We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constant Quality”
Review of Red Cabbage Cafe

Red Cabbage Cafe
Ranked #70 of 1,028 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Keizer, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Constant Quality”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This little gem is truly what Puerto Vallarta is all about. Small intimate wonderfully decorated with 5 star service and food. Do not miss this spot. Recipes are copied at other restaurants but try the real deal here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank william007_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    63
    21
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Real Mexican Food”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This restaurant is not that hard to find. We walked up earlier in the day, made our booking and walked back later. From Plaza Ma where we were staying, right on the Malecon, it took approx 12 mins. Walking in the dark is absolutely fine and really interesting......can get a good peek into houses as they open right onto the street.
Food is really good, staff amazing and everyone talks to you. Beware.....the food is not hot....it's the accompanying sauces that put the kick in the food. Loved this place and the weird thing is, only real foodie tourists seem to go here. We met many people who had heard of it but preferred to go somewhere more TexMex or where they didn't have to walk. Why go to Mexico and not eat real Mexican food and meet amazing local Mexicans. This place has a real story to tell. You can check the details on google. Worth the short walk.

Rivera del Río 204, Benito Juárez, Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
+52 322 223 0411

Tuesday hours 5:00 pm–11:00 pm
The tiny, hard-to-find cafe is worth the effort -- a visit here will reward you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marmite62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We absolutely will be back, the food was delish and the service was attentive! We look forward to our next visit. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBella2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous find”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This restaurant is not in the downtown area of Puerto Vallarta-but every cab driver knows where it is. This intimate restaurant offers some of the most delicious food I have ever had. They offer a spinach salad that is like no other spinach salad you have ever had! They have unique dishes, some of them inspired by Frida Kahler. The chillis Nogano dish is awe inspiring. The room is filled with art work from Frida and others. This is just not to be missed the next time you go to Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are looking for authentic Mexican food, look no further than Repollo Rojo (Red Cabbage Cafe). Many of the dishes served are rarely found elsewhere.

We love Frida's Feast which is composed of food that was served at Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera's wedding dinner: Peanut Soup (sounds bizarre but is delicious); Spinach Salad (unlike any you've ever had - it's chopped spinach mixed with olive oil and seasonings, flattened into a circle, and served cold); Chiles en Nogada (minced chicken and raisins stuffed into a poblano that is covered with a creamy walnut sauce and sprinkled with pomegranate seeds) that are better the ones served in a Mexico City restaurant for which this is the specialty; Pollo en Mole Poblano - the sauce is perfect; and excellent flan.

There are many other items on the menu. When we took our grandchildren, we were worried that they might not find anything they liked but they enjoyed the food as well.

The decor is uniquely Lola (the owner), a tribute to Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera but also filled with artwork reflecting her love of movies and Mexico. The wait staff is always helpful and attentive. The restaurant is quite small so reservations are helpful.

We have been to Puerto Vallarta many times. All you really need to know is that my husband and I go there our first night and our last night. We have taken many friends there and have recommended it to innumerable people.

This restaurant is a bit out of the way but easily accessible on the #4 bus or a short taxi ride from the center of town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BGTCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Cabbage Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Red Cabbage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing