We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it from a local: The BEST in Vallarta!”
Review of Cafe des Artistes

Cafe des Artistes
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe des Artistes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Josefa Ortiz de Dominguez and Leona Vicario
Description: Place in and old house at downtown Puerto Vallarta, Café des Artistes, with 26 years of experience, offers exclusiveness, elegance and comfort in outstanding natural surroundings, that are adorn by the exquisite menu; carefully created under the direction of the acclaimed Chef Thierry Blouet. “At Café des Artistes, every dish is an art-masterpiece, and every art masterpiece feeds the spirit” -Mexican writer Carlos Fuentes-
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Take it from a local: The BEST in Vallarta!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have been to Cafe des Artistes many times and I tend to avoid popular restaurants on holidays because the service can suffer but my latest visit was on mother's day and both the food and the service were excellent.
Not only is the cuisine delicious but I have to say that for the quality it is also an excellent value. My husband and I don' drink alcohol so our bill is usually less than 100 dollars for 3 courses.
I highly recommend the Menu Bistro!
You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Psicogeriatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,334
    390
    173
    74
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This restaurant is our favorite in Puerta Vallarta and a must visit everytime we vacation there. The meals are top notch and so is the service. The outdoor seating is just exquisite. We also took advantage of the Restaurant Week menu and again were not disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank movinon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“RESWTAURANT WEEK”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned from PVR where restaurant week is still going on until end of the month. Always stayed away because of the reported prices but just 299 pesos (25 US) for a 3 course meal during restaurant week. Menus available at virtualvallarta.com. The food and the garden setting are outstanding and the place deserves its' stunning reputation. The wine list, for the most part, runs between 700 and 2500 pesos which would really run up the bill. There is a small selection of Mexican wines. We had the Petit Syrah for 210 pesos which was very good and probably better that most of the 700+ peso wines.

Although highly praised, I didn't think the Piano bar was anything special. Grey Goose martinis before dinner were 145 pesos each, close to 12 bucks. The service throughout was impeccable. We would certainly return, even at full price, because the food, setting and service are worth it and we now know that you don't have to run up the bill with overpriced wines. It is not a local experience as the restaurant attracts mostly American patrons.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphablondyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“" Cafe Des Artistes ", Puerto Vallarta, Magical Elegance!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is the top restaurant in PV in terms of elegance, service, atmosphere and food!
It is expensive but well worth the experience!
Great place to come if you have something special to celebrate!!
The garden part of the restaurant is terraced and surrounded by trees and greenery and art displays. At night, with all the special lighting effects, this place gives an almost surreal impression! We like to call it a " magical experience ".
Service is impeccable, food is of gourmet quality and we cannot recommend it enough!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-Troopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Thierry Blouet at the Top”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We visited here recently and ordered off the Bistro Menu, a three course, three choice list of the top picks off their regular menu, which was also available. There were three of us and we had all 9 dishes. We were taken aback at how each course surpassed the previous. We were enthralled and loved the al fresco dining in their very cool garden, up against a rock wall. Very highly recommended for that special night of memories.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe des Artistes also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Cafe des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing