We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great staff, great ambiance...”
Review of Hacienda Alemana

Hacienda Alemana
Ranked #124 of 1,020 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, great staff, great ambiance...”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The restaurant is superb -- the food & the ambiance, the open courtyard & the very cozy bar & restaurant. The live music was great; in the evenings we loved sitting on our balcony or at the pool and listening as we read or relaxed.

The staff is very attentive, very responsive...some of the best German dishes I've had!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    94
    37
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A German Experience in PV”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

German food at its best! It's like traveling to Mexico and Europe in the same trip. It's always a "Must Dine" every year!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant experience.”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

After many years of visiting PV, we just discovered this place and we are happy about that. We have had 3 meals and one visit to hear the wonderful Jazz duo, Beverly and Willow.
The visits have been on 1/2 price nights are always very good, especially considering how busy it gets. We went without reservations the first 2 times and were looked after right away. The last time we had a reservation but there was some confusion that day and we had to wait a few minutes. Everyone was apologetic and the wait wasn't long.
Others have described the setting, at least as well as I could. Suffice to say it is very pleasant.
Our meals have all been better than average, with quite large servings. The pork hocks (3) on our first visit, however was outstanding and my wife couldn't finish it, so we took the last one home and it was good as a left over.
They serve a little dish of pate with bread before the meal, perfect with a cold beer. It is so good we took home a container which was jammed full for very few pesos.
Our none-meal visit was on a Thursday when Beverly and Willow performed. We love this duo and wrote a review including them last winter at Cilantro on the malecon.
On this occasion we had the Spanish coffees and they were almost as good as the spectacular display of pyrotechnics employed to prepare them. That is quite a show. We followed that with some regular coffee with brandy and Sambuca. There were only a few patrons that evening and it was rewarding to see how relaxed and personable the waiters become when they are not rushing to keep the customers happy.
We have never been treated with anything but respect and friendliness. The rules for the half price menu are clearly stated on the menu. If one does not comprehend something, they should not write a mean spirited review based on their own stupidity.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank corgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Change will do you good”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Tired of fish,shrimp & Mexican food? No matter how good it is one wants a change now and then.
This is the place for your change.
Good German food, lovely setting and excellent staff service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLRPV2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
235 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice setting convenient to restaurant row. Food was solid.”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Indoor or outdoor seating. Both excellent. We went for the Friday night all you can eat ribs, sauerbraten, beer, salad and soup. Nothing outstanding but nothing bad at all. Service was fine on a busy night. Food was good if not exceptional. No dish rates a five IMO but fours for all but the salad bar which was very simple and kind of skimpy re variety or stand out flavors. We went with friends who wanted to go there. Perhaps the other German food is more authentic. The value was there if you want an all you can eat experience at about $16 USD.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ec328888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Alemana also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Hacienda Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing