We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Fantastic”
Review of Trio

Trio
Reserve with OpenTable
Trio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Hidalgo and Matamoros
Steinbach
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Still Fantastic”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Been here several times over the years..the service is great, the food is fantastic and the whole dining experience is first class. A great place to spend a quiet family or romantic dinner.
They always have great seafood, the catch of the day specials and chicken or beef plates and pasta dishes to choose from. You will always find something!
I cannot say enough but to try the place if you haven't yet, you will keep coming back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank vuerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    137
    45
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and Food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Food is a little pricey but it is well worth it. Both of our dinners were great, the service was tops, and this is the first restaurant you should visit when in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo99x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“You feel like you are in Hemmingway's Havana.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice. Great food, exceptional service and great atmosphere. It can get a little warm, but there is nothing else bad that you can say. You will feel like you stepped into 1950's Havana. Go and have a great evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Old World Elegance”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

If I only had one meal to eat in Puerto Vallarta in would be at Trio. I can find no faults here. Well, I guess we could quibble about the price which is substantial but it's lovely and so worth it.

It's such a pretty place. Very European bistro in style but where Kaiser Maximilian's evokes the North, Trio has more of a Spanish/Mediterranean vibe. Muted colors, soft lighting, formally dressed waiters within a glance to serve your every whim, and soft live music playing in the background. Did you hear that big sigh I just let out?

But, ultimately it is about the food that these talented European born and trained chefs put out. It is simply the best P.V. has to offer from the very luxe ingredients (rack of lamb) to the more humble rabbit and goat their preparations are creative but not silly. Solidly grounded in the European culinary traditions the food is simultaneously exciting and comforting. They do meats and seafoods beautifully as you would expect but the pastas are equally as wonderful. Like their little sister Vitea they offer many dishes in 1/2 portions which is particularly helpful with pastas which you can therefore order as a 1st course. Or, instead of committing to a full entree order a number of 1/2 portions and share to really sample the menu. A comprehensive, if somewhat expensive, wine lists has been chosen to pair well with the food.

Service is almost over the top. These guys have really been trained to anticipate your every need and are anxious to make sure that you are completely pleased. On the very rare occasion that I've had a problem (overcooked rack of lamb once) the waiter was on it immediately and chef was at the table apologizing profusely within moments and insisted on comping the entire meal. I wish I could give you advice on dessert but given the choice between overdoing it on the savory vs. saving room for sweets I take the savory every time

They participate in the Gourmet Festival and offer specials frequently like their "Month of Duck". Keep an eye out for what's new and happening in the local publications like the PV Mirror but you don't need to save it for special occasions. Trio is tops anytime. I would offer a couple of words about appropriate attire. Mexican resort dressy is how I'd best describe it - certainly, t-shirts, tank tops, shorts or flip-flops would meet with disapproval.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Celebrate!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We live here in Puerto Vallarta and Trio's is our favorite restaurant for special dinners. The food is always top quality and the service very thorough.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeastiePV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Trio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing