We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Puerto Vallarta

“Great Malecon Restaurant”
Review of Vitea

Vitea
Ranked #116 of 1,312 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Vitea Oceanfront Bistro, located at the world famous Malecon between the Los Arcos and the pedestrian bridge crossing the River Cuale in Puerto Vallarta on Mexico's Pacific Coast. The place has a mix of modern eclectic elements in the decor and ancient symbolism. It's ambience reflect the local hospitality with a European Riviera atmosphere. The cuisine is fresh, energetic and healthy with a combination of classic & modern dishes using mainly ingredients of the region, cooked with detail and love. Created by its European chef owners.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Consistently great food and service. Have dined here several times and never had a disappointing meal or service. Very good pasta dishes, salads, chicken, etc. Good live music that is non-intrusive; interesting active part of Malecon. Will not hesitate to return.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank E1752YNfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 816 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020

This is our 2nd time eating at Vitea since we enjoyed its food so much last year. This year, there did away with the prix fixe. We like Vitea because it gives the option of half portions as well as full portions with price adjustments.
Our family had 3 appies--frog legs which were done in a garlic parsley butter....absolutely divine!; fried calamari with an aioli sauce....extremely tender and crispy; and I had the octopus salad with potatoes and chorizo. The octopus was very tender but I did not care for the taste of the dish.

For mains, I opted for 1/2 portions of the pasta carbonara...very rich and creamy and a good portion but they used bacon bits iso pancetta and there was no peas. The sauce was more of a creamy white sauce instead of using egg yolk. We also had a half portion of the penne in tomato sauce with no proteins and it was alright. The last main was a half portion of a fish filet with shrimp and veggies which was tasty as well as a good portion.

Our waiter, Antonio, was great in quickly replenishing our bread basket along with bringing us the cheese and pepper. He started to top up our waters then ran out and never came back to fill up the rest. He was very efficient and accomodating, and quick to serve but being more attentive would be even better. All 6 of us ran out of water without having it replenished.

What bothered us the most was a very well behaved dog sitting on the chair of one of the tables of a regular diner. Not only is the dog sitting on the chair, but the pet's food bowl is right on the table!!!! I certainly would not want to be sitting on that particular chair after the dog and at that table where its food bowl has been!!! For me, it is unsanitary and unacceptable.

For a Saturday evening, the restaurant was about half full.

For our meal for 3 people with 3 appies and 3 mains with no drinks came to 1240 and that included a 20% tip.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Vitea is one of our favorites in PV. We have eaten there throughout the day and the quality of the food never changes. It is on the Malecon extension and the people watching is terrific. The food is the reason to come here. Another plus is the fact that many dishes come in half portions which are generous. Stay for dessert and the after dinner drinks.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RickHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

Had a decent breakfast. (First item on the menu). Scrambled eggs, potato etc. reasonable price. Good quick service,even early in the morning. Can not go wrong here

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Vitea Oceanfront Bistro is located on the Malecon in Puerto Vallarta. They have a great menu including local cuisine, Mediterranean, seafood, International and vegetarian. Everything is fresh and flavourful. The pork tenderloin is very good. Friendly service. Price is ok for that tourist area. Will come back!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank LuckyPierre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vitea also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Vitea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing