We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat on the beach”
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
Ranked #28 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Amapas
Description: La Palapa Restaurant combines gourmet cuisine, friendly service, and the tropical setting of Los Muertos Beach to achieve the perfect balance between fine dining and the warmth and charm characteristic of Puerto Vallarta Mexico. Located on Playa Los Muertos in the heart of the Romantic Zone, this popular restaurant is one of Vallarta's favorite places to enjoy great food in a casually elegant atmosphere. At La Palapa Restaurant you will discover all of the ingredients to a perfect dining experience - a relaxed atmosphere, attentive service, fine wines and fabulous food. No matter what the occassion, from breakfast with business associates or lunch with friends to a romantic dinner for two, La Palapa defines fine dining in Puerto Vallarta.
West Hollywood, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Eat on the beach”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Awesome guacamole and Margaritas. Right on the beach! This is also the best beach in Vallarta. The food here is great, although it is a little expensive. Service is excellent, and I have never had a bad meal here. Always one of my first stops in Vallarta!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,585
    817
    288
    105
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best romantic dinner on the beach!!!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I booked the "ROMANTIC DINNER" on the beach for myself and my partner.
The sand was raked, and rose petals in the sand walkway. Candles, tiki torches, and a wonderful set menu with wine pairing for every course. Our waiter was Alejandro (Fido). So good.
The before dinner martini was a pomegranet/hibiscus creation, with chili salt on the rim. Insanely good! We were treated with such respect, and as a gay couple, that is appreciated.
WE LOVED IT! SO WORTH IT!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradthepianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This restaurant has great food and is near the beach. Awesome service. We go here every time we go to Puerto Vallarta.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were greeted with such a friendly hostess that we were excited to sit down. That was the last we saw of anybody for quite a while. We had to ask for water 3 times before receiving, and when we finally did see a waiter he asked if we were ready to order before we had even looked at a wine list. I am sorry to say that the food, while tasty, was in VERY small proportions. We are not fond of the huge portions normally found in a lot of restaurants, so it isn't that we are overeaters - more like the dinner portion was an appetizer size.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KGGFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I wish I would remember everything we ordered but we had a great time and enjoyed the food, the service (Alejandro was great) and the view a whole lot. We even asked to be moved a couple times to sit on the beach and they quickly helped us. And then it rained and they quickly helped us move back inside.. My girlfriend was also not feeling well and the hostess was helpful to her as well. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing