We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea food, big portions, cheap prices”

El Coleguita Mariscos
Ranked #52 of 1,020 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $17
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great sea food, big portions, cheap prices”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Puerto Vallarta is one of the best city´s in Mexico in terms of food. You have great and luxurious restaurants, tasty taco stands, and places like coleguitas, with no-pretense environment, fresh sea food, cheap prices, and you always leave very full. I must warn you that you will have to wait most of the time to get seated but they´ll give you a "caldo de camarones" and tequila while waiting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hgmnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    185
    53
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Everything they say it is”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Close to one of our favourites (Mauricio's) we decided to give this one a try after reading so many favorable reviews. The restaurant is clean, the serving staff knowledgeable and attentive and the food is very good. Portions are huge and the combinations of seafood are varied. The complimentary shrimp soup is delicious. The margaritas are very good and can be split between two people they are so big. We all enjoyed our meals and found the cost very reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anchoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh and affordable”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I love how before you even sit down they have complementary tequila already on the table. A lot of people seemed to be having a fun ol time. I was pleased how great the quality of fresh fish was and low price. I got the (huge) ceviche tostadas and they were about $2 each. I wish the waiters didn't make me feel so rushed.... Every time I set my fork down for a second they were trying to take my plate away. I wanted to eat every last bite!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“wow this was great”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

passed by here several times and never thought a place in the middloe of the road would ever have great service great food and great music
this place has it all
i ordered the greuso pescado or fat piece of mahi mahi and my wife had the cevishe
both were outstanding

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nuthin' Fancy, Just Good Food”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A local friend of ours in Puerto Vallarta, highly recommended this place. Boy was he right! Tequilla and dessert included with the entrees. We all ordered the special lobster, which is basically lobster, shrimp, fish and a side if rice all for one low price of $20.00 U.S!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EdmontonGottago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coleguita Mariscos also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to El Coleguita Mariscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing