We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty & the Beach”
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
Ranked #28 of 1,028 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Amapas
Description: La Palapa Restaurant combines gourmet cuisine, friendly service, and the tropical setting of Los Muertos Beach to achieve the perfect balance between fine dining and the warmth and charm characteristic of Puerto Vallarta Mexico. Located on Playa Los Muertos in the heart of the Romantic Zone, this popular restaurant is one of Vallarta's favorite places to enjoy great food in a casually elegant atmosphere. At La Palapa Restaurant you will discover all of the ingredients to a perfect dining experience - a relaxed atmosphere, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous food. No matter what the occassion, from breakfast with business associates or lunch with friends to a romantic dinner for two, La Palapa defines fine dining in Puerto Vallarta.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beauty & the Beach”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We made a return visit to La Palapa in Zona Romantica this week. On prior trips we came for drinks or lunch. This was our first try for dinner. We were not disappointed. We had a great table on the beach with a view of the new pier. We started with margaritas which were both tasty and strong. I had tortilla soup which was both a work of art and delicious. I followed with the Lobster Tacquitos which were superb as well. My wife tried Red Snapper for the first time and was impressed. The flavor was mild and the texture flaky but moist. There are many great views of the sunset in Puerto Vallarta and La Palapa provides one of them to go along with a scrumptious meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iceh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richieperez21, Public Relations Manager at La Palapa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Iceh2o,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We strive for the La Palapa experience to be unforgettable in every way. From the food, service and ambiance, we take pride in every detail being superb. We noticed you rated service as a 4/5 and value 3/5, is there anything specific you can tell us about your experience that we could improve? Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,555
    807
    287
    103
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“charming restaurant and wonderful food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A local recommended we try La Palapa and it didn't disappoint. You can dine on the beach or in the restaurant, both have a front row view of sunset. The staff was kind and friendly. Atmosphere is gorgeous and the food...one of the best dinners I've had. Fantastic live music. The Tamarind Margaritas and La Palapa shrimp were both awesome. Apps, (many) drinks, tequila shots, dinner AND dessert was less than $80USD per person. Will certainly come back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUERTO VALLARTA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best chilaquiles in town!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

As always treated the best way and having the best chilaquiles in town!! Great view and breakfast experience!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PICCINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“So good we returned for a birthday celebration”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

La Palapa on the beach was our choice for dinner our first night in PV. How spectacular it was. Our table was under a giant Arte de Mexico chandelier and actually on beach sand. Live music and the sound of the beach combined with torch light and a glowing sinking sunset to create a magical mood. Waiters were superb, cocktails good and our food was excellent and well presented. We followed up with sexy Mexican coffee prepared tableside and it was a show in itself. We decided to return later in the week for a birthday celebration. Hostess Karina Rubio helped plan the birthday party with me and when we arrived everthing was set up as promised. Another great meal, more flaming sexy coffee and a special birthday dessert. We even watched a young local couple get married on the beach just as the sun was setting. Cocktails, wine, appetizers, entrees, Mexican coffees and tip ran about $42 pp. Doesn't really get any better. A must do in PV. They also have a sister restaurant - Vista - high up in the hills of PV overlooking Banderas Bay and the city. Highly recommend as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeyondFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very good and beautiful sunset and storm”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were there in Sept 2013 in low season, so there were just a few of us there. The band that night sang beautiful music. The small group of us was awed by the Sunset and stood to take pictures.. The staff is kind and the atmosphere is wonderful. The food was excellent although we didn't follow our servers recommendations so we found the meals only moderate to our liking, but they were excellent meals. Cooked very well. They light torches at it gets later in the evening and the music is just so beautiful and the dessert yummy and a great bar. Highly recommended.
The only thing we found a bit tricky is when the men with guitars begin to sign a song for you, right before they start they whisper "this will be 40 pesos recommended" so you are in a strange bind caught at your table and not really able to say "stop playing". They sang beautifully although it was a bit awkward as we didn't have very many pesos left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank longtrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richieperez21, Public Relations Manager at La Palapa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello longtrails,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We have looked over the positive and negative points you have made and will be sure to talk to the musicians about the tipping. They are street musicians who walk around town and are not employees of La Palapa. We do however allow them to serenade our clients so you're point has been thoroughly examined and hopefully we can avoid confusion in the future. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you back soon!

Richie Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing