We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
Review of Trio

Trio
Reserve with OpenTable
Trio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Hidalgo and Matamoros
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I had read that Trio was one of the best in PV so we made a point go going this visit. It was disappointing. The servers were attentive, but in an intrusive manner. My wife had a beet salad that was really just a tomato puree, and her calamari dish was not as good as she had at Vitea. I had chicken paprika, which was very tasty and an ample portion. Excellent wine by the glass. An excellent restaurant by most standards, but we were somewhat disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    137
    45
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another visit to our favorite restaurant in Vallarta”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I agreed that we don't go to Trio enough. Last night we had another fabulous meal. She had something that was on the special menu and that was the sweetbreads over risotto. I had the Spanish shrimp which was over a sauce of tomato cream with pesto. It had bits of red onion. We had a bottle of Chilean Pinot Noir which was light but excellent. We started with the seafood soup which is one of their standards and it was excellent. Most of their dishes are available in a half size and full size. We have found that the half size is perfect for us. With an appetizer the half size is more than enough. My wife took some of her's home and had it for breakfast. We made a pact that we would go at least once a month. There are other good restaurants in PV but this is the best and most consistent. It should have a Michelin star.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waywuwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“In our top 3 in PV”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Just last week on my husbands bday we decided to take the recommendation from another restauranteur in PV and dine at Trio. Being a Thursday we didn't think a reservation was necessary. We were wrong!! We were welcomed into the bustling little place anyways by the gracious host and given a table at the bar until a dining table was available.
Everything was wonderful!
We started with a dirty martini & grapefruit margarita. Perfect!
Fresh breads and compound butter whet the appetite and were the precursor to the beef carpaccio & portobello bruschetta appys. I had the catch of the day ( sea bass) with lobster ravioli, light and delicious and hubby had the filet of beef, done right. Each of us had a glass of wine with our meals. Following cleaning our plates we were brought a molten chocolate cake and two cappuccinos. Again, fantastic!! Great end to a meal. Our total was $110 usd. Can't get a meal like that at home for under $150.

Helpful?
1 Thank Iansgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always great.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We go to trio every year and are always pleased above and beyond. We ask for a balcony table, there are only a few and only for two people. The service is excellent, wine selections by the glass are also great. Dessert with fresh berries is also a refreshing finish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreesonsNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't miss!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant since they first opened and it just gets better! The menu is interesting and offers something for everyone. Wait staff is extremely well trained and better than almost any I have encountered! The quality of the food is superb, it shows that the meals are created with pride and love. Always a delightful and memorable experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klmattocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Trio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing