We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the ONLY place to stay in Puerto Vallarta”
Review of Villa Olivia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Olivia
Ranked #11 of 71 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Villa Olivia is AMAZING.... I'm almost hesitant to write a review, for fear of everyone else finding out about this amazing gem... thereby booking up the entire villa for the next few years! ;)

Everything about the Villa is world-class (other than the price). The views are AMAZING and the hospitality is honest and friendly (the beautiful + friendly Denise, who stays on the ground floor will give you local tips on anything you might need to know).

Location Location Location!! This is situated in a nice, safe, quiet area of the Old Romantic part of town. Olivia is not where it's incredibly loud (like some parts of the Romantic Zone), but it is within spitting distance of all of the amazing PV nightlife, restaurants, and arts.

Villa Olivia is a must-stay for anyone traveling to PV!! We look forward to our next visit to PV, when we definitely hope to spend at Villa Olivia. We will recommend this place to every one of our friends who are even considering a visit to Mexico...
Madur + JT

p.s. the crashing waves were so loud + amazing to fall asleep to!! sunsets were GORGEOUS!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JT_O78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 105 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is our second winter (lucky us) at Villa Olivia. We're already booked for winter 2012-2013 for almost 5 months. And the truth is that you really can't check out, because when we leave to go back to North Carolina a part of our heart stays behind in Puerto Vallarta and at Villa Olivia. So what about this very special place that my wife and I have come to love. Family owned and managed ( and living on site), these are people who care about their "guests" and will go to every length to ensure that everyone's stay is a super pleasant one. The property is beautifully maintained, lovingly cared for and as neat and clean as anything one might find in a first rate place just about anywhere.
The location is terrific, an easy walk to many restaurants, the Malecon and those ever exciting Puerto Vallarta buses.. Need directions? Denise will whip out her handy city map and send you off on the right track. Want a restaurant suggestion? No problem. Every room at the Villa has its own unique personality, many with kitchenettes...stove, fridge, microwave, etc., and the views from the balconies are breathtaking with some of the most amazing sunsets imagineable. So let me recap....great place, great staff, great service but most important to us, the kind, caring people who own and manage this wonderful place and have become part of our lives.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend were travelling to Mexico for the very first time and were lucky to stumble upon Villa Olivia on the TripAdvisor! You never know who your contacting when booking a hotel online internationally. But after inquiring about booking, Simon quickly replied and helped with my travel plans. He was helpful and was able to answer all my questions promptly. Our hostess, Denise, was SO helpful. She recommended restaurants and overall made us feel very welcome and a part of the Villa Olivia family!

We were fortunate to basically have the Villa to ourselves during our stay. We booked in the 'off-season,' so there was only one other room booked to our knowledge. Made for a very private and romantic stay! Granted there was much construction during our stay which made for some loud and disturbing mornings, but it was out of their control. Just a consequence of visiting during the off-season.

The rooms were well adorned, and the view was AMAZING! The pictures on the site don't do this place justice. Coffee was brought to our room at our specified hour in the morning, which was very convenient. The room service did a spectacular job. Location was right on the southern edge of the romantic zone, but found everything in the area was in walking distance (beach, bars, restaurants, Municipal marketplace).

I would definitively recommend this place to any of my friends and would stay there again on our next trip to PV.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rcbaysinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

As we start to pack to head back to springtime in Ohio after a four month stay at Villa Olivia, it is with mixed emotions! Yes, I am excited to reunite with my family and friends, but so very sad to leave my new family here in Villa Olivia! Denise, Mariette and Hubert, along with their entire family have truely made us feel at home here. The Villa is just beautiful and since we have been here so long, we have had the opportunity to check out all of the rooms. Each and every one is unique with fantastic views of the Bay and the gorgeous sunsets. We have seen many whales and dolphins along with parrots and other beautiful birds.
The staff here at Villa Olivia always have a smile and is ready to help in any way to make your stay perfect. Denise will make an excellant breakfast if you like, and Mariette, well in my opinion, there should be a new cookbook published, entitled " Favorite Recipies from Villa Olivia" ! A great Home away from Home . . . Villa Olivia . . . is the place to be!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMHuffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I stayed with Denise and her family for a short weekend. The service was impeccable and personal. You feel like family. My room on the sixth floor had a beautiful view of the bay of banderas. A short walk to almost anything downtown. What makes this place special is the owners as they take you in and make sure your every wish is met. If you are looking for a Hyatt or Westin, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking to be treated like family, want to feel safe, clean and comfortable at a fair price. You will not be disappointed. I will definitely return next year. Thank you Denise! Merci. Gracias.
Mark E. Loeser

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markloeser_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Great personal service and attention from Denise the manager, fantastic rooms, view - and a cared for home feel - but with privacy and respect. Location is great, the place is kept spotless. Some people may find the hill up to the villa a challenge - buts its not really that steep.

A family run business and home, everyone was friendly and helpful. My partner lost his visa card while we were there and Denise was really helpful with access to skype and contacts to resolve the problem.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPaul50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This place is absolutely fantastic. Denise is so nice and has great recommendations for restaurants and tours. We stayed over the New Year and had they hosted a nice brunch for all of the guests. It was a nice way to get to know other guests and the family that runs the Villa Olivia and the food was excellent. Coffee and tea in the morning is a very nice touch and the breakfast is really good. It felt like we were leaving behind friends when we left. There are all sorts of restaurants and grocery stores around and the beach is very close. The area is pretty quiet but you can get to the Malecon very quickly if you want to do that. We'll be going back if we're in Puerto Vallarta!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Quinta Maria Cortez
Quinta Maria Cortez
#5 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garlands Del Rio
Garlands Del Rio
#1 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Fantasia
Casa Fantasia
#14 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Alemana
Hacienda Alemana
#4 of 71 in Puerto Vallarta
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Olivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Olivia

Address: Amapas 329 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $55 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned villa offering personalized hospitality next to the beach and in the heart of town -- the Zona Romantica. Ideally located for people who love quaint cobblestone streets and splashes of vivid colors while strolling through town. From your secluded balcony you can enjoy the soothing sound of ocean waves, breathtaking iridescent sunsets, and even the thrill of spotting migrating humpbacks during whale-watching season. Every morning, you are brought the choice of coffee or tea to your room while you make that oh-so-difficult decision of how to spend your day -- sipping tropical drinks under a beach palapa, going on a jungle canopy or ATV excursion, horse-back riding, golf, scuba diving, hiking along the river or swimming in the ocean waves. The choices are endless... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Olivia Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing