We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively fun dining on the rooftop”

Joe Jack's Fish Shack
Ranked #36 of 1,020 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Fun, casual place with an obvious emphasis on seafood and an eclectic mix of great cocktails.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lively fun dining on the rooftop”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good food, excellent presentation. Wilson, our waiter, was terrific. This was the perfect place for five guys who wanted a fun, lively place to eat, drink and catch up with one another. You can find fancier food but you cannot find a more convivial place.A table on the rooftop is worth the wait. As the sun set the twinkling lights create a magical setting. Bravo!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeYswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,496
    657
    168
    54
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place is very busy due to it's location, I guess. We found the food average at best, overpriced, and the service sub-par. My wife was offended by the maitre'd's manner so I had to persuade her to even enter the place. It had been recommended by another bar around the corner. There are better options in the Romantic Zone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weasel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went here around day 2 of our week long trip to Puerto Vallarta, we knew after our meal that it was going to be hard to find a better meal in the remaining days.

The seafood chowder was delicious, the fish tacos I could eat every day of the week, and the portobella quesadilla was so simple but had so much flavor. It definitely is an American joint but it's in a great location, the outdoor patio on the second floor was beautiful. But the thing that would bring me back is the food. It was outstanding and was very reasonably priced.

Next time we are back in Puerto Vallarta we will definitely have this restaurant on our list of things to do again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VancityCpl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
383 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Wonder Fish Tacos!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My friends love Joe Jack's for their fish & chips, so we met on a recent Tuesday night for dinner. The Fish Tacos were stupendous! There is a nice rooftop terrace; a lot of energy upstairs & downstairs. Prices were reasonable. Good location in the Romantic Zone.

Helpful?
Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Love this Place!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family and friends have been visiting this restaurant for several years. Now where to begin....

The wait staff are the best of the best. They have numerous staff that have been at this restaurant for several years. They are all excellent- attentive, friendly and make you feel at home. Service is prompt.

They have the best mojitos in town, better than the ones at La Bodeguita del Medio. The original ones are the best, although I do enjoy the ginger ones as well. Can't beat the two for one mojitos. They also come with a little plastic mermaid that hangs on the edge of the cup- very cute.

The food is fantastic- the very best of the best in P.V. The tuna poke is flavourful and fresh. The beet salad is spectacular and I could easily eat this every day. The fish taco portions are generous and delicious. Iceberg wedge salad is fresh and tasty. My husband, being allergic to seafood of every kind, always orders the hamburger. He swears it is the best in town ( and it is humongous).

The restaurant itself has great ambiance. We always sit upstairs. The walls are covered in an old comic book motif. There is always shade up there as well if you need it.

Located on the popular Basilio Badillo a few blocks from the beach.

Fridays are all you can eat fish and chips.

Love this restaurant and I hope that you will enjoy it as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Jack's Fish Shack also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Joe Jack's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing