We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Dining Experience”
Review of Red Cabbage Cafe

Red Cabbage Cafe
Ranked #75 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We absolutely will be back, the food was delish and the service was attentive! We look forward to our next visit. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBella2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    63
    21
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous find”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This restaurant is not in the downtown area of Puerto Vallarta-but every cab driver knows where it is. This intimate restaurant offers some of the most delicious food I have ever had. They offer a spinach salad that is like no other spinach salad you have ever had! They have unique dishes, some of them inspired by Frida Kahler. The chillis Nogano dish is awe inspiring. The room is filled with art work from Frida and others. This is just not to be missed the next time you go to Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are looking for authentic Mexican food, look no further than Repollo Rojo (Red Cabbage Cafe). Many of the dishes served are rarely found elsewhere.

We love Frida's Feast which is composed of food that was served at Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera's wedding dinner: Peanut Soup (sounds bizarre but is delicious); Spinach Salad (unlike any you've ever had - it's chopped spinach mixed with olive oil and seasonings, flattened into a circle, and served cold); Chiles en Nogada (minced chicken and raisins stuffed into a poblano that is covered with a creamy walnut sauce and sprinkled with pomegranate seeds) that are better the ones served in a Mexico City restaurant for which this is the specialty; Pollo en Mole Poblano - the sauce is perfect; and excellent flan.

There are many other items on the menu. When we took our grandchildren, we were worried that they might not find anything they liked but they enjoyed the food as well.

The decor is uniquely Lola (the owner), a tribute to Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera but also filled with artwork reflecting her love of movies and Mexico. The wait staff is always helpful and attentive. The restaurant is quite small so reservations are helpful.

We have been to Puerto Vallarta many times. All you really need to know is that my husband and I go there our first night and our last night. We have taken many friends there and have recommended it to innumerable people.

This restaurant is a bit out of the way but easily accessible on the #4 bus or a short taxi ride from the center of town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BGTCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gloria is the centerpiece - thought Frida is there too”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have visited this out of the way but worth the trip place - several times over the last 12 years. It's just fun to be there - either as a couple or with a group of friends and we have done it both ways.

The waiters a little grumpy but they can also make you laugh and the mole is always great and there are many other choices for entrees and apps as well.

We had not visited in almost 7 years so we found the place bigger and brighter then we remembered - but these were good things.

Great guacamole and flan as well. Very traditional and very satisfying.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cobaltmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An authentic taste of Mexico”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Small hole in the wall restaurant tucked away by the River Cuale that is charming and the food is superb!!!! Reservations a must!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Cabbage Cafe also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Red Cabbage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing