We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean, spacious, well located”
Review of Hacienda Alemana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Alemana
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
445 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean, spacious, well located”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We spent the past week at Hacienda Alemana. It definitely met every expectation we had. By Mexican travel standards, Hacienda Alemana is excellent.
I wish you could give 4.5 but you have to pick 4 or 5 stars here so I am picking a reserved 4.
Pro's - Very close to beaches and on main street in Old Town, Lots around to see and do. If you are wanting a non all-inclusive option this should be on your consideration list.
The rooms are lovely. Spacious, balconies, tv's, excellent wifi, fridges, beach towels, amenities and very clean.
All rooms (10 only) surround a pool and courtyard which is really pretty.
Breakfast - served from 9 to 11 which is great You don't have to be up at 7 am! Tatiana is a delight every morning. She is so friendly and serves breakfast by the pool. The coffee is excellent and the hand made juice really good. Tatiana also knows a lot and can answer questions about where to go and what to see.
Restaurant. It's nice to have the option on site and we had a good dinner there one night. Great service and good food.
It is very safe and we had no reservations leaving things in our room and walking down to the beach which is about 10 minutes away.
I would recommend Haceinda Alemana without question.
Cons.
I think a good review should also say what might be improved. Two nights a week there is a singer in the bar and she goes until 11:30. We found it loud and intrusive. We wanted to relax and it was just overbearing on those 2 nights. Thankfully it's over at 11:30 and it happened to be the 2 nights we were in our room.
I like a simple breakfast. Usually there was fruit (very good at that) but would rather just have a pastry basket or something and not an elaborate Mexican breakfast. While my partner was mixed on this as well, we just would prefer an option.
Pricing. Rooms are $145. That's definitely on the high end for Mexico. We checked a few other properties while we were there. Some were not as lovely as Hacienda Alemana, some didn't offer breakfast, some did, some offered different services. While you do get a discount for cash payments, the price is still on the higher end for Mexico. We have traveled to more than 30 countries and thik we can judge fairly. Alemana is good. It is not the best in the world. In Mexico it is good. But you are also paying for it. Other places are $50, $75 and $90. When you pay $145 we felt there could have been just a few extra touches to make this a real knock out property. We went to restaurants where the owners bought us drinks, complimentary desert was served, and so on. We just felt like there were a few missing touches that would make this place outstanding.
When other hotels are full and ours hd 2-3 rooms booked you really need to stand out.
Overall: we would stay there again for sure. Rooms are lovely. Tatiana is so helpful. Great location.

Room Tip: We loved the third floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeeingTHEworld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
272
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

It's hard to know what to add to the many previous stellar reviews, including the last one. They are all true. All I can say is "amen". In trying to distill what makes Hacienda Alemana so special the word that comes to mind is "authenticity". In so many other hotels there is a forced, artificial
friendliness where the obvious goal is to get more money from you. We never had this feeling at Hacienda Alemana. The interest and hospitality of Mike, Irma, Tatiana and their staff always felt utterly sincere and authentic. They were not trying to impress us or earn "brownie points", in fact they make no attempt to cover up their imperfections. They just come across as warm, complex, smart, interesting, and interested people. Their realness makes you instantly comfortable as you know there are no hidden agendas, especially mercenary ones. In fact, they are incredibly relaxed and informal about money. This is 180 degrees from the experience you find in other hotels and restaurants in PV where it feels like every interaction is in some way trying to manipulate you into opening your wallet. Unless you want shallow luxury, shallow interactions and shallow, all-inclusive resort, experiences you would be a fool to stay anywhere else in Puerto Vallarta. This is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birchdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just spend a few days at the Hacienda Alemana and are so happy to have found this wonderful place. Allt the positive reviews are really true! The location is great, the hotel is a beautiful, quiet oasis in bustling old town. The design is absolutely gorgeous, tasteful and at the same time gemuetlich = cozy.

But what really makes the difference are the people! Mike, Irma and Tatiana treat their guests like family with the utmost care and respect. They are lovely people with charm, character and big hearts. We got there late in the evening and Mike made sure to personally greet us at the door. When I got up quite early in the morning, he offered me a freshly made coffee in their kitchen and took time to chat with me. Tatiana and Irma offered valuable information about their home town and country, sharing with us their love for Mexico. When we left they waved us good bye like we were old friends. Their long-time staff extends the same feeling of being home away from home while being highly professional.

The restaurant is outstanding, excellent food, real margaritas (freshly made, no sugary sirups!) and wonderful service. In addition your meal is served in the most lovely courtyard with lots of trees, water features and romantic lights. Breakfast is served by the beautiful pool and could not be better: fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, omelettes with fresh salsa... all you need to start your day with sunshine in your tummy.

To sum it all up: This is hands down the best small hotel we ever stayed in. Do make sure you stay there when in PV and you will be glad you did!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have softer mattresses, ask for one of those if you prefer that
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I just finished our 4th stay with Mike, Irma and Tatiana at the Hacienda and as always we come home just so grateful to be able to stay with them. They are the absolute definition of great service as our their many long time staff members. We always feel like we are staying at home. The wonderful rooms, pool, food, cleanliness always exceed our expectations. Now Irma and Tatiana service delicious breakfasts daily by the pool which are just fantastic, especially the pancakes. We had the opportunity to go on a tour this trip with Tatiana to San Sebastian which was just wonderful. She is just a dream guide, knowledgable and fun to talk to. There is a reason this property is so highly rated, it is hands down the best run property in PV and having travelled extensively all around the world it is one of the best places I have ever stayed. Best part, Mike, Irma and Tatiana!! Thanks again and see you again soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We knew what to expect, and sure enough, we had another great seven nights at Hacienda Alemana. The breakfasts by the pool are delicious, the room is clean and comfortable, the restaurant serves great food (try the breaded Schnitzel with the Mushroom Sauce and German Beer). The location is perfect for walking old town PV, minutes to the beach and Malecon and to our favorite fish taco stand. Irma, Mike and Tatjana are the best of hosts. We're already planning our next trip for March.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berlina95959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Well....I just returned from my first trip to PV. After reading the reviews about the Hacienda Alemana we booked our room. All I can say is that my expectations were exceeded in every way. We were made to feel at home from the get go. The family that owns and operates the B&B are warm and caring people. The place is immaculate and as the pictures reflect......very charming. The locale is pretty perfect if you enjoy an eclectic neighborhood with shopping, restaurants and culture. The beach and malecon (boardwalk) are right down the street. This is a walking town. If you need a cab, they are everywhere and will run about $4 to get anywhere you need to be. A great stay. A great destination.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ducatiride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Careyes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very nice, comfortable and clean property in the midst of the Zona Romántica of Puerto Vallarta. Our room was well equipped, comfortable, clean and very charming. The balconies facing the pool are great. The possibility of visiting the Aqua gym just a few. Blocks away (included) is well worth it.

The provided breakfast was very tasty and well prepared, served by the pool.

One issue that might be noted is the traffic noise from the street, something that is pretty much impossible to avoid in the zona Romántica in Puerto Vallarta.

Overall a great visit with great hosts and a definite return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.3 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#12 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garlands Del Rio
Garlands Del Rio
#1 of 73 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Alemana

Property: Hacienda Alemana
Address: Calle Basilio Badillo 378 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Alemana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small luxury bed and breakfast, just in the heart of old Vallarta. Five minutes walk to the famous Los Muertos Beach, and 10 minutes to the Malecon. We don't have a view, but we have a vision: service, kindness and more service. Start every day enjoying our delicious breakfast served next to the pool. And explore secret places around the area of Pv on our pirvate tours. We are looking forward on hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hacienda Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Alemana Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing