds like you are happier here in Zihuatanjeo, on board the Picante!
I apologize for the delay in responding to your review, as it just now caught my eye. I wanted to thank you for your glowing review of our crew and our cruises! Next time you are in town, check out the Picante's Pacific Discovery cruise to add to your list!
We hope to see you on board soon!
Happy sailing and best regards to you and yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

A must do when in Ixtapa or Zihua... Amazing scenery... Capt Tony is delightful as are the rest of the crew members. Several families with young kids, older folks, and everything in between. Fun to watch a few of the 20-something's drink themselves into oblivion... Other reviews are correct that you don't want to depend on the food as your dinner... A couple pieces of bread, some chicken with onions and peppers, and a little broccoli salad... served on a plate if you wanted some... A nice bit to go with your drink(s).. Alcohol and beer flowed freely! So sad that tourism is down in Zihua... We always felt safe... the people are wonderful and dealing with the poor economy just like we are in the US. Hope it picks up for them!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank twincheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome! Lots of fun!”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great fun. We went on the snorkel trip, the captain and crew were great. Even though there were a lot of people, it didn't seem crowded and there was plenty of food and beverage. It was worth it, the time and money!

Helpful?
2 Thank Revnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PicanteCatamaran, Public Relations Manager at Picante Sailing Catamaran, responded to this review, February 16, 2016
Hola Revnette,
Thank you so much for posting your review! Our crew works hard to please everyone, whether it be a few or a big crowd. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Come back soon!
Best regards to you and yours,
The Picante Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante Sailing Catamaran also viewed

 

Been to Picante Sailing Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing