We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Fun Atmosphere, Delicious Food”

Joe Jack's Fish Shack
Ranked #36 of 999 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fun, casual place with an obvious emphasis on seafood and an eclectic mix of great cocktails.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Service, Fun Atmosphere, Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have eaten at Joe Jack's several times during our trips to Puerto Vallarta. We've gone for dinner and sat upstairs on the roof and we have sat at the bar for lunch and we have never been disappointed. The beer battered fish lightly battered and very crisp) and chips is the best I've ever had and Friday night is all-you-can eat for around 180 pesos. The Mexican BBQ Chicken is delicious but not like any BBQ you've ever had. Every Wednesday is burger day for 75 pesos and the burger with fries is enough for us to share at lunch. Their mojitos which are 2 for 1 every day from 12 - 5 are refreshing and not overly sweet. The service has always been the best and on any given night some of the local singing groups might drop in and do a short performance. Joe Jack's has and will be one of the places we will continue to visit time and time again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoozS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,463
    650
    167
    53
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,671 reviews
1,069 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 708 helpful votes
“Loved this place, the food the help the service, cannot wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We always enjoyed eating upstairs the Mojitos in the warm weather with the fish and chips.
I always looked forward to the all you can eat. That was doing well until time for seconds and just could not eat any more! But there is always room for one more Mojitos. Service bright friendly and helpful. Delightful experience every time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broken arrow, oklahoma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Food - Small Bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Joe Jack's Fish Shack. We liked the food and found this restaurant very popular with tourist. The daily special on our visit was a 1 lb or 1/2 lb Peel & Eat Shrimp Bucket for $230 pesos or $125 pesos for the 1/2 lb. They have a good variety of seafood and Mexican dishes. The Margaritas were delicious and the beer was cold. And while you wait for your order, you can entertain yourself and others with the interesting information in the newspaper type menu. Such as a few common Spanish language tips like a glass of water is called "un vaso con agua".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fsu1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
644 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Fresh sea food and great ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Personally this might not be the best food you will ever eat. .. but the food is damn good, the price cant be beat, the service is great, and the vibe is hip and cool. My wife and I always make it a point to come here everytime we are in PVR... and we are never disappointed. You wont be as well!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Food and Vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My friend was craving a mojito and how convenient that we were right in front of Joe Jack's. She ordered a Ginger mojito and loved it. Hubby and I ordered regular iced teas which were very good, nice and strong black tea, just how we like.

I ordered a green papaya shrimp salad which was nice & light with fresh mint. My friend ordered fish tacos, and said they were the best she has had.

We sat downstairs and watched the street scene, our waitress Gresilda I believe, was friendly and prompt.

When we are in town usually we don't go out to many restaurants, we go mainly to taco stands, however when we return I would definitely come back to Joe Jack's Fish Shack!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eileencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Jack's Fish Shack also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Joe Jack's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing