We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Authentic Italian Food on the Malecon in PV”
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #41 of 1,028 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Italian Food on the Malecon in PV”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family and I have been dining at this restaurant for at least 12 years. In August they celebrated their 20th anniversary, which is quite a feat in the restaurant business. It is no surprise. This might be the best, most authentic Italian food in Mexico! The food is wonderful and the waiters are professional. Fresh pastas, pizzas, fish.... it's all good.

There are two levels,and the views of the bay from upstairs are wonderful. It is an open air restaurant, but they have air conditioners and fans to keep the air circulating so that it doesn't get too hot during the summer months.

We began coming here when the kids were little because they loved pasta. We kept coming back because the food is good and it's probably the best restaurant on the Malecon (beach front walk) in PV. It is always worth at least one visit during a week in PV.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    333
    88
    30
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location is great, food was ok”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were seated at the front right off the boardwalk so we could enjoy the outdoors and watch the people go by. The food was okay but nothing to write home about, a little disappointing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cybergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Love this place for Italian food and location!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visit this restaurant on most trips to PV. Love the location, right on the malecon. If you can time it right with sunset, that's a plus. It's a 2 story restaurant, I prefer the 2nd floor. Even in the off/slow season of late August, the place was hopping.

I enjoy their pizza and pastas. they have some really good menu choices and reasonable prices. Service is always good and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“delish”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

we ate the a wonderful meal, the pizza, spaghetti, cannelloni's and chicken was the best. the waiters very helpful and polite and everyone. My kids love the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChichiSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Pizza at the Boardwalk”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I'm embarrassed to admit that while vacationing in Mexico I couldn't resist stopping for a pizza. Must be too many years at the Jersey shore boardwalks to go a whole week without a slice. It wasn't a Jersey thin crust or a Chicago deep dish, but in fairness it was pretty darn good. Which is Italian for I'd go back for a second pie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyMan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing