We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience on first time at Villa Olivia!”
Review of Villa Olivia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Olivia
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience on first time at Villa Olivia!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Villa Olivia for a week in March and loved it. This is the third place we have tried in PV, but it will be our first choice from now on. Friends who live nearby recommended it and they were right. It's great!

The room on the 7th floor was well appointed, comfortable and had an incredible view. Slept great in the king sized bed to the sounds of the ocean. Also appreciated the modern tiled bathroom with new fixtures and a large walk-in shower. Great water pressure too!

Denise took great care of us and made the check in and check out easy. She was such a delight.

The only minor thing was when guests arrived at the room next door on the last night. There were a few of them and they were quite loud. One night was no big deal. A whole week of that noise carrying over from the balcony would have been old.

Can't wait to go back again next year!

Room Tip: The higher floors are the best for a great view of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark5041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
70
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family stated at the Villa Olivia in Puerto Vallarta. We have stayed there before and really enjoyed our stay. This time we brought our 4 year old daughter and everything was great again. Denise was a wonderful host and directed us to local restaurants and other activities. She let my wife borrow a blow dryer and was very nice to all of us. She was very accommodating and helpful. She brought my daughter milk and us tea and juice. Also, you need to put down a $50 deposit down for the keys. Thanks Denise for a wonderful stay.

The views from our room were amazing and since the Villa is located right off Amapas is was quiet. Our room had air conditioning and a full kitchen. The large patio on the 5th floor is just gorgeous and our room 503 was very spacious. Our daughter including myself enjoyed the pool at the Villa. The work out room and free internet was a nice feature as well. Denise even had sea themed blankets for our 4 year old daughter and she loved them. Amapas street is a side cobblestone street right off the Malecon. There is staircase off Amapas right across from Villa Olivia that leads down to the romantic zone beach. We took advantage of the staircase several times. The Malecon and the local buses are only 5-8 minutes away. We also took the Tepic bus behind the Villa to get to the Zoo which was only around 20 minutes south of the Villa. I would recommend travelers to stay at Villa Olivia because I know we will again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichiganLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Villa Olivia for two weeks in January and enjoyed every moment. There are 15 rooms and ours on the 7th floor was spacious, bright and airy with a balcony overlooking Banderas Bay. The Villa is well situated close the Zona Romantica and the old town but on a quiet (and steep) street. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. This is a well run family property and everything is spotless and well maintained. Many of the guests are repeat customers. Denise is a very good host with lots of tips on restaurants and things to do. Excellent price/quality ratio. Highly recommended for those who like an attractive quiet environment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frits1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Villa Olivia is now our place-of-choice to stay for all future trips to Puerto Vallarta -- Denise is the consummate host and is spot-on with her recommendations for restaurants and other attractions. The view is wonderful, the rooms are spacious & clean, the accomodations are great -- at a price that can't be beat. We can't wait for our trip back to P.V. in 2014.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLB503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My 3 friends and I just got back from a 10 day stay here. The location is excellent, close to the beach and easy walking distance to restaurants and clubs. And the view is fantastic. Only complaint would be the sound of the ocean made it difficult to sleep. This could have easily been avoided had we simply closed our patio door. But, we just couldn't do it. :) The staff here are friendly and the property is exceptionally clean. Denise is great!! She gave several excellent ideas for dining. I will return next year for sure (I wish I was still there)!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed for over two weeks during the Christmas and New Years holiday and never wanted to leave. We had incredible views from our room overlooking the entire Banderas Bay as well as Los Muertos Beach, where we spent each day basking in the sun. Every morning we laughed and shared stories with other guests while enjoying a delicious breakfast prepared by Denise, the witty and funny manager. (How can we forget Monty Python's The Ministry of Silly Walks) Denise and her family who own the Villa always made us feel at home, like one of the family. Villa Olivia is comfortable, clean, secure, private and close to all the amenities of Old Town. We still hear the echoes of waves crashing on the beach below. We have already paid our deposit for next year and can't wait to come back home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AKBoys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Villa Olivia in January. This villa is located at the south end of old town, and slightly up a hill about a block and a half off the ocean. The waves slapping the beach could be clearly heard in the room as if the beach was directly in front of the inn. We had a room on the 3rd floor which will soon have no view of the beautiful bay because condos are rising up in front of the villa. The new condos will be limited in their height so higher floors at Villa Olivia will still have a great view of the bay, and it will be a few years yet before the 3rd floor view does disappear.

The villa is beautiful and has gone through many renovations over the years. There are now 9 floors with the penthouse on the 9th. The owners live in the penthouse. At one time the top was the 4th floor with an open pool. That pool is now an indoor pool! Still the villa is quite lovely and well situated. A block away is a mini-market where you can get fresh salsa, guacamole, eggs, beer, et cetera -perfect. There is also a pharmacy and restaurants very nearby. We really enjoyed our home cooked breakfasts and dinners on the patio enjoying the gorgeous bay.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. If you desired, you could request breakfast and/or coffee for the morning. There were also in-suite facilities for your own coffee and meals. The villa has elevators and an open sitting and kitchen area which is very nice. There is also an exercise room and dry sauna near the pool on the 4th floor. Overall, the price was very reasonable.

The villa is located a short walk to the new, bigger and impressive malecon -a tourist attraction in itself. The malecon is of wonderful construction and is wide and long. At night there is a nice mix of eclectic entertainers, food, and drink. Vendors set up in the evening and sell there goods, and foods -deserts such as crepes, coconut pie, and chocolate cake are simply wonderful. The new malecon, with all its attractions is the icing on the cake for PV. Great stuff and a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Villa Olivia is a great place if you're looking for something slightly out-of-the-way, yet close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BPH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach F...
#69 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Olivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Olivia

Property: Villa Olivia
Address: Amapas 329 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned villa offering personalized hospitality next to the beach and in the heart of town -- the Zona Romantica. Ideally located for people who love quaint cobblestone streets and splashes of vivid colors while strolling through town. From your secluded balcony you can enjoy the soothing sound of ocean waves, breathtaking iridescent sunsets, and even the thrill of spotting migrating humpbacks during whale-watching season. Every morning, you are brought the choice of coffee or tea to your room while you make that oh-so-difficult decision of how to spend your day -- sipping tropical drinks under a beach palapa, going on a jungle canopy or ATV excursion, horse-back riding, golf, scuba diving, hiking along the river or swimming in the ocean waves. The choices are endless... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Olivia Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing