We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in town. Somethings change (the menu) but the food remains wonderful, all of it.”

Joe Jack's Fish Shack
Ranked #33 of 1,028 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Fun, casual place with an obvious emphasis on seafood and an eclectic mix of great cocktails.
wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Still the best in town. Somethings change (the menu) but the food remains wonderful, all of it.”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Who would go to a fish shack to order a burger, but one in our party did, and loved it. We stick with the fish since the red snapper is the best ever! We always get more than we can eat, and believe me, we try. It is unequaled in Vallarta. That's not to say we don't love the octopus cocktail, served anyway they decide to serve it. The portobello quesadilla, wow, you will be pleasantly surprised. The chowder, still the best ever and many folks go for the all you can eat fish fry. We choose to start with 2 for 1 mojitos, always good. Oh, and if you have room, or not, try the salted carmel, very sweet, very different and guaranteed to fill you up, served with cookies and bacon. Need I say more? Well, I can, I can mention that the staff are very well trained, and so much fun! It's just an amazing experience that you won't find too often, if at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,504
    658
    168
    54
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best BBQ chicken in PV”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Best "non-greasy" BBQ chicken we have had in PV. Great service !!! Try it !! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantzville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best fish & chips ever”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I come from the west coast of Canada and I have never had a better fish and chips than here. The batter on the fish is wonderful with a very different tartar sauce that's very good.The service is friendly and efficient. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Excellent ambiance, food and service.
Second visit during our one week stay in PV.
If you like octopus, theirs is moist and tasty. Also loved the papaya salad, ceviche and Baja fish tacos.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFBILLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a Favorite”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I keep going back again and again year after year. My favorite is the pulpo (octopus), so tender you can cut it with a fork! They serve it with chorizo, potato, and green beans. What a treat. Do not pass on the fish and chips if you are feeling less adventurous. After Xmas, they bring back their special hot chocolate which is not a drink and will hit your pleasure zone many times over. Always good to get a reservation, especially Fridays when they have "all you can eat" fish and chips and Nov. to May "South Side Shuffle" where shops and restaurants have little bites, eats, and strolling musicians up and down the street.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Jack's Fish Shack also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Joe Jack's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing